We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be mindful of pricing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar International

Akbar International
289 Fatehabad Road, Agra, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 104 Tours & Activities in Agra
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be mindful of pricing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Look - went here on my first day to Agra - was taken by my tour guide who swore it was the place to go (later realized he had a thing going with them).

Nice stuff - but overpriced by 100%. I was under the impression it was a government shop. It was not - so I overpaid - by alot (given that he didn't have a lot of room).

So 1) I was a sucker; 2) don't let it happen to you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Akbar Gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Akbar International is a little piece of the Taj Mahal to take home and give as a gift. When you arrive the artisans demonstrate the unique technique of creating the stones used to decorate the walls of the Taj Mahal. They sell many nice gifts including jewelry boxes, trivets, etc. made of marble with beautiful stone inlays. There is something in the price range for everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy with my purchase”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were taken to the shop on our tour, and ended up buying a beautiful small table top. We were offered discounts the longer we discussed price, despite it being a government shop, although I think they still made a profit in the end. After we bought our high ticket item we were taken through a display room with smaller ticket pieces (coasters, smll boxes), perhaps to focus the purchase on the larger items.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite Marble emporium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Brilliant place to peep into the art & culture .
exquisite pcs of marble & stone engraving.
good place to pick small gifts items or a couple of gud pcs , if you are interested in collection of artifacts & antiques.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Akbar Tomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Less visitors compared to Taj Mahal. Easy entry. Huge place spread across over 100 acres. Could also see deer and other animals. If you are at Akbar's tomb make sure you get a guide. He will tell you things which i did not know, even after googling before i went. :-) Check out the telecommunication system in the walls which was built 500 yrs before. You will be amazed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar International also viewed

 
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Akbar International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.