We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Imperial, Agra

Save Saved
You added The Grand Imperial, Agra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 107 hotels in Agra
Middleton, WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We put a lot of value on charm and ambiance, and this hotel had both - from the attractive arches and decorative tile floors, to the delightful pool and gazebo in the back courtyard. We were charmed by the welcoming flower garlands, the puppet show on the lawn, and the large breakfast buffet (with a made-to-order omelet bar). After a morning of sightseeing, we got to escape the bustle of Agra with a delightful swim and lounge by the pool, and then we relaxed with our books in comfortable chairs under the veranda, beside the fountain and garden, while a late-afternoon rain-shower blew over. Completely delightful.

Personally we like the charm and surprisingly modest prices of "heritage hotels" like this one; if we wanted something completely modern, without any signs of age or wear, we'd pick some steel & glass hotel to stay in which looks identical to the other chain hotels in New York and London. In that case, we would have paid more for our rooms, yet had no memory whatsoever of the hotel or its name today. In contrast, I admire the people who keep these classy old buildings going, though the expense and constant effort of upkeep and maintenance must be considerable. How often does one get to stay in a hundred-year-old building in the U.S. ?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

It is your feed backs that lift the morale of our team, who strive to do better and better. We look forward to your next visit .

Thank You,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    110
    68
    29
    18
See reviews for
75
104
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was fairly close to the railway station for my early go. It turned out to be quite impressive, built in a colonial style with pool and spa. The room was large and and well fitted out. Great shower and bathroom. Dining room was a little dingy but food was decent and had local musicians playing who were great.
Hotel was a little pricier than other hotels on the other side of town but I would recommend it for the quietness in a noisy town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.


Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel could indeed be grand but presently is in a very poor state. It requires investment to update it and more consideration towards guests requirements. It is quite shabby and the restaurant could do with brightening up, The food was ok but also very basic and limited choice. The bedroom was very spacious and provides one with a sense of the historical colonial past. Not much to say on a positive note due to the lack TLC which this hotel needs badly. If the TLC is applied I do believe that this could indeed be as it's name suggests Grand Imperial!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which we take very seriously. Renovation of the hotel is in progress, and we assure you of a very comfortable and upgraded hotel in the future.

Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having read reviews of Agra we decided to plump for an established hotel which had a colonial feel, this hotel is very elegant and the gardens were lovely. Our room was clean, and comfortable but overall the hotel does feel a little tired. The restaurant was OK and the staff very friendly but the food was mediocre I'd say, though the sitar player was a nice touch. The pool was deserted whilst we were there so we swam a lot and had no problems, finding the pool very clean and pleasant. The reception staff were helpful and organised a car and driver to take us to Fatepur Sikri and a tuk tuk whenever we wanted one, including very early to see the sunrise at the Taj Mahal. Overall I would recommend this hotel, which is a pleasant antidote to the madness of Agra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is highly appreciated and taken seriously. It is with regret that I note your disappointment for which I apologize.

We have taken action against the person concerned, and assure you, that the matter has been taken care of.

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Our kids were very sick after our stay here. They used the pool a lot and despite telling them not to drink pool water, they were diving and took a lot in. they were so sick, needed antibiotics and one boy was hospitalised and so dehydrated through vomiting, fever and diarrhoea. My husband was swimming normally and also very sick. Restaurant average and had a very dodgy cocktail that tasted of soap... Don't have cereal here unless its boxed up. Ours was open and some roaches arrived ready to attack. We informed breakfast crew and they sprayed the area. You do expect that sort of thing, but they should ensure food not lying around uncovered, was not like that in the other hotels we stayed at. Oddest thing was towels and bath robe had holes in them. Pretty embarrassing stuff you would think for a heritage hotel!!! And whenever you flushed the loo, water would come out of the flush! On the good side,a beautiful hotel with some respite from the city madness.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is highly appreciated and taken seriously. It is with regret that I note your disappointment for which I apologize.

We have taken action against the person concerned, and assure you, that the matter has been taken care of.

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Historic heritage hotel. Nice grounds , lounge, large pool area. Spacious and a nice retreat away from the immediate bustle of Agra. VERY large airy and comfortable bedrooms, large beds, tall ceilings, with individual integral adjoining lounges ( lounge about 16 foot by 10) , nicely air conditioned. Very good dining and an attractive swimming pool with a pagoda ( where Indian solo dancers performed in the evening). Friendly and welcoming . Good service. 6 of us aged 5 to mid 60s arrived by about 7 am morning train from Varanesi. Clearly this was well ahead of check out time for other guests. We were made very welcome and were immediately given free two very large suites to settle in before transferring to our booked suites. Some of the electric switches might have dated from the 1920s, but everything worked well. To us this added to the period charm. Friendly regular tuk tuk service outside

Room Tip: Choose rooms on second foor. Rooms at the far end of the verandah eg 203, 204 , 205 quieter. Like ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor.
Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind words.

We hope that your experience with us will tempt you to return and stay at our Hotel in the future.

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

First I'd like to start by saying that I believe this hotel has a lot of potential. It could be turned into a great hotel with that antique luxury charm. However, the concept has not been worked through and the hotel feels rather old and tired.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your valuable time out to give us your feedback. We take it very positively. and are working on giving a fresh look to the rooms, and assure you that on your next visit ,you will feel the difference.

Tara Sura.
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: M.G. Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial, is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era.The wide arches, and the red Lahori brick walls, is a blend of Colonial and Mughal Architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly refer red to as Lahori bricks. Which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love- The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort,Post World War II, the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played hosts to distinguished guests such as The Crown Princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and other. Its 16 Chamber of Princess Rooms and 14 Deluxe Rooms is a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens etc.Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, Spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Imperial, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.