We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most dreadfull Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amar Yatri Niwas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amar Yatri Niwas to your Saves list
Amar Yatri Niwas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181/1, Tourist Complex Area, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A most dreadfull Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel whilst on an organised trip to Agra. We were appalled at the dirty state of the rooms and the general indifference of the management to our complaints. The bed linen was particularl dirty with thick human hair and smears of bodily fluid, including blood on it. We had to demand a change of linen from the Manager before it could be changed. The restaurant was grim and very few people risked using it while we were there. This hotel does not warrant any stars really but our shower did work and we did get some warm water. Make sure that there are no vacancies anywhere else before you use this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    45
    38
    43
See reviews for
45
43
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night of our Intrepid stay and it was awful. The room was cramped and dirty. The bed linen did not look clean and this was confirmed when I pulled back the covers to find a pair of dirty knickers in the bed. I know it is a budget hotel but being clean costs nothing and there were a lot of staff around. My husband complained very strongly and the beds were changed, but the staff stood around waiting for a tip. No chance. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Not much to say about this place except only go here if you are desperate and there's a storm outside and its winter etc, basically only go here if you have no other option.

We arrived very early before check in and were able to leave our bags in the lobby. They were just sat there and nobody specifically watching them but they were all there when we returned. The toilets in the lobby were just disgusting. No toilet paper, urine and faeces all over the place. It was a health hazard. The floor was practically flooded and it stank. Not a good first impression.

We eventually got our room which was pretty dreadful. The sheets had marks on them and the toilet had diarrhea on the seat. Called the cleaners and the sent a guy with a towel, who scraped the poo off the toilet with a towel and then then called me to inspect it. I asked him if he could use toilet cleaner or bleach to actually clean the seat, he came back and squirted something in the toilet, scrubed and flushed it, and walked out with the towel over his shoulder. The hotel didnt provide towels and I'm actually glad as I wouldn't want to use one after seeing how they are used towels.
We had a window in our room but no view except some chains! It was very noisy out there. The AC was noisy so we called someone to turn it off as we couldn't in the room. A guy came and broke into the cupboard outside out room and turned it off for us. I mean, surely they have a key to the cupboard somewhere.

However there was hot water and a costa next door.

Stay here at your own risk. I'm surprised I didn't catch something.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently spent three nights here - and left more exhausted than when we arrived. The room was almost clean, most things almost worked and the bathroom had running water - that's were the good bit ends.

The window (filthy) was double glazed but didn't fit the frame - result: as noisy within the room as outside (a major arterie in the city, close to the Taj Mahal.

Each time we left the room our cardkey no longer worked when we returned - the staff treated this lightly, but the problem continued.

The room wasn't 'cleaned' unless we specifically asked - so the minature toilet rolls were never replenished, and the almost ckean towels not replaced.

The restaurant wasn't - we experienced breakfast but were hungry afterwards.

We frankly cannot understand why there are any positive feedbacks on this place - our advice AVOID.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I guess this should be expected from a budget-midrange hotel in a tourist infested city, but it really felt dirty. The hallway had one smell, the bathroom had another smell, the closet had another smell, and the breakfast restaurant had no windows and a faulty A/C ! Like all trips to India result in stomach problems, I was surviving fine for 10 days, but started feeling nauseated after breakfast here. Wifi was charged, which I found surprising, since I found free wifi in much less pretentious hotels! I really felt sheepish about walking barefoot in the bedroom! Worth less than it tries to be....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour in October. Our room was small with only 1 dirty window that let barely any natural light in, so it was very dark and dingy. There was also a musty smell lingering around. Found a few bed bugs but luckily I wasn't bitten, however our friends were bitten loads and the hotel staff had nothing to say about it.

The wifi costs are pretty extortionate, but apparently it's like that all over Agra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed there on 23rd October. I had booked it last moment on phone and had spoken to Manger Mr. Ziauddin. He gave me very good deal for 2 rooms adjacent to each other. He did not asked for any advance and also when I wanted to do early checkin he was very co-operative.
Staff was good. Buffet breakfast although not many choices but was good. Food was also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amar Yatri Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Yatri Niwas

Address: 181/1, Tourist Complex Area, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Yatri Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Amar Yatri Niwas you can feel the warm hospitality extended to its guests in the true "Amar" tradition. Our 41 well furnished centrally air-conditioned rooms with modern amenities are designed for sheer comfort. we have one multi cuisine restaurant, Backed by our caring personalized room service we promise to make your stay at Agra, a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amar Yatri Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Yatri Niwas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amar Yatri Niwas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.