We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with the best Taj Mahal view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel, Agra to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Room with the best Taj Mahal view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When one comes to Agra, there is only one purpose - to visit the Taj Mahal, what else.

When you don't have the time to walk around the Taj Mahal, then stay here. Make sure you get the room with the best Taj Mahal view.

There you are, killing 2 birds with one stone - no time and want to see it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra

We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the food and beverage team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    439
    220
    37
    16
See reviews for
286
424
55
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December 2012. The hotel is giant! The lobby is beautiful and very big, it's full of lights and objects and things that make it luxurious, from the outside shows a beautiful color, a white similar to that of the Taj Mahal. Our room was very large and the window overlooked the garden and pool. The garden is full of palm trees and the pool is fairly large. There is a path that passes through the flowers and plants in the garden from which, at night, comes a mist and creates an atmosphere similar to that of cartoons!
You eat very well, we had a dinner at the restaurant buffet which was very full of food! From meals to fruit, from sweets to ice cream. The breakfast is plentiful and the rooms are fairly large, such as the bathroom. I am Italian and I found this hotel like a hotel with five or six stars Italian.
The staff is very courteous and helpful, and during the night are isolated all the noise and you sleep very well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.

We would further like to add that we have further upgraded the public areas in order to further enhance the overall experience about the hotel

We would also like to inform you that your kind words of appreciation has been shared with the entire hotel staff team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If travel in India worries you or you have been on the cheap and need to recharge stay at the Taj. The food and services are always great. There are plenty of hotels closer but the Taj is rigjt on the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the food and beverage team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am frequent visitor of this hotel and when I entered 1st time I started visiting again and again and this is my preferred hotel in Agra.
There are two types of Room 1 is Taj View, from there you can have your bed tea and evening coffee with incredible view of Taj Mahal and another one is Pool and Garden view, from there you can have a green view.

Room Tip: There are two types of Room 1 is Taj View, from there you can have your bed tea and evening coffee w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback and continous support to our hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.we are also coming up with some additional services for our regular guests and would update you about the same in the near future

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed twice and had a great experience both times. The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff - they're fantastic- in true Taj tradition (Gateway is part of the Taj group). The lobby is beautiful and the Indian restaurant is outstanding. The all-day dining restaurant is ok. The only thing that leaves a little to be desired are the rooms which are a bit tired looking. We didn't mind much though because everything worked perfectly and we even had a view of the Taj Mahal in the distance from our room. If you get a chance, have your fortune told by the fortune teller in the lobby. First check to be sure that he is the real one. Two gentlemen switch off and on: one is authentic and phenomenal and the other one is a phoney and isn't any good at all.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mam,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would also like to inform you that we are undertaking refurbishment of rooms in order to upgrade them.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team, especially the specialty restaurant team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my second trip to Gateway Taj,,,,and as always the hotel was too good...
Be it Helpdesk, Reception, housekeeping, Room Service, F& B , Pool assistant, Bar assistant all welcome you so nicely and are so caring that you can't even think to moving to another place ......
Want to thanks Mr Faizal ( kichen) , Mr Chopra & Mr Satwant ( Coffee Shop ), Ms Ankita , Ms Chandni , Mr Ali from Reception, Mr Murthy & Mr zahid from housekeeping & At last the great to guys Mr Amitava & Mr Vikram ......( Also cannot forget Mr Amit from Sales team for offering a good deal)
Thanks for making my stay a memorable one once again....

Room Tip: All Categories are good to stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
Faizal , Madan Chopra , Satwant from F & B Service, Ankita , Chandni , Ali, Ram Murthy, zahid & Vikram have been specially recognized by me for a wonderful experience provided to you at Jhankar during your stay

I have also asked mit to update you with future promotions for your future visits

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A superb destination.. everything from the ambience to food to hospitality to service was outstanding- As usual following THE TAJ LEGACY!! It was my dad's birthday and They made it so special for him that he felt like home away from home.. speacial thanks to the chauffer for making sure that we enjoy the travel jn agra...please share the feedback with the chauffer....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
I have shared your feedback with the chauffer and he has been appreciated for his agility and knowledge. We look forward to welcome you on your birthday and promise to make it a memorable one.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#6 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Spa Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.