We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with the best view..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Amarvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Amarvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Offer - Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Agra
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel with the best view..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently were blessed with a stunning stay here. Our room view was gorgeous. We were thrilled with our balcony to take in the sight of the Taj Mahal as well as the gardens and stunning pool area. The hotel staff were excellent and friendly, food was good at both restaurants without being top drawer, but tasty. The gym was well equipped and in good order. The Taj stole the show, but this hotel is the best in Agra, the pool area really is fab and a few guests mentioned how they didn't know how good it was before arrival and were happy to miss lesser sight seeing to relax and take in the hotels hospitality..
Amal

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is my pleasure to read such a wonderful experience of your stay with us. Your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for our team.

The pool is one of the most beautiful areas of the hotel and is a great place to come back and complete your day after a tiring visit to the monuments.

Your feedback is highly valued and helps us stay motivated towards trying to deliver the best service to our guests.

We thank you for your generous comment and hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    223
    66
    15
    12
See reviews for
324
893
76
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our last Oberoi hotel on this holiday. We experienced the same excellent welcome and service here as in our other hotels and the same excellent quality of food and facilities. What gives this hotel the edge is, of course, the location. All rooms, public and private have a view of the breath taking Taj Mahal and no matter how much you look at this magnificent building, it never seems enough. From our room on the 4th floor we had an excellent view.
The main restaurant was good for both breakfast and dinner and staff were very helpful and attentive.
The spa was also very good. You can't beat a relaxing massage with a view of the Taj Mahal.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view of the Taj Mahal,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read of your pleasant experience with us the Oberoi Amarvilas. The hotel is beautifully built in parallel to the magnificent Taj Mahal located at about 600 meters from the hotel. All our rooms provide a view of the monument and the beautifully manicured gardens of the hotel.

We have two restaurants in the hotel one being the all day dinning restaurant Bellevue and the other a fine dinning Indian specialty restaurant Esphahan which only operates for dinner services. The Spa at the hotel is on of a must try to rejuvenate oneself to help create memories for a life time. I will be pleased to share your feedback with the team which will be a great source of motivation for all.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had an amazing view of the Taj Mahal, as I think all rooms do. The hotel staff were very helpful and willing to go out of their way to help. The swimming pool was great and set in very beautiful gardens. Restaurants were very good with great food. Our room was big and lovely.
would recommend a stay here if you plan to visit the Taj as they take you there by golf buggy before all the crowds arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. The swimming pool is one of the many beautiful places of the hotel to come back after a long and tiring day of sight seeing. We have a complimentary golf cart service for our guests to visit the Taj Mahal and it is our endeavor to ensure that your sightseeing needs are well catered to.

It is our trained and guest focused team which is our most valuable asset. I am glad that their dedicated service has made this stay a once in a life time experience for you.

We hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan

ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing room overlooking the Taj Mahal. Pool area is sensational with the most lush gardens. Food in the restaurant was fantastic. Staff unbelievably attentive. Again charge for wifi. At these prices its absurd to charge for a resource already in the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read of your pleasant experience with us the Oberoi Amarvilas. The hotel is beautifully built in parallel to the magnificent Taj Mahal located at about 600 meters from the hotel. All our rooms provide a view of the monument and the beautifully manicured gardens of the hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff the hotel, however I have made a note of you comments regarding us charging for internet access. Please be assured that your feedback will be looked into when this is next reviewed.

We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan

ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on 27 & 28 Feb and visited the Taj and Agra Fort. The hotel is beautifully laid out and has lovely tiered gardens which step down to a swimming pool. We reserved a premium room which was quite spacious, a good bathroom, sitting area and desk. We did have a view of the Taj but could only see about the top 2/3 of the Taj as we were on the second floor, but that was OK. It really is quick to get to the Taj from the hotel, about 5 mins by hotel golf buggy.

On our first night we ate in the Bellevue restaurant and had a very nice dinner with good choice of food and level of service. Getting to sleep was less successful. The 27th Feb is the celebration of Maha Shivratri and there was a temple and arts centre not far away and the celebrations, with singing broadcast over loud speakers, went on all night. Couldn't be helped, but no one at the hotel had warned us. On rummaging in the bedside cabinet we did find some earplugs and managed a couple of hours sleep. By lunchtime the singers had stopped and the second night was blissfully quiet.

Our meal in the Esphahan restaurant was excellent. Dinner here is split into two sittings which we were told were 18.30 and 2100 (The hotel website says 1900 and 21.30). We didn't understand why the restaurant had this arrangement and when we sat down at around 19.00 there were empty tables but people having to wait until 21.00 to eat if they didn't want to eat so early. Surely there could be more flexibility to obtain table reservations around 19.30 and 20.30, it seemed a bit odd.

My wife visited the spa and had an excellent treatment from a very professional therapist in a very well fitted out spa room - with a really good view of the Taj from the 4th floor.

Unfortunately we had unseasonably bad weather on the afternoon of 28th Feb with heavy rain and cold winds and since this was supposed to be an afternoon off for relaxing and being by the pool we were at a loose end. The hotel was very quiet and apart from the spa, not a lot to occupy our time.

Throughout our stay the room, bar and lounge service, was excellent. Service throughout was very efficent and friendly.

Room Tip: Aa all rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal and you don't have to get up very early and visit the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and the cuisine was to your liking in both the restaurants. The hotel has a beautiful Spa which adds to your experience by helping you rejuvenate and relax.

Your kind comments are much appreciated however I have also made a note of your comments regarding the meal timings being flexible in the multicuisine restaurant and the noise due to the festival which has been taken up with the local authorities. The weather this year has been very unpredictable with heavy rain fall in the month of February.

Thank you for your kind comment regarding the service you received and I will be pleased to share the same with the team which will be a source of motivation and will also help on picking up on loose ends.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas in the not so distant future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hook for this hotel is the view of the Taj Mahal and it is a beautiful view. Having said that this was the worst of our 6 Oberoi hotels. It was not terrible but lacked the fantastic world class quality of the other 5.
The room was ok, lovely terrace with tantastic view not just of the Taj but also the beautiful hotel pool and gardens The bed was very hard and the room sound proofing poor. We were unfortunate to have late and very noisy neighbours, however in a 5star property we should not have been able to hear every word.
The staff and service were acceptable, but after Delhi seemed rather perfunctory.
The main restaurant varied from reasonable to poor, we had one breakfast that was a shambles. The fine dinning retaurant we did not visit because we were told sittings only 6.30 or 9.00, neither ideal.
Perhaps we were unlucky, maybe the hotel was very full, but all in all only just better than average.
I review as VG based on a gesture made by the General Manager, who read our in house review, obviously felt we had some real issues, and therefore paid for a dinner at our next stop. This speaks volumes for the Oberoi approach, and makes me feel we were unlucky.

Room Tip: All have Taj view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback on trip advisor.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised in your review and please be assured these matters have been addressed. Your detailed feedback is much appreciated and it is being taken seriously.

We at the Oberoi’s appreciate constructive feedback and put it to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of care and service to our guests.

Once again, I deeply regret your disappointment on this occasion. I do hope that, in time, you will reconsider your decision and allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schıedam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

During our stay in February 2014, we booked a luxury tent on the grounds of the hotel. Upon arrival we were notified of the festivities nearby and probably the noise that it will cause during the night. This understatement caused us to be awake during the entire night and on top of that the matrass was not quite what it should have been for a 5* accomodation.
After our complaint the next monring all problems were solved with a great amount of efficiency and around lunchtime we were in an excellent room in one of the villa's and our stay was made as comfortable by staff and management as anyone could ever desire.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I have forwarded your review to our sister hotel The Oberoi Rajvilas in Jaipur. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced during the first half of your stay, however your feedback will help us constantly monitor our services as we at the Oberoi hotels rely on constructive feedback to make amends and ensure our guests leave with there expectations being exceeded.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you to one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in the Future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Amarvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.