We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel, Agra to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and 6 months old baby. We had booked a Taj view room . We asked for early check in and it was quite smooth. They gave us twin queen bed keeping in mind we have a small baby and that was excellent. View of Taj is quite good from hotel. We went there for celebrating my birthday and they offered complimentary cake to us. Chef personally came and asked for baby food for my baby and trust me, it was just like a home made food for her. My sincere thanks for that.
Service was quite good. However, bathrooms are clean but not good. These needs to be renovated as some bathrooms in this hotel are done. Food is quite expensive but not up to that mark. It needs to be improved a lot.
We did an early check-out at 5 o clock and our breakfast box was packed at that time so that we can have breakfast on the way.
Overall nice service and smiles on face but food needs to be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services especially the efforts taken by chef to prepare food for your child and the room prefrence has been shared with the Kitchen and front office team .
I have also noted down about your feedback about t rennovating our toilets and would like to share with you that thesame is already under process and would be completed by mid of next year.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    439
    219
    37
    16
See reviews for
285
424
55
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A very warm welcome and a service to its clients always from its hearts there is no compromise in service rooms have a heritage charm we stayed in a suit and it was lovely with the view to the taj from the room. The swimming pool is nice . Food needs some improvement .

Room Tip: Choose the taj view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services and room has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

With regards to your feedback about the food, I have taken up the matter with the Kitchen team and have instructed the executive chef to personally check all the food items which are served to the guests . I would likme to assure you that you will definitely love the food on your next visit

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 23rd of September & the experience was not up to the high standards that one can expect from the Taj group. I had done a reservation for 2 superior rooms & was informed by the person at the taj reservations that both the rooms had a double bed with a bath tub.However on our arrival at the hotel when we were shown to our rooms I was shocked to see that both the rooms had twin beds & no bath tubs.
After a few calls to the front office desk we were upgraded to the executive rooms which had bath tubs but no double beds & they had housekeeping join the 2 beds.Since we had an infant with us it was very uncomfortable as there was a gap between the 2 beds.Also the AC in room 514 was not working & I had to wake up sweating early in the morning to call the front desk & have them send someone to have it checked, which in spite of his efforts had no improvement in the cooling.
My experience at this hotel has been terrible except for some exceptional service at the front desk by Chandini who tried her best to make our stay comfortable & Chopra at the restaurant who was very good.
Except for an excellent view of the Taj Mahal this hotel doesn’t have anything else to offer & I would definitely not want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor(executive rooms) have an excellent view of the Taj ahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra!

This has reference to your feedback pertaining to our services.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces.

Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to inconsistent delivery of services. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you in regard to the reservation services and comfort of air conditioner. I have taken the matter very seriously with the hotel team and concerned departmental heads and have initiated corrective action.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. We have noted your comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and ensure that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Agra is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I would also like to reassure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously.


Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road,
Taj Ganj, Agra 282001 - India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great memorable holiday. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and the hotel ensured that we took home some great memories. The rooms facing the pool are modern, while the rooms facing the Taj Mahal have the heritage charm. Food was brilliant, kebabs were the best. The half day sightseeing was excellent. A must stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Vishal,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra.

At the outset would like to thank you for your feedback about the hotel and services and would certainly share this with my team.
Your kind words of appreciation would only help motivate my team in performing better.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road,
Taj Ganj, Agra 282001 - India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We came to the hotel just for one night and left really early in the morning to go to the Taj Mahal (the hotel is close - about 10-8 min drive) - with that the staff of the hotel was extremely nice, we had some internet problems that was resolved right away by the IT staff. The food in the hotel is very expensive and overrated- but in what hotel it's not ?! Enjoy .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Ms. Reut,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra.

At the outset would like to thank you for your feedback about the hotel and services and would certainly share this with my team.
Your kind words of appreciation would only help motivate my team in performing better.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road,
Taj Ganj, Agra 282001 - India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived by private driver, our car was stopped and security checked on the way in. Then our bags were taken for further security checks - we were not too happy with this as we did not like to leave our bags out of our sight, we were backpacking and had splashed out for the final leg of our trip so were very unused to this kind of treatment! We received a really warm welcome and cool drink. We were then shown to our room where we had our first view of the Taj. Our bags appeared and we began to relax. From there everything was amazing. The room was huge and perfect, the food was heavenly, the service was unlike any we ever had, very impressive hotel. Thumps up from us. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the food and beverage team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The best hotel care during our 2 week stay in India, was from Mr. Gaurav Kumar of The Gateway Hotel Agra. The service did not end there. We had some superstar service by staff at the continental restaurant. Everything was done to see that the guests were happy, so much so that any shortcomings are easily forgotten. Our rooms overlooked the Taj Mahal. Sunrise was also spectacular. Highly remcommend this hotel for service and location.

There are balloon rides over Agra offered by this hotel, at sunset and sunrise. Our hectic pre planned schedule could not fit this into our itinerary.

Room Tip: Worthwhile getting a room overlooking the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the food and beverage team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#6 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Spa Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.