We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but noisy street in front” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Maya Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18/184,Purani Mandi Circle | Fatehabad Road, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 163 Agra B&B and Inns
Freiburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ok but noisy street in front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel was the 3rd one that we finally choosed (recommended by our taxi driver) after having look at 2 others that were out of discussion. Later we learnt that taxi drivers get a free meal when tourists choose to stay in Maya. The room clean was spacious with 2 double beds (but we were only a couple). The noise from the street can only be tolerated when the windows are kept closed. The clean kitchen which you can see going up to the rooms inspired us to take the dinner in the hotel. To express it in a gentle way: the taste was suitable for westeners with chronic gastroenteritis but disapointing when you expect tasty indian cuisine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    112
    58
    18
    14
See reviews for
16
110
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pros
----
- Very reasonably priced (we were quoted a price of 4 times as much for a very comparable room at the hotel next door) given Agra's status as a tourist trap

- The en-suite double room was a good size, clean and tv was a modern mid-sized flat screen

- The food was good and reasonably priced (relative to the meagre options available elsewhere in Agra)

Cons
----
- The hotel advertises having Internet (and Wifi) but this was not available in the main hotel. Guests had to cross a busy dual carriageway to a sister hotel which has a small room with a PC (and Wifi available).

- A railway station pick-up was offered, agreed via email (after we chased a reply for a 2nd time) but this never materialised. Not a great turn of events when you arrive in a strange city at 5:45am. To their credit, after I rang the hotel directly from the station, they did offer to refund the cost of a rickshaw ride

- The room had AC and a fan but the AC was so weak it was pretty much ineffective at cooling anything other than a tiny corner of the room. After this was raised with the room cleaner this was not resolved (as promised)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel is clean, and the staff is very helpfull.
We saw a lot of other hotels, for the same price, and this was the best!
The owner of the hotel help us a lot with train tickets, and we felt save.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March and picked it after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We did not enjoy our stay. I seriously doubt that some of the reviews for this hotel are genuine as I cannot believe that we were alone in our experience. Here is a list of the issues we encountered:

- Rude staff and poor service: every member of staff we encountered lacked the basic service skills you would expect in a hotel - whatever the price they charge. No greeting upon arrival, none when we left. No apologies for the problems we had with our room. At best we got a 'what do you want?' from reception. Service at breakfast was also poor. We got the impression we were an inconvenience and all they were interested in was taking our money.

- When we arrived no towels or toilet paper in our room and the toilet flush did not work. They brought towels and toilet paper and fixed the toilet but you would expect them to have prepared the room already - we booked in advance so they knew we were coming. Arriving at 11pm this was the last thing we needed after a long journey.

- The shower was extremely weak. The shower head was clogged up so only a fraction of the water was coming through. We told them about this and they exchanged it with another shower head (whether it was from someone else's room we don't know).

- The bathroom was very old and tired looking. Stained bath with some kind of metal deposit on the bottom of the bath. Taps were grotty and rusted. No soap.

- The sheets were stained as were the curtains and the cushions on the bed. Very loud air-con system that had a burning smell after it had been on for 5 minutes although this could have been the pollution from outside just coming into our room.

- The balcony was covered in dirt and dust.

- Lobby area was dirty (as was the outside reception) and cluttered with what looked like stacks of other people's laundry.

- We didn't eat at the hotel - with everything we had experienced we didn't trust the kitchens to be clean.

We spent a long time researching our hotel in Agra as we had read that there are some very bad hotels. We had lunch and an evening drink at another hotel (the Hotel Sheela) and what a difference! Staff were welcoming and pleasant. I asked to look at one of their rooms and it was to a much better standard than the Hotel Maya - no TV or air-con but it was clean and the same price. It was also in a much nicer location than the Hotel Maya - quiet and surrounded by a nice garden. They seem to realise (unlike the Hotel Maya) that while a 'budget' hotel might have less amenities it doesn't mean you need to forgo the basics of hospitality i.e. cleanliness and good service: these shouldn't cost extra.

If we were to visit Agra again we would definitely not stay at the Hotel Maya. We would either book the Hotel Sheela or one of the homestays - these tend to get booked up in advance though so if you are coming to Agra try to book as early as possible!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fin15land, Manager at Maya Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We appreciate your review and thank you for contribution of it. We can assure you that all the reviews are genuine and have been sent by our guests. You are free to contact each of them and discuss their experience at the Maya Hotel.
We are in process to renovate the old wing of the Maya Hotel. The renovation for the second floor has just been finished. A Wi-Fi broadband installation has been ordered and will be functional soon, with free high-speed internet available in all rooms and the terrace.
Our first floor and the lobby are in a renovation process. The water taps, toilets and the bath tab are all part of the old fixtures and are going to bee changed as part of the renovation process.
Towels and toilet paper may have mistakenly been missing inside your bath room; we do offer towels, toilet paper and soap free of cost for every guest. The night watchman is a good worker who has been with the hotel for a long time. His English knowledge is limited, which may have been the reason why you felt him rude; however, he is an efficient worker and fulfills the wishes of the guest.
The bed sheets get changed after our guest checks-out, but some stubborn stains may not get removed even after repeated wash cycles. The curtains are washed regularly and as needed. It is possible that a new staff member, who is responsible for cleaning, may have not noticed the need.
We are always ready to take any action necessary to improve our standard of service and feel sorry to have offended you so much.
Rest assured, we will be keeping your feedback under consideration, while we strive to improve our standards even more. We urge you to visit us again on your next trip to Agra and see for yourself if we meet your standards of service or not.
Regards
Eeva Schult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a budget hotel ideal for visiting the Taj Mahal - it is only a 5 minute walk. It is clean and hot water is available. The staff was courteous and helpful and food was not too bad either at their restaurant. However, I would only order indian food. I ordered a pan cake but what i got was a a bad crepe wannabe. However, they did take it back and replaced with indian breakfast which looked much more appetizing. If you are on a budget and want to head to taj early morning or night tour, this is an ideal pad to crash.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel is a small little gem with easy going people and good rooftop restaurant. Since its so close to Taj Mahal its the perfect location for a stay if you just want to visit the Taj in Agra. Its a budget hotel so don't expect too much, anyway its clean, hot water is provided and bed sheets were fine.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a dehli/agra tour. This is 5 minutes walk to the taj, the room was nice and clean. The bathroom was all good. We both had showers at about 5.30 in the morning and hot water was a plenty. We got taken to a resturant by are driver and when we got back had a few drinks on the roof. This was really nice and the staff were great. You can take in the madness of the road wilst having a good beer. We had eaten allready but the food that was coming out looked so good that after a while we had to share a curry, which was fantastic. Price was sound.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6 with no complates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 18/184,Purani Mandi Circle | Fatehabad Road, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maya Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maya Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel And Restaurant
Maya Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.