We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical ITC property, with great hardware and very poor software” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Mughal, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Mughal, Agra to your Saves list
ITC Mughal, Agra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Typical ITC property, with great hardware and very poor software”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you cannot get rooms at the Oberoi Amarvilas, I guess the ITC Mughal is a pretty good alternative. It has excellent grounds, and the rooms are large and airy (we were lucky to be upgraded to a suite). It borrows from the local Mughal architecture, and blends in well with its surroundings. It has a good central location as well.

However, when we were checking in, it seemed the check-in staff was very slow (not for lack of people at the desks) and not too many people seemed to be serving guests. The lobby was quite noisy as well, and it was not the loud chatter of the guests, but the hotel staff calling each other loudly across the halls!

This seemed to extend to the restaurant as well. Perhaps they were not prepared for so many guests, but it seemed to be grossly understaffed at breakfast, which saw long lines forming outside the breakfast restaurant. The staff was clearly overwhelmed and guests were left to fetch things for themselves from other tables.

All in all, a typical ITC property, with great hardware and very poor software.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Also your feedback has been noted and strict administrative action is being taken on the same.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    620
    309
    112
    55
See reviews for
621
715
86
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights as a birthday treat. There's a pleasant observatory from which you can view the Taj Mahal. The room was fully up to Sheraton standards, although it's branded as ITC. The only little thing was that it would have been nice if the staff had noticed that it was a special birthday for my wife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Also your feedback has been noted and strict administrative action is being taken on the same.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The ITC Mughal once again gave me a pat on the back to be rightful to return to this luxurious abode.
A perfect getaway close to Delhi which became even closer due to the expressway!!!
The hotel under the guidance of Mr. Sanjay Sharma (GM) is a great property well maintained in both architectural and hospitality wise.
The Kaya Kalp spa experience is a must to have for those looking to get way from the hectic lifestyles. I must add the one of the most magnificent and amazing spa experiences I personally have had around my travels across the world.
F&B is maintained to top standards and food is great.
The GM invited us to a cocktail hour to share our experiences with some other invited guest which added a very personal touch to the whole stay.
Once again a great weekend escape and get spoilt with there hospitality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the ITC Mughal for one night and have to give this hotel top marks for service and location. The entire team from beginning to end were very friendly, helpful and professional. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Beds are very comfortable. Restaurants are a bit pricey, but very good. Our whole overall experience at this hotel was excellent. We really enjoyed Agra and very glad we stayed the night - could have really stayed another!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I was there on 11 of February, one night. We arrived in the morning just before lunch from Delhi. It is a very nice and secluded place after the eclectic Agra. The room was on the very ordinary side. Dark, not big, on the underground level (first time in my life) but the bed was very confortable. The hotel itself is nice, wide and modern. They have a terrace ( coming from a cold country, we wanted to have a drink outside) that was kind of closed but they did served us beers there anyway. We had dinner, was quite good and service was excellent. Breakfast is good but as it was mainly groups, it was rather noisy. Sit in a remote area if you want a quiet breakfast. Internet was not free except if you got to the business center and used their computers for 30 minutes. It is hard to understand how they can charge you for Internet, give you a room with almost no natural light and still charge you that money for one night. They have the Taj Mahal so....

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Also your feedback has been noted and strict administrative action is being taken on the same.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Agra , a destination for the panoramic Taj , may also be distinguished for the structural presence of ITC Mughal hotel in the heart of the city . Not only the architectural built of the hotel reinforces the magnificent intricacy of the monumental city but the complete infrastructure , the culture , the food and above all the hospitality is an engraved experience in log of memories . Exotic Delicacies ! Cheerful Staff ! , to name some ,Chinmoy , Bhupinder at the restaurant ;  Magret , Sumit at the front desk. May I dare to compare it with The Venetian at Macau?

Room Tip: All rooms are well located. Must keep holidaying again and again to stay in different blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is adequate if you want to spend the night in Agra to visit the Taj.
The breakfast included in our rate was average and the rooms were dated.
The hotel lobby looks impressive but be ready to get disapointed when you enter your room.
The SPA was adequate. The hot tub was out of order.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated.

Also your feedback has been noted and strict administrative action is being taken on the same.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Mughal, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Mughal, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Agra
#4 Family Hotel in Agra
#4 Spa Hotel in Agra
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Mughal, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your ITC Mughal, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Mughal, Agra Hotel Agra
Itc Mughal Hotel Agra
Sheraton Agra
Agra Itc Mughal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Mughal, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.