We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clarks Shiraz to your Saves list
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 , Taj Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is a little dated. Our room was spacious but the window was single glazed and the room smelt a little damp. However it was very clean and the bathroom was clean and well stocked, and very well placed for the Red Fort and the Taj.

We ate in the small cafe bar off reception and whilst the service was a little slow the food was good, and the staff friendly and competent. There are a few shops near the foyer.

We were allocated a room without a view of the Taj, even though the hotel was far from full and it sells it's self on having the most Taj facing rooms in the city.

The bar on the upper floor was closed when we went up at lunch time and access to the roof terrace was locked.

Room Tip: Ask for a Taj facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    297
    172
    51
    24
See reviews for
157
228
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and find it a lovely hotel with excellent, friendly staff. The rooms are very luxurious with very comfy beds. The food is fantastic with a wide choice of Indian and continental cuisine. The waiters in the restaurant were lovely. Security was good - we had a guard on the corridor on the first night! The swimming pool area was nice but the small OS sewage did keep wafting across - a reminder that you are in India!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good choice of food at the buffet restaurant, however the food could have been hotter - the gas burners underneath kept going out which was a little worrying as the food wasn't being kept at a constant temperature. The breakfast was very good and so was the service. There was also a lovely open top bar on the roof where we enjoyed a drink after our evening meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and truly appreciate their service and hospitality. The staff is very cooperative . Rooms were excellent and good food. Overall It was great! Its rare to find a combination of great service, food, rooms and value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed her for two nights on our Kuoni tour. The hotel says it is five star, but I think 3 star would be more appropriate.
It is located 10 mins by car to the Taj Mahal and you could see the Taj from our bedroom window.
The room was comfortable though the air con struggled to keep the temperature down.
Breakfast had a good selection with an egg station, which produced nice omelettes.
The pool was a long walk from the hotel and you had to walk past an arcade of shops which had nothing to do with the hotel. It was not very pleasant and you did not feel comfortable walking to it.
We ate in the Coffee Bar, which had very slow service and they did not get our order right.
Prices seem very high for what was on offer.
There is a roof top bar, which was dimly lit and did not have very comfortable seats.
This hotel is geared up for coach parties and there were three in our party.
I would not stay here again out of choice as there must be better hotels around
This hotel is not up to Kuoni's usual high standards.
Sort it out Kuoni.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean and large room, with huge bed. Reasonably quiet location, about 20 minutes drive from the Taj Mahal. Breakfast on the top floor (5th) was excellent, with a wide selection of European and Indian food and a view if the distant Taj Mahal into the bargain. We had dinner here one evening which was equally good, and very tasty, if a little on the expensive side. Our driver recommended a local restaurant 2 minutes walk away that catered for tourists, which was cheap and cheerful but not such good quality as the hotel meal. Pool looked ok, but we didn't go in it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Thin walls regular windows. Could hear sound from outside and adjacent rooms.
Dull breakfest, extremly expensive dinner not worth the cost. Beware of extra charges. We were charged 7.5% from our dinner bill for entertainment . We were not aware of it beforehand and it's not written anywhere. The number was 3 guys chanting Indian songs during dinner.
Pro's - clean rooms, a/c ok, walking distance from Sadar bazaar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Address: 54 , Taj Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from Railway Station - 3 kms. Taj Mahal - 1 km. Red Fort - 1.1/2 Kms. Main Shopping Centre - 1 km. Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort. The Buffet - Multi-cuisine Lobby Level Dining Hall. The Coffee Shop - 24 hours. THE MUGHAL BAR - Roof top Bar with variety of Imported and Domestic Beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarks Shiraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.