We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel to stay in, in Agra!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Amarvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Amarvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only hotel to stay in, in Agra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Wow what a beautiful hotel - we certainly felt spoilt here. Location was very close to the Taj Mahal and great views of this sight from the hotel. Ate both poolside and in the restaurant and both were delicious and service was excellent. Would definitely stay again. Room was excellent as was bathroom. Best hotel we have ever stayed in. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms offer a view of the Taj Mahal but probably go for one in centre of hotel on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read your praise of our hotel and its cuisine and the services. I am pleased to read that your enjoyed the view from your room to the fullest and I hope you had fond memories to carry back with you. Our well trained and guest focused team always endeavor to make your stay an experience of a lifetime.

Thank you for your generous comment and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Thank you.

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    229
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
327
913
78
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband spoilt me by taking me here for 3 days and organising a suite with direct views of The Taj.

This hotel introduces a whole new definition of pure luxury. Friendly and attentive staff, fabulous large rooms with all room facilities you could ever require, large comfy bed, soft luxurious bed and bath linen, great hotel bar, delicious food during breakfast and a choice of restaurants to chose from.

Loved being driven in a golf cart each morning down to The Taj.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the cuisine was to your liking. Our hotel does offer magnificent views of the Taj Mahal from every room and it is the endeavor of our dedicated team to personalize your stay at the hotel.

We have two restaurants in the hotel, one is an all day dinning Continental restaurant and the other is a fine dining Indian restaurant which only operates for dinner service.

We truly believe that our trained and guest focused team members are our greatest asset and I will be glad to share your wonderful feedback with all.

We hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts around the world.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Agra to see the Taj Mahal.

We had been told it was good and it is. The building itself is modern and stylishly appointed and the terraced pool area is one of the best we have seen anywhere.

How can you not be impressed when you step out of the elevator and see the Taj Mahal right in front of you in the distance. You can also see it from your bedroom, the lobby, and one of the restaurants.

The staff were all very nice and anxious to please.

If you can afford it don't hesitate to stay here and if possible choose a room with a balcony overlooking the Taj Mahal - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room with a balcony overlooking the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read your feedback which is much appreciated. The hotel offers magnificent views of the Taj Mahal and is built in a style inspired by the Mughal architecture with a display of terraced lawns, fountains, reflection pools and rich interiors that take you into another world away from the chaotic city.

We try and take special care by personalizing our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you.

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you wish to enjoy the beauty of the Taj Mahal without the hustle of the crowds , this is the place to be. Oberoi is always a guarantee of quality and this is no exception. The location is magnificent, the building is nicely fitting into the environment, the service is excellent and the food is very good. A good value for its price!

Room Tip: All rooms see the Taj, but the higher the better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am most delighted to read your pleasant comments regarding your stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas. I am pleased that the location of the hotel, the environment, the cuisine and the service were to your expectation.

We at Oberoi Hotels always try to cater to our guests individual needs, to ensure that the quality of service and products are delivered as expected from us. We aspire to make bonds for a life time.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan.

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was the culmination of our month in India. We stayed in places ranging from 1000 to 45000 rupees/night, so we have plenty to compare from south to north and in between. We chose the Oberoi Amarvilas as a special treat at the end of our journey and it did not disappoint. From the moment we entered the gate (after our long! ride from Delhi), it was apparent that this was a special property with impeccable service! The welcome greeting & refreshment, personal in-room check-in & constant attention were all appreciated. We also appreciated not having to pass through metal detectors nor have our bags searched at this hotel (which seems to be common practice at higher end hotels in India).
Yes, it was winter and rather cool, but the balcony was still a bonus for both photo opps & a cup of tea. It also allows for a full view of the extensive and well-manicured landscaping. Inside, our room was well-appointed with countless special touches. A few little things about the room that may need improvement: room ventilation is poor, (We didn't check if there were windows on either side of the balcony door which could have been opened. Windows were dripping in the morning and after using the shower.) marble is stained in the bathroom and there isn't enough shelves or drawers in the bathroom. However, turn-down service is top-notch as is housekeeping!
What an amazing pool! We could have floated under the stars for hours. We felt like we were in a palace.
The hotel provides complimentary shuttles to the Taj Mahal, which is a nice perk. However, touts are well aware that you have emerged from the most expensive hotel in Agra, so be aware that you will be asked for outrageous prices. It's always a good idea to have a sense of humour, but seriously, it was the most difficult part of staying at the Oberoi.
We enjoyed dinner at the Bellevue and excellent room service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip Advisor.

Our hotel offers stunning views of the Taj Mahal from every room, and our battery operated shuttle service ensures that the monument is just a few minutes away. The swimming pool is indeed one of the most serine places of the hotel to come back to after a long day of sight seeing.

It is my pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience staying with us and that the cuisine, service, the pool area and the view from your room exceeded your expectations. Your kind comments are much appreciated. However I have also made a note of your comments regarding the maintenance and design related aspects of your stay as we believe that it is only by working on feedback we can achieve higher standards helping us to exceed guest expectations.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Property is amazing with great view of Taj from every room. Hotel staff is very warm and welcoming. Staff took good care of every little requirement and visit to Taj was memorable.

We had a great time staying here and this is one property where I would like to bring my family in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor.

It gives me immense pleasure to read that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel during your stay and that we were able to create fond memories to carry back home. I will be pleased to share your generous comments with the team which will be a great source of motivation for all.

We hope to welcome you and your family to the Oberoi Amarvilas in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan,

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Ca
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We didn't have the pleasure of staying at the hotel. We stayed at the Trident. However upon walking into the Oberoi, you can identifiably see and feel why it is rated higher and more expensive than the Trident. We didn't have a Rez at Esphahan, so they seated us at Bellevue but offered us both restaurant's menus. My husband loved his thali, and mine was good too, but incredibly spicy. Service was too notch and the hotel is gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that your had a pleasant dinning experience with us and that the Indian cuisine served in our restaurant was to your liking. However, I have made a note of your comment regarding the spice levels of the food.

Our trained and guest focused restaurant food and beverage team relies on your feedback to constantly improve the dining experience at or restaurants.

We hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and stay with us in the future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Amarvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.