We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansingh Palace, Agra

Save Saved
You added Mansingh Palace, Agra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mansingh Palace, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181/2 Fatehabad road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 107 hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is one of the few older ones standing.The size of the place is impressive but location compromised as it in the city area close to the Bazaar and the views not ver 4 starish.But the hospitality is quite Rajasthani as the chain belongs to that part and they have similar hotels in Jaipur and Ajmer.So you will feel a distinct Rajasthan style welcome and touch even when you are not in the state.Food could be better.But like I said they are one of the older ones and if you have the heritage and similar likings this place can fill your plate!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nand Kumar A, Manager at Mansingh Palace, Agra, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for reviewing Mansingh Palace, Agra.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in Hotel Mansingh Jaipur and Mansingh Palace Ajmer

Regards
Management Team
Mansingh Palace Agra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    141
    107
    49
    19
See reviews for
95
117
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was SO difficult to decide where to stay in Agra! Everything seemed overpriced and dull. Finally I chose the Mansingh Palace and was pleasantly surprised. Two outstanding features - the breakfast buffet is fabulous with many choices including tasty Indian dishes and freshly- made omelettes. Also my room was well heated in contrast to most chilly hotels in India in December. In addition, the room and bathroom were atmospheric with beautiful marble floors and stylish furnishings. My only complaint - Agra is a city of hustlers and I was expecting to escape this hard-sell atmosphere when I arrived at the hotel. So it was quite unfortunate that the hotel manager tried to sell me on a vastly overpriced car and driver shortly after I arrived. Otherwise, I had a good stay and recommend the Mansingh Palace.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel smells. From the moment we stepped out of the bus it was obvious, and it was still obvious inside the foyer. And it’s still there in our room. Drains. OK, I know that's a bad way to start, and to give them their due the smell was gone the next morning. But....
Compared to our hotel in Delhi, this just doesn’t cut it. It looks nice enough, and the rooms are spacious and well furnished – they look Indian. But the beds are rock hard, the fridge is cool, not cold, and for us Australians, who chose this hotel because unlike many in India it has a bar – the bar was closed. We were looking forward to a convivial evening (four of us are travelling) and we rock up to find that in honour of someone they’ve closed the bar. Which means no alcohol for room service or in the restaurants either. We also had to pay for the internet, which we haven’t had to pay for anywhere else in India. India is losing tourists because of recent assaults against women, but from our point of view we’d never come back to Agra because they are only interested in the tourist dollar, not the tourist.
Incidentally, inside the not very cold fridge were two small orange drinks. And the tea and coffee selection was appalling. Two lemon teas, an Earl Grey and one real tea. Creamer. What’s the problem in a country full of cows with providing a small jug of real milk in the fridge?
And no hot water when we got up at 5 for our journey to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in Mansingh Palace for 2 nights. The hotel probably has been a luxury hotel years ago, but today it needs restoration and the staff needs training. But still it is okay to stay there.
Our room (a standard room) was rather dark with a dull view but it was spacious and quite clean. If possible go for a room with a swimming pool view.
We liked the swimming pool area though the service there was poor. We had to wait for a long time to order and receive a sandwich.
We didn’t have dinner at the hotel, we didn’t trust it to be good after having tasted breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to see the Taj Mahal, to which this hotel is close to.
The lobby is very spacious, I think to accommodate the large number of tour groups that appear to stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable, with a view to the Taj Mahal - that was a surprise, good bathroom with a great shower. However, the room was looking a bit tired and in need of some renovations.
After viewing the Taj Mahal at sunrise, we went to the breakfast area. Unfortunately, we arrived back at the hotel at the same time as a large tour group, which descended on the breakfast buffet like a plague of locusts. Alot of pressure was put on the staff and it showed. There was a large line for "To Order" eggs, but there was a small selection of Indian and Western dishes available if you didn't want to wait. Unfortunately, the sausages on the day were not cooked, in fact closer to raw than cooked, and the pastries were hard and stale. When this was mentioned in a questionnaire, that the maitre d asked us to complete, he brought the person responsible to our table to address the issues. Hopefully, they resolved them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel was the 'tongue tingling sauce' that came on nearly everything on the menu (I didn't get any of it, just loved the name).

The staff don't seem to care about any of my problems like the Internet being down after I paid for it (i.e. told me they would call when it was back up and I never got a call, just tried an hour later. I wasn't too surprised since the guy did not seem to be listening when I was talking to him) and when I bought postcard stamps and got overcharged because the shop (inside the hotel) did not have change (I was told they would bring me my change during breakfast but I never saw anyone and just bought another stamp to balance it out)

Internet more expensive than advertised because of taxes (thus it was more expensive than everywhere else I stayed).

Oh and dogs barked all night. And I heard the staff talking in the hallway at 3am because I was across from the closet.

Breakfast was all cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After travelling by road from elsewhere in India, it is a relief to arrive at this nice hotel. The foyer is lovely - adorned with beautiful examples of the marble inlay work famous in this area. The foyer is spacious, with free (but intermittent) wifi. There are shops around the foyer, which are mostly quite good with reasonable prices. The rooms are nice, but don't expect perfect plumbing or all operational electicity sockets - ss with most hotels in India, there are issues with their infrastructure. The gym is awful - antequated equipment that's not really good enough for home gym use, worn out and not recently (if ever) maintained. The restaurant is good - buffet with a good selection. Rooms are clean, safe and the service is very good. Bathrooms are nice (but the light switches are confusing, to say the least) and the shower is good with plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansingh Palace, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansingh Palace, Agra

Address: 181/2 Fatehabad road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansingh Palace, Agra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansingh Palace, Agra is a five star property ideally located to suit the needs of travellers whether on leisure or business.100 centrally air-conditioned rooms with telephone, swimming pool, spa, health club, CTV, Laundry and dry cleaning services, secretarial, fax & e-mail services, Beauty Parlour, Safe deposit, Tea Coffee maker, hair dryer, doctor on call, travel Desk, 24 hour money exchange, WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mansingh Palace, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansingh Palace, Agra Hotel Agra
Mansingh Palace Hotel Agra
Agra Mansingh Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansingh Palace, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.