We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Taj Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Taj Mahal East Gate, Shilpgram VIP Road | near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 145 Agra B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I thought this hotel seemed somewhat nice from the reviews, so I decided to book for a night stay with them while in Agra. When i first stepped in, i thought - those who complained must have been expecting a hotel worth 500 bucks, rather than be contented with what they are paying for.

Well... the hotel is near to the Taj Mahal and Shilp gram (where you buy tickets) - so location wise is a A+. But, like Ramesh has mentioned, there were bed bugs in the room - specifically on my bed and the cushions. I ended up with a terrible allergy reaction for the night - I could only sit on the couch and not be able to sleep back on the bed again, of course not counting that I had to take my meds (thank god I had some). The sheets were not so clean of course (maybe that's why the bugs)

Wouldn't recommend staying here because of the bugs, perhaps find another hotel with a cleaner bed to stay. Can't believe I got charged for the wifi as well - a little ridiculous to me, I say, though the wifi was strong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    118
    103
    58
    52
See reviews for
74
155
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was okay. It wasn't far from the taj mahal, and you could look at it from the rooftop. My main issue was a couple of the staff coming into our room unannounced. Other than that the place was okay, the AC and tv worked well. The Wi-Fi wasn't good, but that's not a surprise being in India. The staff was definitely looking to sell you Inge, but once again that isn't a surprise for India.

Room Tip: Choose a room with AC be ause it is very hot in Agra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bng
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Horrible experience in room .. hotel is clean but in room have bed bugs its difficult to sleep .. overnight no sleep family..

Horrible experience in room .. hotel is clean but in room have bed bugs its difficult to sleep .. overnight no sleep family..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed with my family for 1 night and and enjoyed my stay very much. Great view of the Taj from my room and the rooftop also. No luxuries but a better location only a short walk away from the Taj Mahal.
Everything was okay. My room was on third floor and I found it strange there was no lift.
Overall a nice stay, however for the price I wouldn't complain.

Room Tip: Go for Taj facing superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Bad hotel .. Please don't stay. Ac does not work but they will charge you for that even no assistance offered . I requested for a cab prior one night before my checkout not arranged . Guy at the reception was sleeping . So he fit is into a auto

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an £8 room. Obviously you don't expect much but you do expect a clean room.

Location: Good location. 15 minutes walk to the Taj, though you'd be lucky to get that far without hassle from rickshaw drivers. Not many options for food or shopping.

Hotel: The security guards were really lovely, though the staff behind the counter were a bit abrupt. The luggage carriers were also pretty odd - making it clear that they wanted a tip. We moved room as soon as we got to it - it stunk of smoke. The one next door didn't smell much better. The bedding consisted of a sheet on the mattress and a rug on top, but no sheet to sleep under! The room was covered with dust and our pillows smelled bad. The bathroom wasn't great and full of small bugs and covered with a layer of dust/paint the in the morning. The towels also smelt. Very fusty experience. Paint peeling off the walls. Wifi was below average and we had to pay for it.

The view from the top of the hotel is amazing - really worth a look.

Food: hardly any food options around so we ate in the restaurant at the hotel. We had to send our chicken back three times as it wasn't cooked. Other than that it was fine.

I think the more expensive rooms would have been ok - but I wouldn't stay again.



Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed my stay very much:
- Great view of the Taj from the rooftop, where friendly staff serve affordable and ok food
- My room was clean, but not spotless, however for the price I wouldn't complain
- The staff are all very very friendly and happy to assist
- Easy to access the Taj grounds by foot - only ten minutes walk from the East Gate
- As written in another review, try the next door Oberei Amarvillas for food/drinks: probably THE best hotel with amazing food and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the noisy street Go to next door Oberei Amarvillas for drinks/dinner - it is AMA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Address: Taj Mahal East Gate, Shilpgram VIP Road | near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282004, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No hotel symbolizes the grandeur and hospitality of the historic city of the Taj Mahal more than Hotel Taj Plaza. Set in a prime location and in walking distance from the symbol of love, Taj Mahal. This hotel is a familiar and distinctive landmark. Its architectural contours set it apart from the glass and concrete conformity of other hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taj Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.