We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aman Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aman Homestay to your Saves list
Aman Homestay
44/2 R.K. Puram Phase-2, Taj Nagri, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 163 Agra B&B and Inns
Beziers, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing family atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I put 5 stars because of the atmosphere which I had found quite incredible. I only spend 1 night there (they were fully booked the second night) but in total they let me enjoy the garden and living room for 3 days! It was like if I was at my mum/grandma home!
And although there was no more money to earn from me after the first night, they helped find a room, and I could stay in the garden/living room when it was too hot to do something outside :).

Objectively:

Good points:
- Very welcoming people, and very helpful
- The living room where everybody eats, it is the perfect place to meet the family and other travellers
- 10 min by foot to Taj MAhal
- Amazing food from Ranjana, you feel invited to eat more that you actually can
- Quality/comfort of the room/bathroom/house is very correct

Bad points:
- I personnaly suffered from the noise of the AC and wind fans (I have sensible ears), but the other travellers had no problem at all (maybe it was me)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    46
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
98
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were immediately made to feel part of the family. Quiet residential area of Agra within walking distance of Taj Mahal. Immaculately clean rooms and delicious home cooked food upon request. Ranjana, Aman and family were extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend Aman Home stay, great value, food a little expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Amazing family-run place with all facilities you might want - AC accommodation, hot showers, cold bottled water available at your request, nice outside area. The family is very welcoming and ready to help you with any trouble. They cook very delicious food for breakfast (Indian or Continental at your wish with as much of it coming as you can possibly fit inside your stomach! - can be a bit spicy for first-time-to-India guests, so if you're worried, ask specifically for no chilies), also very delicious Indian dinner at a reasonable rate. There are also cooking classes offered for those interested.
They also have a driver and a car available for your day trips and pick-ups/drop-offs, very convenient in the hot season.
The only thing to remember is to plug in the electric mosquito repellent - after 1 hour you can sleep like a baby in the AC room. They also didn't have locks on any rooms, but we had our own, so I didn't ask for a lock and not sure if they would actually provide it. It's a very family-like atmosphere, so it didn't actually surprise me in the end.
The location is quiet and away from the busy touristic area, yet still a short ride away from Taj Mahal and Agra Fort.

Room Tip: Be sure to wear flipflops in the bathroom if your bathroom is tiled, as floor can get quite slippery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Aman Home Stay is an excellent option for a place to stay in Agra. It is located near East Gate in a quite little colony filled with really kind residents. The place is a bit trick to find so be sure to either take them up on a lift from the train station or bring the phone number with you for your driver so that you can find the place! They also have wifi accessible in the house and can book different trips/services for you while in town.

We stayed with Ranjana & her family for a few days in March 2013. They were so helpful in booking (and changing) our stay and arranging tickets for a night viewing of the Taj. We happened to be in Agra on Holi and they made it so special for us by inviting us to join the celebrations with their family. We could not have asked for a better experience in Agra and, as we've traveled there before, we can attest that Aman Home Stay really offers the best of everything - a nice, quiet, comfortable room, en suite toilets with hot water, excellent food, availability of a driver (if needed), and most importantly kind hosts.

One final note. We were traveling India with a driver we met in Delhi. After spending a week or so with him we felt like friends and wanted to invite him for dinner. He hesitated to join us fearing he wouldn't be welcomed since he was a driver, but Ranjana and her family welcomed him into their home with us and treated him with nothing but kindness. We were thankful to find a home so loving and caring to travelers and fellow Indians alike. Rest assured that if we make it back to Agra, we will be back to Aman Home Stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The family are extremely kind and very helpful. They speak excellent English and go out of their way to do everything they can. They picked us up from the station and their driver was very good. We ate dinner at Aman and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a last minute decision to stay one night in Agra instead of making a day trip from Delhi, we quickly scrambled to find safe and clean accommodation. We stumbled across Aman homestay and after reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked our one night stay there. Print out the address of the hotel once you arrive from the train station so that the tuk tuk/taxi driver knows which compound to enter, as there are a few in the area. The homestay is located in a residential compound with a gate and guard, so it is pretty safe (we are two ladies in our late-twenties).

Ranjana is the owner of the homestay and a delightful lady. We had such a lovely stay with her and her family (Aman is her exceptionally bright and motivated son who, despite his young age, commands excellent spoken English). As mentioned by other travellers, her masala chai tea is delicious and throughout our 8 day stay in India, we could not find one cup that even came close to her stomach-warming homemade brew. She even caters for the difficult lactose-intolerant travellers, and makes it sans dairy! While her meal prices are more expensive than other local restaurants, I'd say that the quality and quantity makes up for it. I had no worries about getting food poisoning from her kitchen. Dinner consisted of 7 dishes (all vegetarian, including fresh raita) and rice and chapatis. Again, it was one of our best meals we had during our travels.

We didn't know she had a driver so if you want, you can book the driver in advance to pick you up from the station (if you are traveling by train) and also to take you around to all the sights. 8-9 hours of service comes up to about 800-900 rupees.

The rooms were basic, but clean. There wasn't any hot water when we were there, but it was quite hot outside so we didn't mind.

We highly recommend Aman's homestay! Please stay here and meet this wonderful family!

We miss you Ranjana!!

Lots of love,
your adopted daughters Kim and Laura xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room and family where great and helped to connect us to their wifi. Aman also arranged a pickup at the train station which we appreciated. The driver was great and offered his services for the day, which was very helpful and a great way to see Agra. Aman's moms cooking was also great. We did however find the cost of the driver and cost of their home meals rather pricey compared to other options available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aman Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aman Homestay

Address: 44/2 R.K. Puram Phase-2, Taj Nagri, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My name is Ranjana , Me and my Husband are the owner of Aman Homestay , I live in this house with my loving Husband Sudhir and My three Children Aman , Akshay and Leena.We open this Homestay in the winter season of 2012 It was the idea of me and my family supported me . I always like to meet different people their culture , wants to know more about other countries . That curiosity in me brought an idea to open Homestay . My husband and my son Aman help in running our Homestay . My daughter and my son Akshay are deep in pursuit of their ambitions. My younger son Aman helps me when he comes from school , I feel great in showing other people my India and our Culture , Food and many more . I cook food for my guest myself and only fresh food on their request and always tries to make them feel like they usually feel at home , when they stay here . It is with great pleasure that I welcome you into my home , a place that my family and dear friends have enjoyed I hope that you will enjoy the comfort , our traditions and the careful attentions in my home Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Aman Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aman Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.