We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Imperial, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Imperial, Agra to your Saves list
The Grand Imperial, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road Opposite to DM Bunglow, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had read reviews of this hotel before we went and queried the choice with my Travel Adviser. He convinced me that we would like it and he was absolutely correct. It is from another era, the design, the furnishings, the staff uniforms etc and none the worse for that. Our room was spacious, with a huge fan in the ceiling - it wasn't too hot when we were there, so cannot say how effective it would be in the hot season. The rooms opened off a corridor which gave onto a huge lawn with tables and chairs where we had drinks in the evening, accompanied by Indian music at a distance. A puppeteer also set up a small theatre on the grass. I didn't expect the food to be any good from reviews I had read, but we had the buffet which was excellent and very good value. We didn't find the swimming pool until it was too late, but it looked very good - large and clean. It was not pleasant to walk anywhere from the Hotel - it is just off a very busy road, but the hotel itself was quiet.A good place to stay in Agra if you don't want to venture out for a wander around on foot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests as you. Thank you for taking your valuable time out to post your review.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    134
    93
    37
    27
See reviews for
106
137
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was great the people were very kind as always the romos are okey we played in the garden and had sodas the weather was amazing and we got to see the amazing Taj mahal, that is all i have to say

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, even though it is after 10 months


Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked a Chamber-of-Princess room for our stay in Agra. It looks like the first owner/manager had done a really great job in planning, decorating, furnishing the rooms and hotel, but now, the hotel is in a woeful state of disrepair.
A few of the issues I remember (room#104 i think):
- paint falling off the walls right in the reception
- torn pillow cases
- broken bed beams
- bathroom plumbing was terrible. do not even think of using the soaking tub
- bird poo remained uncleaned right outside our door and on the seats
- the first clothing iron they brought in did not work. the 2nd one and the iron stand was of very very poor quality
- Food was very salty. Restaurant waiter is not trained properly.

On the positive side
- Rooms are nicely done with one door opening up the to well-maintained lawn and the opposite door opening right on to the pool. Very nice.

But I still don't think the hotel is worth the price. My advise would be to stay away. If you do decide to stay, make sure you eat outside, but be warned, it is not safe to walk outside after dark. If they are skipping so much on room maintenance, then you can imagine how bad it must be in the kitchen/pool.

Such wasted potential....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time out to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We take utmost care of our guests, and the property is recently renovated. We sincerely apologize

for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

i have stayed for one night with my 3 other friends...lovely hospitality by all the staffs and one them is"Mohammad Zaid" really loved the room 105 with awesome pool view and lawn view...food was also delicious and with lots of options...the best thing i liked...pool water was sooo clean...and best heritage hotel i have ever seen..... i we really enjoyed our trip because of the nice stay.....

Room Tip: Room No 105 or any pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It lifts the morale of my team. Assure you of the same services in your next visit.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place was wonderful. They upgraded my room to a suite, and it was just a gorgeous surprise - an enormous 4 poster bed and a huge bathtub! The pool was a pleasant place to while away the afternoon after a morning at the Taj. The staff were helpful.

Only two points that stopped me giving 5 stars

1) the internet is ABSURDLY expensive. They actually charged me 1100 rupees for 24 hours of internet. That's about £12 per day. I ended up buying 48 hours worth, because I'm a teacher and was staying there on GCSE results day, so I was desperate to be in good contact with the world, but it irritated me no end that I had paid roughly the same amount for 2 days of crap internet speed as I would pay for one month of fibre-optic in London! Their excuse is that everywhere in Agra charges for wifi, but this is the only place I encountered that charged that much. The other excuse is that they outsource it to a company, but another hotel I stayed at in Jaipur used the same company, and provided the internet free of charge

2) the other sore point is the restaurant. If you are willing to take the risk of eating the buffet (hotel buffets that have been sitting around for who-knows-how-long are a major cause of Delhi belly) it's reasonably priced. If you order a la carte however, the prices are absurd. Get a rickshaw elsewhere for dinner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review . It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We shall look into the matter of wi-fi connectivity.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

it was my first visit to Agra and i came to know that this is a only heritage hotel in the city but sorry to say it is not a heritage building it a non maintained old building with poor house keeping ,bad linen , dark and stinking rooms .
forget about restaurant or room service , poor then a rood side restaurant. quality of food was pathetic.
I think there is no management.

Room Tip: NO ONE please avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are truly a heritage property. We assure you of a better and satisfying stay on your next visit.

Thanking you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a great heritage property with nice artefacts, pictures on walls, antique looking furniture to complete the look.. The staff is polite and helpful.. The buffet breakfast is average.. Buffet dinner should also be available on a daily basis.. The room provided at first felt a bit damp.. maybe due to the monsoon season.. but it was not done.. on being pointed out the staff was more than happy to provide with another room.. which was better.. Room TVs need to be upgraded to LEDs (if the Tvs are not a part of their heritage outlook :p).. The pool looked inviting thought did'nt get a chance to enjoy it..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your kind comments.

We shall discuss the TV issue with our management, although they are a part of our heritage, and will try to have a buffet for dinner too.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: M.G. Road Opposite to DM Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial, is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era.The wide arches, and the red Lahori brick walls, is a blend of Colonial and Mughal Architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly refer red to as Lahori bricks. Which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love- The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort,Post World War II, the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played hosts to distinguished guests such as The Crown Princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and other. Its 16 Chamber of Princess Rooms and 14 Deluxe Rooms is a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens etc.Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, Spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Imperial, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.