We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Imperial, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Imperial, Agra to your Saves list
The Grand Imperial, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road Opposite to DM Bunglow, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique and elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Staying in a hotel like this makes you feel like you are walking in the halls of history. They have maintained the decor and furnishings of a heritage property so beautifully. Our rooms were very clean and spacious. The only shortcoming for me was that I found it a bit cold late at night with the tiled floor in winter. Otherwise, the staff were excellent, we particularly enjoyed the conversation with the host at the hotel restaurant at dinner. They had live musical accompaniment of a sitar and tabla player who were excellent and played some requests by us as well. The breakfast buffet was good although we felt the dinner buffet was overpriced for the quality of food on offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

Thank you for your feedback and above all for appreciating the hotels product and services.

Your comments have been shared with our staff -It is messages like these that encourage our staff to do more.

We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Agra.
Thanks & Regards
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    134
    94
    37
    27
See reviews for
106
138
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Firstly this hotel is some distance from the Taj but in a taxi it's 10/15 mins. We stayed 1 night after visiting the Taj Mahal. After a delayed train journey from Delhi we arrived just before midday and really needed a shower. The hot water just lasted long enough for 1 person unfortunately.

The food was average although the sitar player & drummer were a nice touch and added some atmosphere. The cans of drink in the mini bar were all out of date although we're finding that this is the norm in India. The hotel was quite pretty and sitting out in the garden was very peaceful. This hotel certainly has charm (it is a heritage hotel) and for 1 or 2 nights it is adequate. Suffering from "Delhi Belly" meant that we stayed in the hotel for longer than normal and hence we picked up on some minor issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that your feedback has been shared with the entire hotel team and it will help us to improve, motivate them and further enhance our service standards

we once again thank you for your precious time and. We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Agra

Warm Regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

An excellent special hotel.
Lovely warm welcome, good service, very good evening meal, satisfactory breakfast, lovely ambiance.
Only sorry that this was a one day stay and we had to leave the morning after.
This is a special hotel and I thoroughly recommend it !

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that your feedback has been shared with the entire hotel team and it will help us motivate them and further enhance our service standards

we once again thank you for your precious time and. We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very Cordial team at the Grand made us comfortable when we checked in very late.....service excellent ...rooms very neat and clean...good food...very good ambience....my family just loved it.... would love to be back !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you Mr. Nandakumar .N for your feedback and above all for appreciating the hotels product and services.
Your comments have been shared with our staff -It is messages like these that encourage our staff to do more.

We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Agra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in December while travelling with my 2 children...It was the highlight of our trip to Agra !!!!The hospitality and warmth we found here cannot be found on a 5 star hotel and I did go to a few in my 12 days trip in Rajasthan and Agra....It is priceless to be on such a place ! ..not to mention our 2 floors room was gigantic and amanzingly decorated with influences of the Mughal empire and the bathroom was modern and large and comfortable....I can not refrain from giving good rates for this place!
It was recommended by our travel agency and we did not know exactly what we sign in to ....so needless to say we were thrill to be in such a place.
Hotel Servicing n staff r very supportive and cooperative, food and service was too good .buffet was right combination of Indian, continental and oriental food.

I highly recommend this place to anyone who wish to feel the real Indian experience holiday !

Room Tip: pool side rooms with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. It was indeed great pleasure to have you with us.

We are delighted to note that the services rendered by our team were up to your satisfaction. Thank you very much for the kind words as it motivates the team to strive for even higher level of excellence.

The primary objective of our organization is to give you uncomplicated Comfort.

We look forward to have you again with us.Once again along with all my associates we thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future visit.
Warm Regards
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We planned for a short weekend trip for Agra and we choose the hotel. The building is very colonial with a feeling of British architecture. The lawn is large and nice place to spend your evening provided there is no booking for parties.The rooms are sapcious and the toilet is large as well.

The room service is good though we found charges of few food items are exorbitantly high. The next day breakfast was good and can be better as the charges per night is substantial considering Agra. The Manager was quiet coordial and helpful.

The hotel needs to take immediate measure for proper functioning of hot water system in the bath rooms as it was not working in both the rooms which we took. Inspite of informing the same in the reception no action was taken.

Room Tip: You may opt for 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are also thankful to you for having taken out time for putting your valuable review.

We are happy to know that your overall experience was satisfactory. We are extremely sorry for the reservation issue. Please is rest assured that we have taken these issues with the concerned department.

The primary objective of our organization is to give you uncomplicated Comfort. However, sometimes in spite of best of our intentions things go wrong.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apology for inconvenience caused and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

I would be profoundly happy if you could give us another chance of serving you once again.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night and had a pleasant stay ,beds are comfortable ,bathrooms badly need updating but did have a bath,in it's day this hotel would have been really impressive,there was a wedding going on the night of our stay but we were'nt aware of any noise in room,average breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are also thankful to you for having taken out time for putting your valuable review.
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!
We are happy to know that your overall experience was satisfactory. We are extremely sorry for the reservation issue. Please is rest assured that we have taken these issues with the concerned department.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apology for inconvenience caused and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

I would be profoundly happy if you could give us another chance of serving you once again.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: M.G. Road Opposite to DM Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial, is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era.The wide arches, and the red Lahori brick walls, is a blend of Colonial and Mughal Architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly refer red to as Lahori bricks. Which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love- The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort,Post World War II, the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played hosts to distinguished guests such as The Crown Princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and other. Its 16 Chamber of Princess Rooms and 14 Deluxe Rooms is a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens etc.Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, Spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Imperial, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.