We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yamuna View

Save Saved
You added Hotel Yamuna View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Yamuna View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6B The Mall Road, Agra 202001, India (Formerly Hotel Agra Ashok)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 107 hotels in Agra
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is very over priced and pretentious. We arrived late to be greeted by a petulant member of staff who was extremely unhelpful and was trying to get us to pay more for the room that we had booked, implying that we had been upgraded. Once we had checked in, he ordered us back downstairs to show our passports, and was not pleasant.

The room had no running hot water, and therefore a man with a bucket arrives to try to fill your bath with hot water. The water he arrives with is yellow and not something that you would want to bathe in.

The majority of staff are constantly implying that they need to be tipped, with many awkward and silent moments. The wifi for the hotel was apparently not working during the entirety of our stay.

The 'round the clock' room service, was not, round the clock.

The positives were: quiet, relatively good location, and we had good service from one younger member who went out of his way, checking cinema times, loaning us a computer for Internet, calling our rickshaw driver to check that we were ok. That guy should be promoted for salvaging our impression of the hotel.

The restaurants in the hotel are overpriced and the waiters seem desperate and were pushy.

Overall, please avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    32
    28
    19
    29
See reviews for
29
33
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A large, though ordinary-looking hotel with spacious rooms and and an impressive black marble and glass bathroom; but it was all downhill from there. The toilet smelled putrid of stale urine, and the crusty build-up around the toilet seat indicated that it had not been properley cleaned for quite some time, and the air-conditioning was virtually ineffective. The reception staff rudely didn't bother even to acknowledge a guest until they had finished looking at their computer. When they finally did, they were aloof, unfriendly and indifferent. The food was average, the service superficial and somewhat pretentious, particularly the maitr'd. The upstairs bar staff just went through the motions, yet tried to serve the Indian version of the international spirit I requested and then wanted to argue the matter when I politely complained. I've never bothered to write a review before as I am fairly easy-going, and tolerant of of many small issues but this hotel fell badly short in some important areas; and a smelly toilet is inexcusable and unacceptable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest

We are extremely saddened and pained to receive such a distressing feedback from your end

Hospitality is always a work in progress and it is customers like you who give us the regular reality check and keep us on our toes.

However We wish you had spoken to one of our staff members who would have definitely looked into the matter and resolved the problem.

Though we are not perfect we do have many good things at our hotel and we are really saddened that none of these things appealed to your fine tastes .

On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and apologies for your discomfort.

We hope you come again to Agra give us a chance to show you that this is definitely not us and that we can do so much better .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a lovely oasis after a week on safari and an overnight train journey. The bathroom was fab and the bedroom well appointed and very clean. The little shops in the hotel were not expensive and the outdoor pool looked great but there was no time to try it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Yamuna View, Agra !!!

It is always a delight to receive appreciative feedback from our guests.
While there is always room for improvement positive guest comments urges to go that extra mile .
On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and let me add It was definitely an enormous pleasure to have you as our hotel guest .

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here after refusing to stay at another filthy hotel so it was such a pleasant surprise to find clean comfortable rooms with friendly staff. Despite its busy location the room was quiet. The peace + the comfortable bed made for a great nights sleep. The free Wifi was a bonus as was the nice sitting areas throughout the hotel & the grounds. We didn't use the swimming pool so I can't comment on that. The breakfast buffet was acceptable. Excellent location for a short drive to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Yamuna View, Agra !!!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yamuna View as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who give us the boost and make this job such a satisfying experience.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in January. The room we were given was clean and the beds were comfortable. The single-glass windows in our room made for poor isolation. This made our room kind of noisy as well as cold. The noise died down after 11 o'clock and the helpful hotel staff provided us with a small heater. This made our stay that much more pleasant!

The hotel is situated close to several bazaars and within walking distance of the Laxmi Vilas Restaurant on Taj rd, we really liked having dinner at this all-veg Indian restaurant.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Yamuna View, Agra !!!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yamuna View as your preferred destination.

We are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I didn't stay at Yamuna but went to use their swimming pool as suggested in the Lonely Planet guidebook. When I arrived and asked to use the pool their shocked faces should have said it all. When we got in the pool it was ice cold, this is why we got the shocked look. We spent 400 rupees each using the pool but we thought what the hell at least we get a hot shower in the changing rooms... WRONG!

Room Tip: Did not stay just used pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Yamuna View, Agra !!!

We are extremely saddened and apologetic to receive such a distressing feedback from your end .

Sir having one of the best pools in Agra a lot of guests from outside the hotel use our poolside to enjoy the ambiance and bask in the sun on the pool side .It was wrong on their part to presume anything and they should have clarified matters.

Had you spoken to any of our staff we would have looked into the matter and resolved the problem.

Hospitality is always a work in progress and it is customers like you who give us the regular reality check and keep us on our toes.
I
On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and apologies for your discomfort.
We hope you come again to Agra give us a chance to show you that this incident was an aberration rather than the norm.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel have good rooms with a very tasty food. We are staying in this hotel after do the pilgrimage trip in India which most of the hotels in Buddhist sector are standart. So it's make us very comfortable after do the long trip. You should consider to use this hotel in your next coming to Agra

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelYamunaView, General Manager at Hotel Yamuna View, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Yamuna View, Agra !!!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yamuna View as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

Praise from customers like you is what makes this job so satisfying and gives us the motivation to thrive harder .

On behalf of our entire staff here at Yamuna View we thank you for your business and we hope to see you on your next visit to Agra.

Sincerely
Vinay Puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Yamuna View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yamuna View

Address: 6B The Mall Road, Agra 202001, India (Formerly Hotel Agra Ashok)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 107 hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Yamuna View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Yamuna View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamuna View Agra
Yamuna View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yamuna View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.