We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Plaza Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Plaza Agra to your Saves list
Howard Plaza Agra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Trying too hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The lobby was gorgeous, and the rooms were nice and clean. The staff were very friendly but had obviously been trained to ask the staff about their stay in attempt to make sure they were happy, but it was a bit much - although they were nice you couldn't walk down the corridor without answering about five questions from a few different members of staff! The waiting staff upstairs were also a little over-eager - it's nice to be taken care of but it's also nice to have some privacy and enjoy your meal. The food was excellent however, and it was nice to eat outside though there were a lot of mosquitoes. Also, when you're paying that much for a room you would expect wifi would be included, but instead it is charged at high rates and still not a very good connection. Good access to the Taj Mahal, but not very much around the hotel for the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    278
    172
    72
    41
See reviews for
180
241
46
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was put in a room that was under construction, covered in construction dust, feces in the bathroom. The Manager would not give me another room & it took over an hour to get the room clean enough to be in. After 3 hours, the room was filled with toxic fumes that had me running for my life. Staff would not get my stuff out of the room & promised it was aired & OK. I went in to get my things which triggered an asthma attack. I spent the night in the lobby as the staff would not give me another room or put me in a habitable hotel which any decent staff would have done.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I went to India last August and the Hotel Lobby was under renovation.Hotel is near Taj Mahal . Good Breakfast with large selection. But when i ordered champagne there was a staple wire in it , it was disgusting..but things like that happen sometimes. Hotel doesnt have free wifi. Staff members are accomodating.

Room Tip: Should get a room on Higher floors coz less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is currently under remodel so there is some noise and odors but it is a very good hotel. Since is it recently remodeled the rooms are perfect. Very comfortable beds, beautiful finishes, an attentive staff and even good for some gift shop shopping. I found some of the most interesting scarfs here that I had not found any place else in India. When this remodel is complete, this is absolutely a 5 star hotel. The spa is good....very oily Indian massage and my friends did the facial that was "to die for".

Room Tip: During the remodel ask for rooms on the other side...away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed two nights in October 2012. In parts of the hotel there were still renovation works going on, but we didn't hear anything of that in our room. And although the hotel is located at a big four-lane road, the room was quiet and we had a good rest.
And best is: You can walk to the Eastern Gate through a nice and quiet residential area, just 10 minutes walk and you enter the Taj Mahal.
The breakfast was very good, very wide variety and even low-carb options. Very recommendable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel had obviously been a beauty in the past, but years of neglect has taken its toll. Carpets are worn, frayed and lifting, doors are delaminating and walls are cracked and stained. These are little things, but show no pride in ownership.

The staff are first-rate, the breakfast is adequate (large selection of typical hotel quality) and the rooms are large and well furnished, but the run-down condition just gives the place a rather depressing feel.

They are indeed close to the Taj Mahal, but not close enough to walk, so no distinct advantage there. While this place would be fine in a pinch, I would not recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my 4th stay at this Hotel (27-Oct-12). What I observed during the course of stay is the wonderful hospitality and excellent quality of service.

Food was good, room was properly maintained, near to Taj Mahal and staff members were polite and hospitable.

I would wish to stay at this hotel every time I visit Agra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Plaza Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Plaza Agra 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Plaza Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Plaza Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.