We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality time at Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Plaza Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Plaza Agra to your Saves list
Howard Plaza Agra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Ghaziabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality time at Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

I got the chance to visit the city of Taj first time with my Family in the month of September 2008. Though I had visited Agra before also but this was special trip as I was accompanying My lovely wife and our angel son "Aadi". We want by road in my car and stopped at the hotel only. The hotel "Howard Park Plaza" was beautiful and well maintained from outside as well as inside although some restoration work was going on inside and we had to wait longer than usual for our room to be assigned. Our overall experience was good, we used the pool and tasted the food their which was delicious. The only thing lacking was the room service and the staff was slow. Overall good experience improvement needed in service.

  • Liked — Food and Pool
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    249
    161
    68
    41
See reviews for
161
220
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

we were happy to see that this hotel had nice modern rooms with decent clean bathrooms. it had a nice breakfast room and roof top restaurant. the staff were ok with the usual group of all male employees. would not describe them as overly friendly or helpful. the one thing we did not like about this hotel was that the carpets in the main hallways were in dire need of replacement and were barely connected to the floor. also developed food poisoning from breakfast . must admit that their food quality looked good but food in india travels through such filth to get to a clean hotel that it is hard to avoid getting sick. if you go to agra one night is enough. see the taj and get out. just another dirty indian city.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

The lobby, like with most hotels, is its most impressive feature, though other facilities came close. As the traditional, polite Indian doorman lets you into the main entrance, you are greeted by the massive chandelier that glistens from the ceiling. The room had everything you’d expect in a three star hotel such as TV, refrigerator, wireless broadband (extra), etc. The doors are like normal doors and won’t lock themselves. No danger of forgetting your keys inside, although you may leave thinking it’s locked when it isn’t. The view was not up to much, with a school next door.

There is an outdoor pool, but in winter, it is bitterly cold as we found out. Still, to warm you up, there is a small gym inside with two treadmills and multi gym apparatus, along with a towel boy. It was never busy when we went in, so it’s like having a private gym. When you have finished, hit the steam room or sauna to unwind or enjoy a relaxing massage. These are classed as extras, so you will have to pay a reasonable few hundred rupees to use each facility.

The restaurant buffet was good as there was a variety of Western and Indian food to choose from, both at breakfast and dinner. Chefs will cook to order, egg dishes in the morning and pasta dishes at night. The display carved fruit and vegetables were impressive as were the animals made from bread.

What ruined our two nights was checking out. Accusing my eleven year nephew of ordering beers, wines and spirits to the tune of 4000 rupees when we hadn’t even checked in was ridiculous. The front desk not having the common sense to see this was beyond belief. I’d never stay in this or any Howard Park Hotel again.

  • Liked — Steam room
  • Disliked — Checking out at front desk
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Best part was the spa.
i had a great Ayurvedic massage in a beautiful room with soothing lights and music. Best massage I had in India.
The ubiquitous Rajasthani puppeteers in the lobby were great. They are not officially affiliated with the hotel (or so they told me), and I know these puppet guys can get a little tiresome after the novelty wears off after seeing them in hotel after hotel, but these two guys were hilarious.

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of tour of India.
The hotel itself is a little dated. Dark hallways.
Room was satisfactory.
Overlooks a school courtyard which I thought was interesting.
I thought the food in the restaurant was good.
Bar was a little dark and uninviting.
Pool area was basic, but acceptable. There was a monkey chained to one side of the pool area, which I thought was cruel to say the least. Be careful where you sit lest he urinates on you...

The place isn't the greatest hotel around, but I would stay again.

  • Liked — The Spa
  • Disliked — The dark hallways
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

wow. nice hotel at a good price. i think for the locational advantage, this is one of the better places in agra. the staff are nice but could do with a little more polish.service is great. they came to know of my birthday and immidietly sent a nice cake-complimentary. with thoughtfulness like this most other shortcomings can be ignored. but parking is an issue as only night parking is permitted. but overall fair value for money.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

After reading some of the negative remarks about Howard Park Plaza we were a bit worried even though we booked it as it was close to many of the tourist attractions including the Taj Mahal.

Not only did all the accusations proved wrong but it turned out to be one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. To start with, the tariffs were very affordable and as we figured during our stay there, absolute value for money.

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive.

We were given a room straightaway, without even 5 minutes delay, even though we had arrived 3 hours earlier than the check-in time which is 12 noon. The room was crisp and clean. The bathroom was absolutely clean too and there was 24hours hot water supply.

Room service was prompt and the staff wonderful. There is a good view of the Taj Mahal from the terrace when there is no fog.

The Terrace grill restaurant serves excellent food. The breakfast buffet which is included in the package has a whole variety of food from all over the world. As a South Indian, I would suggest that anyone who stays there should try their South Indian breakfast options from the buffet (especially the dosa and chutney). Such tasty South Indian food is very rare in North India.

Our three days of stay there has left us longing for more. But as there is no point in going back to the same place again we have decided that wherever we go Sarovar group of hotels, (the one which Howard Park Plaza belongs to) will be our first choice of stay.

After three days of stay there we have nothing to complain about but we are awed by the wonderful service they provide.

If we happen to go to Agra again we would not even consider any hotel other than this. Do check out the snaps we have uploaded for a better idea of the place.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing and nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Hotel has a very appealing lobby. Staff look the part but are not very effecient - it took them 10 minutes to find our reservation even though we had the voucher & an Indian driver who tried to help out.

The rooms were OK - on the surface looked like a 3* chain hotel in US or Europe but the finish wasn't there. Our room was at the back of the hotel & there was a constant annoying hum from the generator out back. The sheets were clean & we had hot water at peak times (ie early morning & late afternoon/early evening) but it seemed haphazard at other times.

There is a view of the Taj from the Roof - just if the smog isn't too bad. It's easy to reach the Taj & there are lots of shops & banks across the road from the hotel.

The buffet breakfast was good & the bar OK although service is very slow when busy.
The shop is to be avoided - its not fixed price & the prices seemed very high. Needless to say we didn't buy anything.

  • Liked — Proximity to Taj
  • Disliked — Noise from generator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Plaza Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Plaza Agra 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Plaza Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Plaza Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.