We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra to your Saves list
Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Dorset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is very attractive and set in lovely grounds so is very quiet. It is low rise, so the rooms are set out along long corridors, but are clean and airy. The staff were helpful and friendly and I loved the flowers floating in water, to which citrus candles were added in the evening. The buffet food was partly chinese, partly Indian so would not be to everyone's taste. At least one western dish would have helped.
However it was a pleasant experience in all and I would return if in the area again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    470
    167
    79
    44
See reviews for
328
365
59
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful to look at and appears to be an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Agra. The problem I have with this hotel is that the service just doesn't seem to be what one would expect from a hotel that has five stars. This hotel has a lot of operational issues and it shows in their inability to provide five star service. A few issues that we encountered:

The hotel was unable to deliver our luggage to our room in a timely fashion. In fact, after waiting in our room for some time we had to go back down the lobby and identify our luggage, after which it was finally delivered.

When calling the front desk to ask for assistance with something, the desk staff likes to transfer you to a different department. Often times the other department that you were transferred to doesn't answer the phone.

Our room was booked for three people and needed an additional cot brought into the room. At check in, we were told the additional cot would be brought in later on. When it didn't arrive, we called the front desk and were told it would be an additional 1800 ruppees. We insisted that it had already been included in our rate and they dropped it. The cot did eventually find its way to our room. This situation was very frustrating to be told we had to pay extra for something that was already included.

We called to request two additional pillows. It took several phone calls again, and the attendant only brought one pillow. We informed them we requested two pillows, not one and they returned later on with the additional one.

On check out, we were aggressively accosted by a group of several staff who informed us that we had not paid our bill and owed 25000 ruppees. We had paid the bill 15 minutes earlier. The way they approached us made us feel like we were thieves and left a really bad final impression of this hotel.

All of these customer service issues just add up to a negative experience in an otherwise beautiful hotel.

I would not return to this hotel, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Jaypee Palace Hotel for two nights. What a respite from the utter chaos of Agra! The hotel is definitely a bargain. Luxurious grounds and accommodations for only about $125 a night (breakfast included). Four different restaurants on site and the food was adequate (although not anything special). First hotel that I have stayed in that had its own bowling alley (2 lanes). Also, it is right down the road from the Taj Mahal.

What was most impressive was the level of service that was provided. We happened do be there during an international economic conference so they were possibly on their best behavior. Greeters offered flowers and drinks when we were checking in. Hotel staff gave us a quick orientation of the hotel and our luggage was handled professionally. Every night a team of people came to our room offering chocolates and other room services.

My only real complaint for this hotel was that the sound-proofing could be improved. People walking down the hall sounded like they were in your room. Also, a better ventilation system to filter out the air pollution of Agra would be nice.

Overall, this was a great value and a great place to relax in Agra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a night here while on work. Property looks majestic and nice but service can be improvement . Capucino machine doesnt work....so no coffee available at the coffee shop. But i guess you get what you pay for. Next time would go for the ITC Mughal next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and were just awestruck with the property and the amount of variety it had to offer. Very spacious rooms, great greenery around the property. The food however can be better. Taste - Nothing more than a normal restaurant taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked as part of a package, the Jaypee Palace Hotel came at the perfect interval. I had ridden from Delhi for several hours and gotten lost in Agra (a result of fatigue and stupidity on my part). The staff and accommodations at the Jaypee Palace eased my jangly nerves. The bed proved more comfortable than any I've slept in across three continents, and the spacious bathroom took the edge off a busy day. The highlight, though, was the first rate breakfast buffet. Well balanced, spicy, and filling, the breakfast fare set a great foundation for a long ride to Rajasthan.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and were just awestruck with the property and the amount of variety it had to offer. Though the facade, reception and frontage of the property is very well maintained, rooms are quite a let down in terms of freshness, quality of experience. Expected a lot and ended with a basic hotel room which might be 2 stars lesser than Jaypee hotels.

The food was a big let down as well.
Spread - Very basic, nothing fancier than a 3 star hotel.
Taste - No brainer or nothing wow than a normal restaurant taste.
Hygiene - Very well maintained
Staff- Very courteous
Eagerness to help - Very limited, will do everything which is mentioned in the rule book charted by the hotel management, no extra mile efforts or going out of the way to please the guest.

Overall Experience
Property & Staff - Good
Food & Beverage - very or my be less than average

Room Tip: Take a higher category room if you want fancy stuff, it not the basic category is really very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282003, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#5 Spa Hotel in Agra
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaypee Palace Hotel And Convention Centre Agra
Jaypee Palace Hotel Agra
Jaypee Hotel Agra
Jaypee Palace Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.