We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel located near Tha Taj Mahal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel, Agra to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel located near Tha Taj Mahal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in the last week of April 14. From the outset, the hotel built a good impression. The ambiance was good and staff was very polite and co-operative. I had requested for two adjoining rooms which the hotel did provide. The room and bathroom were slightly smaller than my expectation but that did not bother me too much. The breakfast was included in my fare and it was quite lavish with a large variety of standard breakfast items available. The waiters did take very good care of us. The pool was clean and not too deep and we did enjoy there with the kids. The only thing I felt was that the room prices are a little on the higher side. I would recommend people to book well in advance to get better deals or otherwise the online price is same as when you get for an on the spot booking. Best deal would be Rs 4.5 K for a 2 seater room including breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.
It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    440
    220
    37
    16
See reviews for
286
425
55
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A free upgrade upon arrival to overlook the Taj Mahal was very welcome!
Staff were vert helpful and friendly throughout.
Our room (apart from the view) was comfortable and a good size. Along with the Taj, we could also watch the comings and goings on the street below - very interesting!

We enjoyed a couple of beers on the roof terrace watching the sun set over the Taj and listening to traditional music - highly recommended.

Dinner in the Indian restaurant was a delight. The thali is one of its specialities - and for good reason! Delicious and plentiful too. As was the breakfast, with a good range of Indian, European and American options.

Good location too- not far from the entrance to the Taj Mahal, but beware of street-hawkers and pick-pockets even on such a short stretch. The hotel will find you a taxi!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Gateway - great service and great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Gateway in early April for 2 nights. The room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was also very nice. Food was very good and service excellent. Breakfast was very good too although not as much European choice as other places. Overall a very pleasant stay for a couple of nights during our Golden Triangle tour. Some lovely sights of Taj Mahal can be seen from the rooftop viewing area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.
I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for two days (25-27th April 2014). Special mention for the prompt & responsive staff: Tanya, Gaurav, Madan, Sunil, Mr Chopra, Chef Vikram, Sr Chef Anupam Banerjee. On request, I was allowed to accompany CHEF in the kitchen, and made Thai Curry. They have some healthy unique signature recipes worth trying. Sky deck view of Taj from the hotel terrace is icing on the cake.

Kudos to Taj hospitality and staff. It was one of the best experiences.

Plan my next trip soon!

Room Tip: Go for the TAJ VIEW room on the fifth floor. These quiet and with a full agra view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team and especially to the kitchen team , for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to know that the team at The Gateway Agra was able to personalize your service experience and help you in time of need. We wish you a healthy year ahead

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel on your next visit .

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed there for 1 night in Apr 14. Its's a nice hotel with great lawn and an average pool. Dinner in coffee shop was not so great but the splendid breakfast breakfast menu did the trick. Service of Hotel staff is nice as expected from a reputed 5 star hotel. However, not all pool facing rooms are actually pool facing...trick is to take room at higher floor...the ones on forst 2-3 floors are hardly poll view.

Room Tip: Take a pool view room instead of Taj view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.
We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

I have taken your feedback regarding The dinner being average and have shared the feedback with the kitchen team . The positive feedback about the breakfast and service has also been discussed with the GAD team.

It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the easter weekend (18-20 Apr 2014). Its a nice cosy hotel providing right amenties at appropriate price. We took the Taj view executive room, view was good but the bed was small. I suggest a king size bed should be there. Food was fantastic & chef provided personal attention to the details. Staff was courteous & always helping. Garden & pool though small but good enough for evening strolls & enjoyment. We recommend stay at Gateway Hotel which is a nice property to stay in Agra.

Room Tip: Take the room at top floors to avoid road side traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.
I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had looked through the reviews prior to the booking so was right in line with what I expected.

It was a clean hotel and with marble floors. The bathroom decor as noted by one reviewer was a bit dated but not really any issue. Surprised to see physical keys for the door.

We arrived late and ate in the 24 hour restaurant that had a decent India buffet and include a pasta bar that was very good. Breakfast also buffet and eggs to order.

There is a view of the Taj Mahl on the street side, but it is not lit at night so really not visible. During the day it is visible but you do have to look far out to see it. Not quite what I had imagined, but it was there. Otherwise the street view is typical India...

Booked via their website and ended up with a non-refundable rate when was really looking for a refundable - would have done one of the major sites if doing non-refundable. Was not clear when booking and then was all of sudden committed.

No issues with registration or checkout.

Generally overall very satisfied. Not one of the 5 stars in Delhi but fine for an Agra visit.

Room Tip: Can see the Taj Mahal from the upper floors but is in the distance and not visible at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#6 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.