We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable! You have to stay here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Amarvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Amarvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unbelievable! You have to stay here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is amazing. This could be the end of my review!

What can I say? Where do I start? Check in was seamless. We were led to the lounge to check in with a cold drink in front of the Taj Mahal. We had a premier room with balcony. It was simply amazing. I cried when I got to the room. The room was lovely - but the balcony with a view of the Taj was simply breathtaking. The beautiful pool and gardens were also part of our view.

We had lunch in the restaurant which was nice. My husband didn't get exactly what he asked for but this was no big deal.

We swam in the pool after a long visit to the Taj and can reccomend the pool. We then opted for a private balcony dinner. Saurav served it to us and he was simply outstanding! He gave just thr right level of service, not intrusive but very friendly. We learned that he was on the hotels graduate programme and hoped to be a general manager soon. I can safely say he will make it as he was outstanding. Dinner on the balcony was AMAZING! The food was fantastic and the setting and the way the hotel laid it out was perfect.

The next day at breakfast Saurav searched us out and gave us some more incredible service. We actually felt like royalty while positioned next to one of the worlds most beautiful landmarks, and i'm not really sure you can ask for much more than that from a hotel...

Oh and although the wifi was not included in our package, the hotel waived this fee (presumably because they knew I wanted to take so many photos of the beautiful Taj and post them to my social media :-))

So once again...you have to stay here!!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony - worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    259
    71
    16
    12
See reviews for
362
1,016
86
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only stayed in the hotel for one night but wished we could of stayed of longer. The hotel is absolutely breathtaking. The gardens are beautiful, the decor is fabulous and the view from our bedroom was everything we visited Agra for.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble from the welcome right through to checking out.
We had dinner in the Indian speciality restaurant and the food was perfect as was the local music played whilst we were eating.
In the morning we took a sunrise tour of the Taj Mahal and the hotel provided coffee and cake on the way out. On our return we had a wonderful breakfast that was truely delicious.
Thank you for giving us such a memorable stay. We hope to visit again one day.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Oberoi Amarvilas offers beautiful views of the Taj Mahal from guest rooms and public areas, while our picturesque gardens and pool area add to the appeal of the hotel.

We have two restaurants Bellevue our all day dinning restaurant and Esphahan our Indian specialty restaurant which operates only for dinner and I am pleased that you enjoyed you meals.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we welcome you back to stay with us for a longer period in the not so distant future.

Best wishes,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the only place to stay when visiting the Taj Mahal, if your budget allows. The hotel is truly world-leading with clever design ensuring all rooms offer a view of the Taj Mahal. There is 30 minutes free wifi per day and buying more wifi is easy. The swimming pool is gorgeous and a great place to relax after a day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed different aspects of the hotel during your stay with us.

The hotel is situated at about 600 meters from the Taj Mahal and the proximity allows uninterrupted views of the monument all our rooms and most of the public areas.

The picturesque gardens and heated swimming pool during winter adds to the appeal of the hotel while the serenity soothes the mind.

Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays with family are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Warm regards,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I teach customer service to hotel staff, and can honestly say that this is the single best experience I have ever seen. The GM meets every guest personally with great interest and warmth. The staff are engaging and thoughtful and empowered to individualize their service for each guest. Absolutely brilliant. This is the experience of a life time. They got it 100% right.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed different aspects of the hotel during your stay with us.

Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays are truly special and we endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Warm regards,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranthambore National Park, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went there booking a inter connected room. However they provided us with a separate room but they were very helpful to cooperate and provide us an interconnected room. We booked with the summer offer so got breakfast and dinner included which was lovely and absolutely delicious. The staff could not be helpful enough they provide you with a forecast everyday so you can plan your trip accordingly. The view of taj mahal from the balcony was spectacular. We were worried about going to taj mahal in such a heat but with the hotel guide and there paper made shoes it made it easy. Since we were supposed to open our shoes at taj mahal they provided us with paper-plastic kind of thing to wear on the foot so that they dont burn up with the floor. It was an amazing trip the hotel couldnot have done better.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read your generous praise of the hotel and to learn that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Taj Mahal and the cuisine exceeded your expectations. The hotel offers uninterrupted views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully landscaped gardens from the lobby and the rooms.

The summer months do get quite hot with the temperature going up to 45 to 48 degrees in the extreme summers. We have disposable shoe covers and bottled water for your trip to the Taj Mahal available with our compliments as a small gesture of convenience.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us in not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent two weeks touring Rajasthan, almost exclusively staying in Oberoi Hotels. Friends recommended that we only stay one night in Agra, so we followed their advice. As a result, we did not have a chance to relax by the pool or take a walk around the grounds. We arrived at three in the afternoon and left after breakfast. We spent the sunset at the Taj and sunrise the next morning at the Taj. We had originally booked a dinner on our balcony, but realized that the Taj is not lit at night and there were mosquitoes during that time of year, so our balcony was unused. Upon checking in, the manager informed us that they were fully booked, and it felt that way. We did not feel that we were getting any personal service, but we didn't mind because our stay was so short. That said, I would stay at the Amarvilas again if we return for another visit the Taj Mahal. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful, and I would highly recommend this hotel to friends looking for a place to stay in Agra. Oh, and one more thing.... the complimentary golf cart rides to and from the Taj Entrance are very convenient.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a balcony room. The Taj is not lit at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with. The Taj Mahal is located at about 600 meters from the hotel and all our rooms and most of the public areas have a view of the monument.

Unfortunately this is the season for mosquitoes and I wish to assure you that we are pursuing daily routines to deter them from the building. I appreciate your observations and please accept my apologies for any discomfort you were caused. I am also concerned of your comment referring to the personal service, it is of utmost importance to us to make each and every guest of ours feel special and have a memorable stay with us, I am sorry that we fell short in exceeding your expectation in this aspect and please be assured that the teams have been spoken too.

We have a complimentary golf cart service for our guests to and from the Taj Mahal ensuring the monument is minutes away from the hotel.

Thank you for your detailed comment and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Its hard to describe the feeling of waking up and pulling back the curtains to see the Taj Mahal! The balcony I think is an extra on the room but definitely worth it, its a treat to sit in the afternoon sun with a cold drink in the warm air. Service was exceptional, and breakfast in particular was good with excellent food and staff keen to find you the perfect items to start your day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed waking up to the Taj Mahal along with drinks on your balcony with a back drop of the monument. The hotel offers magnificent views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully manicured gardens from all the rooms and most of the public areas. It is a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays with family are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests. I am glad that they were able to make you feel special during their stay.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Warm regards,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Amarvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.