We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious brand with services par excellence!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel, Agra to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Agra
1 review
“A luxurious brand with services par excellence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We chose to stay at the Gateway hotel primarily for the great view it offers of the Taj Mahal and for the brand that is synonymous with luxury. Right from the moment we entered, the efficient and friendly staff took over and ensured that every aspect of our stay was made as comfortable and as convenient as possible. The kids had a blast and enjoyed all the recreational facilities with gusto. They especially took a liking to the Guest Relationship Manager - Tanya Rathore who spared no effort to ensure that the stay was a memorable one. She also made special arrangements for us to celebrate our marriage anniversary in style during the stay. On the whole a truly memorable and happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team and especially to Tanya , for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

My team was excited to learn about your feedback and do come back and stay with us again on your next trip to Agra.
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Warm regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    492
    237
    43
    19
See reviews for
315
474
60
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are looking for great hospitality and a bit of pampering and a superb view of Taj this is the place. Traveled with wife in June 2014. Check in was brisk along with welcome drink and traditional Aarthi and tilak. They upgraded our booking to a room with magnificent view of Taj Mahal.
The ambiance is clean and well maintained.
The staffs, staring from the doormen, the bellmen to the Chef and the Manager were really good - they care for their visitors. We are vegetarians, and the all food we tried were excellent.

Certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Agra

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience with us in our restaurant was excellent. The Front Office team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Warm Regards

Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very homely stay,warm staff, good food. Fantastic place to stay in agra !great food and nice ambience.Must visit once with family.Recommended superior Taj facing rooms for anytime view.Hotel staff is very courteous and forthcoming...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After the initial hiccup with our room, thanks to a misunderstanding between two Taj group of hotels, we were put up in a transit room with pool view rather than the Taj view we asked for. After 5 hours of 'resting' in the room, we were moved to our room on the fourth floor which had great views of the Taj Mahal. The property is old and needs a lot of care. Maintaining it as a modern hotel, requires effort. Room was spacious and our family of three managed fine during our stay in June(8-10). In room dining was below average. Saqui bar which doubles up as a lobby bar is good. GAD, the restaurant served reasonable breakfast and their overall food standard and quality was good.
Overall Staff was pleasant and always willing to help. Reception staff and the assistant front office manager will do well if they apologise for goof ups instead of making us feel they are doing us a favour. It does not work with seasoned travellers. Still I would rate it good because of the Taj Mahal view. The flip side is the constant honking of vehicles which compromises quality sleep. Unfortunately honking pointlessly is a favourite hobby of 90% drivers in India.
Another solid tip is ... Visit Taj at sunrise. You can beat all crowds, irritating touts and probably be among the first 10 or so. The hotel organizes tickets for Taj Mahal and Agra fort and you could be chomping on bananas for breakfast before 10am after visiting the sites.
Good parking facilities.
Fruits, muffins and breads were packed since we checked out early. Check out was smooth.

Room Tip: Visit Taj ten minutes before sunrise. Hotel arranges tickets, organises transport( paid) etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

I am sorry that you had to face issues with the check-in. We should have handled this better . I have already briefed the team on this and has informed them of what we could have done better. Thank you for letting us know.


I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

the service oferred is amazing the ambience is excellent staff is also very friendly and the best part is the food lavish spread and you will enjoy each and every moment spent there as we entered the hotel we wer welcomed with a warm gesture and a drink!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. This assures us of the fact that the little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests.
It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary at the Gateway Hotel - Call it luck or the amazing service offered by the hotel, we have never been pampered so much at any other Hotel we have stayed at. One of the most friendly staff, and personalized services ensured we had a memorable stay. The Spa was excellent, and so was the suite we stayed at. In the middle of choas in the city, this is a great zone to relax and get pampered.

Definitely, a recommended place to stay if you are looking for a decently priced location in the over commercialized city.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the right inputs from the staff - and don't get carried away by autos or store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. we are happy to note your positive observations regarding our newly launched Mobile app
It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed with my friends few days back in this hotel for a night only. The hotel is very centrally located in Agra but it is very easy to get lost in Agra with almost no road sign except for the hotel signs.The hotel suggested to use their iPhone app which has offline map so coming out of Agra and navigating within Agra became quite easy. We also did some shopping based on some of the shop recommendations the app made. Overall the hotel is great with nice and pleasant interiors and helpful staff.Their active breakfast is worth a try too.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to book room at level 4 or 5 with road facing so that you get a great view of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Agra.

The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read your compliments on our coffee shop.

It is also a pleasure to note your appreciation of the new mobile application which has been recently introduced.

It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#6 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.