We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Amarvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Amarvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Offer - Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we could feel the quality. The manager through to the doorman made you feel special. We arrived at 0830 but they still gave us one of our 2 rooms. The view of the Taj faded during the day due to a haze but it was still spectacular. We had a 4th floor room with balcony which was well worth it. 30 mins free wifi was good, food was good, and service first class. Very close to the Taj Mahal, great pool, and well worth staying at.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on trip Advisor regarding your stay at The oberoi Amarvilas.It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay with us. We try and take special care by personalizing our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience with us.

We hope that your experience at The Oberoi Amarvilas will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    227
    67
    15
    12
See reviews for
325
910
78
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was spectacular and a really 'once in a lifetime' stay. The room was beautiful with a view of the Taj Mahal and the swimming pool was an oasis of calm in the hot summer. It was fantastic to be taken to see the Taj Mahal at sunset by golf buggy and we felt very well looked after for the whole stay. My only slight negative comment is that it was a shame that wi-fi was not included for free when you are paying a premium amount per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We try and take special care by personalizing our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience. The swimming pool is indeed one of the most beautiful places in the hotel to come back and relax after a long day of sight seeing. I have also made a note of your comments regarding the internet usage, please be assured that it will be put to good use.

We hope that your experience at The Oberoi Amarvilas will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here during a recent trip to india where i stayed in a few stunning hotels. Without a doubt this is the best hotel in agra and streets ahead of the others, however from a value for money point of view I'm not sure if it's wholly worth it I.e. It was twice the price of the Leela Palace in Delhi but not twice as good...

Loves - the bedroom, the view from the room, the serenity of the hotel, the service, the check in process, the gardens, the inclusive breakfast could be taken in the room as room service

Dislikes - the bathroom could have been more modern and cleaner - it could have done with a good all round scrub, the check out process - we waited for ten minutes to check out when someone could have easily come to help us, dinner reservation - they forgot to book us in

Overall i would recommend this hotel but the price tag probably doesn't quite justify itself

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oberoi Amarvilas and for taking out time from your busy schedule to review the hotel.

I am pleased to read your feedback which is much appreciated. We try and take special care by personalising our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience

However, I have noted your product and service related feedback and we will certainly endeavour to work towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

I hope that this one odd experience of your stay with us will not discourage you to choose and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked it for our clients and they were delighted by the hospitality, location & experience of this hotel and thanked us for suggesting them such a beautiful hotel. They enjoyed every bit of it and were not stopping while describing it.

Thanks for making our guests stay wonderful.

Regards,
Team Stay n Move

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to the stay of your guests.

I am pleased to read your feedback which is much appreciated. We try and take special car of all our guests by personalizing our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience.

Looking forward for a mutually beneficial association.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Taj Mahal is probably the, what a 'once in a lifetime' experience calls. And a perfect framework for this is the oberoi amarvilas. There should be the high price not put you off, because, what is offered, is worth the money: perfect service, every room with a terrace/view on the only a few hundred meters away. Taj Mahal, sophisticated elegance not only in the reception area, but also in the restaurants and the rooms. The guide for the taj you can book in the hotel (tip: get up early, to the crowds to avoid). You then golf cart to the building drove. An all around pleasant experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel along with the fabulous views from your bedroom.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely experience and we were able to create memories of a life time for you.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not only does each room face the Taj Mahal, but your garden view from your window looks out with a balcony whose garden pool view is so delightful. The turbaned staff and guard are friendly, and their uniform/dress is a delight to behold and adds to the feeling that one is not only staying in an exotic place, but the stay is an experience.
There is a beautiful pool.
The amenities are wonderful, the lemon, neroli soaps are so fragrant.. The bed slippers and soft cotton bathrobes are a pleasure, you may want to purchase one.
The food - breakfast and dinner are full of choices for meat eaters and vegetarians. The fresh breads, chutneys, cheeses, are too numerous.
We hated having to leave, the hotel was so wonderful.

They have quite a few gift shops, that sell rugs, jewelry, postcards, clothing, art books, etc. my special find was the paper cuts in the gift shop. The paper cuts are are the bathrooms, framed in gold and silver frames, the marble lotuses that hold the laps can also be found in the gift shop, and they do ship them

The hotel is very nicely situated within walking distance to the Taj Mahal, but we took an electric car there so we could arrive by sunrise.

The staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony on an upper floor to get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.I am delighted to read your generous praise of the hotel, its products and services.

The hotel does indeed offer magnificent views of the Taj Mahal and beautifully manicured gardens from all the rooms, terraces and lounges. The Taj Mahal is situated at about 600 meters from the hotel and our gold buggy service ensures that the monument is just a few minutes away.
Your kind comments are much appreciated and I am taking the liberty to share your comments with the team which will be a great source of motivation for all.
I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Reputed to the be the only five star hotel in Agra with a direct view of the Taj Majal... don't know if that's true, but our room certainly had a bird's eye view. Gorgeous, modern hotel, made every aspect of our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of the resort.

I will be most happy to share your comments with all our members of the staff and we look forward to having you visit us again.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Amarvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.