We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amar to your Saves list
Hotel Amar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Stanton In Peak
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Modern, functional but characterless hotel, with an uninspiring restaurant. Rooms a good size, staff attitudes variable.Need transport to the Taj and Fort from here.

Room Tip: Have a look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    109
    101
    54
    50
See reviews for
89
109
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

i stayed in march for a night. bedrooms not clean, towels dirty, bathroom was not clean at all, though staff tries to please, stay was not memorabale for a Taj Mahal visit.

Room Tip: not value for money they are asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

please dont ever book to go hotel amar, staff at the reception had no idea on how to greet there customers crap service we had, no appology, rooms was crapy you had to fight for 3hrs before you get a plesant room the management was very poor, my 2st and last time there i would not advice that hotel to any body please look at other hotels before booking this crap, we had a brilliant 15 days of our holidays and this crap spoilt the lot was such a shame, all i can say is they need to go on customer services course.

Room Tip: suites are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I walked in the hotel for just stayed over one night before leaving tomorrow morning for visit Taj Mahal. The room rate the reception offered me at INR3,800, comparing to the room ambience was unacceptable. Finally I got discount to INR2,000 per night but they offer the room in basement with bad smell of smoking for me. The bathroom especially bathtub was dirty, fungus growth on the wall. Noisy from the room upstair and from the old air-condition nuisance me all night long.

The worst thing disappointed me, apart from above, the cashier was dishonest !!!! He said the wifi fee was INR150 per one hour, but the wifi voucher shown just INR125, what wrong with extra INR25 charged from me!!! - I noticed and asked for the inconstancy between INR150 he collected from me and the bill showing just INR125, he can not answer me, but just return to me and to my three friends for INR25 of each. He was the reception/cashier in night shift of 3rd March 2012.

Pizza Hut near the hotel is your choice if you wanna pay for the hotel dinner buffet at INR300 per head.

Room Tip: If possible, don't stay in the rooms basement floor, having bad smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The room: I was booked in Elite room on the Ground floor. It was a huge one with 1 double bed, sofa and even a settee laid out comfortably. There also are large glass windows which is overlooking an wonderful green outdoor. The bathroom was separate, quite spacious with bathtub, all necessary things like a small shaving kit (razor & cream), comb, hair dryer and other toiletries. The room is adorned with a lot of lighting.


The Ambience: It's fresh and well maintained. The lunch pool-side facing restaurant are just too pleasing for the eye.

The Food: This was a pleasant surprise. We reached late in the evening and looked around for food in their restaurant. We especially loved their chicken curry and dal makhani. The breakfast and tea is included in the price. The breakfast was simple but had varieties.
Cereals, puri-sabzi, breads with baked beans, vada and sambhar, cheese and eggs on demand. Milk, tea, coffee, juices, etc. though the time for breakfast is till 10 a.m. We did order beer with Cheese pakoda which were the best cheese pakados we ever had.

The Hotel is just 1.5 kms from Taj and near to the taxi stand. If you like to have coffee outside the hotel so there is Costa Coffee adjacent to the Hotel as well as Pizza Hut.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall good experience to spend some time outside the city

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Järvenpää, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We booked 2 rooms from this hotel 3 months before arrival. When we arrived to hotel, they just informed us, that they have no booking, allthough we had a booking confirmation from travel agency. When we tried to solve the problem, there were several managers around us most of them very unfriendly and not willing to help at all. There was a wedding season in Agra and obieysly they've sold our rooms for better price to them and just kicked us out, they also claimed, that they don't do co-operation with our travel agent. I know such can happen and to us has happened also before in India, that hotel has sold rooms twice but before they've arranged new room from a sister hotel but this time they didn't even try to help anyway but wanted us out as soon as possible.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi, india
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a hotel for serious consideration, if you're heading to Agra.

I stayed here for 2 days and 1 night and really enjoyed my time here. The staff themselves are extremely helpful and really do go the extra mile to ensure you have a comfortable stay at the hotel.

The hotel room is large and spacious, with big windows. The air-conditioning hums very quietly, which is helpful when trying to sleep.

The layout and décor of the room is inviting and the bed is fairly comfortable.

The food - we mostly ordered room service, mostly north indian fare. Its lip-smacking, especially the aloo paratha with curd - a must try!

The railway station is quite nearby to the hotel, it is centrally located in Agra City.

I would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay, the room, the service, the staff, the location.

Room Tip: See through a few rooms before choosing upon one.....the staff are friendly and will not say "n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.