We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with a view of the Taj Mahal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Amarvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Amarvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with a view of the Taj Mahal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on 27 & 28 Feb and visited the Taj and Agra Fort. The hotel is beautifully laid out and has lovely tiered gardens which step down to a swimming pool. We reserved a premium room which was quite spacious, a good bathroom, sitting area and desk. We did have a view of the Taj but could only see about the top 2/3 of the Taj as we were on the second floor, but that was OK. It really is quick to get to the Taj from the hotel, about 5 mins by hotel golf buggy.

On our first night we ate in the Bellevue restaurant and had a very nice dinner with good choice of food and level of service. Getting to sleep was less successful. The 27th Feb is the celebration of Maha Shivratri and there was a temple and arts centre not far away and the celebrations, with singing broadcast over loud speakers, went on all night. Couldn't be helped, but no one at the hotel had warned us. On rummaging in the bedside cabinet we did find some earplugs and managed a couple of hours sleep. By lunchtime the singers had stopped and the second night was blissfully quiet.

Our meal in the Esphahan restaurant was excellent. Dinner here is split into two sittings which we were told were 18.30 and 2100 (The hotel website says 1900 and 21.30). We didn't understand why the restaurant had this arrangement and when we sat down at around 19.00 there were empty tables but people having to wait until 21.00 to eat if they didn't want to eat so early. Surely there could be more flexibility to obtain table reservations around 19.30 and 20.30, it seemed a bit odd.

My wife visited the spa and had an excellent treatment from a very professional therapist in a very well fitted out spa room - with a really good view of the Taj from the 4th floor.

Unfortunately we had unseasonably bad weather on the afternoon of 28th Feb with heavy rain and cold winds and since this was supposed to be an afternoon off for relaxing and being by the pool we were at a loose end. The hotel was very quiet and apart from the spa, not a lot to occupy our time.

Throughout our stay the room, bar and lounge service, was excellent. Service throughout was very efficent and friendly.

Room Tip: Aa all rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal and you don't have to get up very early and visit the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and the cuisine was to your liking in both the restaurants. The hotel has a beautiful Spa which adds to your experience by helping you rejuvenate and relax.

Your kind comments are much appreciated however I have also made a note of your comments regarding the meal timings being flexible in the multicuisine restaurant and the noise due to the festival which has been taken up with the local authorities. The weather this year has been very unpredictable with heavy rain fall in the month of February.

Thank you for your kind comment regarding the service you received and I will be pleased to share the same with the team which will be a source of motivation and will also help on picking up on loose ends.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas in the not so distant future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    259
    71
    16
    12
See reviews for
363
1,019
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hook for this hotel is the view of the Taj Mahal and it is a beautiful view. Having said that this was the worst of our 6 Oberoi hotels. It was not terrible but lacked the fantastic world class quality of the other 5.
The room was ok, lovely terrace with tantastic view not just of the Taj but also the beautiful hotel pool and gardens The bed was very hard and the room sound proofing poor. We were unfortunate to have late and very noisy neighbours, however in a 5star property we should not have been able to hear every word.
The staff and service were acceptable, but after Delhi seemed rather perfunctory.
The main restaurant varied from reasonable to poor, we had one breakfast that was a shambles. The fine dinning retaurant we did not visit because we were told sittings only 6.30 or 9.00, neither ideal.
Perhaps we were unlucky, maybe the hotel was very full, but all in all only just better than average.
I review as VG based on a gesture made by the General Manager, who read our in house review, obviously felt we had some real issues, and therefore paid for a dinner at our next stop. This speaks volumes for the Oberoi approach, and makes me feel we were unlucky.

Room Tip: All have Taj view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback on trip advisor.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised in your review and please be assured these matters have been addressed. Your detailed feedback is much appreciated and it is being taken seriously.

We at the Oberoi’s appreciate constructive feedback and put it to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of care and service to our guests.

Once again, I deeply regret your disappointment on this occasion. I do hope that, in time, you will reconsider your decision and allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schıedam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

During our stay in February 2014, we booked a luxury tent on the grounds of the hotel. Upon arrival we were notified of the festivities nearby and probably the noise that it will cause during the night. This understatement caused us to be awake during the entire night and on top of that the matrass was not quite what it should have been for a 5* accomodation.
After our complaint the next monring all problems were solved with a great amount of efficiency and around lunchtime we were in an excellent room in one of the villa's and our stay was made as comfortable by staff and management as anyone could ever desire.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I have forwarded your review to our sister hotel The Oberoi Rajvilas in Jaipur. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced during the first half of your stay, however your feedback will help us constantly monitor our services as we at the Oberoi hotels rely on constructive feedback to make amends and ensure our guests leave with there expectations being exceeded.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you to one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in the Future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a good room on an upper floor, with a great view of the Taj Mahal, it really is only 600 metres away, surreal! Very clean and comfortable, although nothing exceptional. Nice grounds. Nothing to dislike, except for the restaurant. We didn't try the speciality Indian restaurant, the Esphahan, so can't comment, but the Bellevue international restaurant was a real letdown. It was some of the most expensive food we had in India, and we stayed at some pretty swish hotels. The quality of the ingredients seemed good, but there was no imagination and no flair in using them or in presentation. My smoked salmon, for example, was plentiful but was just laid flat on a plate with three onion rings on it, containing three chopped bits and pieces. It was very amateurish, and very expensive. Worse, was the service. The lads serving were very keen, but seemed totally untrained and unsupervised, and literally ran from place to place, and bumped into one another. One of them even had a spat with the till in the corner, and seemed about to hit it in frustration. Talk about Fawlty Towers, it would have been funny if it hadn't been so expensive. The restaurant needs a good chef, properly trained staff, and a front of house manager. But, restaurant aside, the hotel was good, and in an excellent location for the Taj Mahal, literally a 5 minute walk down the street.

Room Tip: Don't be on the same floor as the lobby, rooms beginning 100. We were allocated a room on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is located at about at about 600 meters from the hotel and all our rooms have a view of the Taj Mahal and beautifully manicured gardens. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the same during your study with us.

However, I have made a note of your feedback regarding the cuisine and the service at the restaurants and please be assured these matters are being addressed with the concerned teams. Your detailed feed back is much appreciated . It is being taken seriously and put to good use in our endeavour to constantly learn and grow to higher levels of guest service.

Once again, I deeply regret your disappointment on this occasion. I do hope that, in time, you will allow us the opportunity to serve you at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Standing in the most beautiful grounds this hotel is perfectly located for the Taj Mahal. The elaborate gardens are stunning and the hotel with its close proximity offers wonderful views of the Taj Mahal, providing it's not foggy!
The service was superb and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. However, the food let the Hotel down. It wasn't poor but just quite ordinary for the money.
We had a Premier Room with balcony with great views across the gardens to the iconic Taj Mahal.
Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Premier room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip advisor.

It is with regret that I read of your disappointment with your stay with us. I am sorry for the experience you had with us and please be assured that the concerned team has been briefed regarding the same. We rely on feedback from our valuable guests which helps us make amends and serve our guest better in the Oberoi way.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the Taj Mahal, as well as featuring views of the Taj itself. The property has features of a palace, the pool is absolutely gorgeous, although we did not swim in it. There is a nice exercise room. The staff could not be more helpful, always striving to do something more for you, occasionally hard for this do-it-yourselfer to get used to. The food was excellent, with a very nice breakfast buffet

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure reading your detailed feedback. I am pleased to read that the Mughal architectural building of the hotel, the service and the beautifully laid out swimming pool were to your liking.

Thank you for your generous praise of the hotel and the staff. This definitely helps us and our teams to stay motivated and exceed guest expectation. We always endeavor to ensure a pleasant and a memorable stay for our guests by delivering personalized guest services.

Thank you for choosing us and I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Oberoi Amarvilas is a magnificent property with room views of the Taj Mahal. Can you beat that? And they know it so they do not go out of the way to give the same quality of service as the other Oberoi Hotels in India. The staff training is lacking and we knew it from the first night when we ate in the hotel restaurant. The dishes were coming out late and out of order. The next morning when coffee was delivered, the staff member did not feel like putting on his turban, the hotel uniform. We actually loved the staff appearance and we were surprised.
The breakfast buffet was a mess. They had a full house of tourists and could not get the meals out on time. They brought in help, a supervisor named Jacob, who I think was in the accounting department! After waiting over 25 minutes, our waiter, Gobin, brought us waffles instead of the French toast that we requested and insisted that the waffles were French toast. All of our friends had already left the table as we had to catch our tour. So we just left too without eating.
Very disappointing. Maybe it was just as well since the food at all meals was disappointing.

The hotel needs better management. The Oberoi has a reputation.
On the other hand, it was a beautiful hotel with stunning rooms and the view cannot be beat.
So you are stuck. You decide.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip advisor.

It is with regret that I read of your disappointment with your stay with us. I am sorry for the experience you had with us and please be assured that the concerned team has been briefed regarding the same. We rely on feedback from our valuable guests which helps us make amends and serve our guest better in the Oberoi way.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Amarvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.