We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Mughal, Agra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Mughal, Agra to your Saves list
ITC Mughal, Agra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Period Offer.
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Okay for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our Chamber of Emperor had everything we needed – it was big, renovated and comfortable. Breakfast was poor – relatively to other luxury class hotels like Taj hotels. It’s a typical place where people normally only stay 1 night. So do not expect too much dedication and warmth of all service people, but some are really trying their best. If this is okay for you we can recommend this hotel.
Internet access (WIFI in room) is very expensive – should definitely be complimentary on this price level!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    546
    256
    96
    49
See reviews for
540
627
75
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pease Pottage
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice hotel within a short distance from the Taj Mahal (which can be seen from the top of the hotel if not foggy).
Service from all staff was excellent and both restaurants were good and had excellent Indian food, however significantly over charged for wine (we had a meal at the Oberoi during our stay and the wine was cheaper although we actually preferred the food at the ITC).

Spa facilities were very good although as with the other common areas of the hotel was freezing cold. We did stay during an unusually cold period and from what we understand from the staff that there was no heating outside of the bedrooms. This became crazy at one point where everybody in the bar in the evening were wearing coats – we escaped back to the warmth of our room with our drinks!

We had a standard non refurbished room, it was comfortable enough and a good size. One improvement the hotel could make without waiting for a refurb is to get some new towels and bathrobes, the ones we had were pretty tatty and stopped being white a long time ago!

The Oberoi was our first choice and it is stunning but not convinced it’s worth paying nearly 5 times more than the ITC

We enjoyed our stay and would recomend

Room Tip: Request a renovated room – we forgot !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night while in Agra in December. It is a beautiful property, very clean and great customer service. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Dined at Peshwari which was very good and tried the breakfast buffet the next morning, also good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Staff throughout the hotel is highly motivated with your positive feedback.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The ITC Agra was nice enough. We had no huge complaints, but we also weren't terribly impressed.

Location is handy to Taj Mahal, nice appearance on the surface, food was okay, service was variable, room was a problem.

I understand the need for security in India, but do not understand the point of having guests pass through airport-style security before entering the hotel, then not actually checking anything. They insist you walk through screening machine but when it beeps they just wave you through. They force you to put your bags through the scanner, but then don't actually screen the bags. I don't mean to make light of the tragic history India has had but if the security is truly necessary, make it effective. Otherwise stop the phony facade that does nothing but inconvenience guests.

The hotel is a reasonably short drive to the Taj Mahal so handy that way, but otherwise the neighbourhood doesn't have much to recommend it.

We had booked a non-smoking king bed. We had cancelled out of another nearby, better, more expensive hotel specifically because they could not guarantee a king bed. The ITC guaranteed one so we switched. Lo and behold when we got there all they had was rooms with twin beds. When we protested, the woman had a long phone conversation with the front desk, then took us downstairs to a tiny dark room that had a king bed and literally nothing more. The room was unacceptable. It was a transparent ploy by management to be able to say they offered us the king bed we had asked for.

We reluctantly settled for the room with twin beds. It was a nice room in every other respect.

The spa looked fabulous but we never had a chance to try it. When we tried to book it a manager pushed aside the clerk at the desk to "help" us. He didn't bother to ask what treatment we wanted. We asked for 6 p.m. appointments. After lengthy checks of the computer he assured us it was "no problem". He would book us for 8 p.m. Uh, actually, when we ask for 6 p.m., and you can't take us until 8 p.m., that IS a problem. (More aggravating, while serving us he took a call on his mobile. I'm curious to know what in the hotel business is more important than serving guests, but I digress.) We just gave up in frustration.

We had a pizza in the bar for dinner one evening. It was tasty and reasonably priced. The drinks on the other hand were pricey. In any case, it was a pleasant alternative to the sit down restaurants. We had Sunday brunch in the restaurant. It had an excellent selection, a good cross-section of Indian, Chinese and western food, and was reasonably priced.

The breakfast buffet was not as appealing. The buffet is in an annex building a short walk from the hotel. The walk was not a big deal, but we were there during a cold snap so it was a cold walk. The buffet itself was very average, even below average. It had a few western breakfast dishes, some Chinese and several Indian selections. Quality was mediocre, some of the food had been there a while.

All-in-all a decent enough base to see the Taj Mahal and Agra, but don't expect to be dazzled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I would on behalf of all the staff of ITC Mughal also thank you for your positive feedback, staff through out the hotel is highly motivated to know that you had an enriched stay with us.

Also I would like to mention that your concerns are being viewed seriously and corrective administrative action is being taken on the same.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of having you back with us.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager,
ITC Mughal,Agra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the property for a night with family in the last week of December. Have to say, ITC never fails to amaze me with their service, its always heartwarming. We checked in along with a large group of foreign tourists on a day when the hotel was totally sold out... that usually means "trouble" with a BIG T, but, unlike most of the other luxury hotels where the "fair skinned" get priority service, we felt as welcomed as anyone else! Big thanks to the check in staff for a great start to our stay. We bothered them with the most random questions and they always replied with a smile. The rooms were ahem! well very English, like most of their properties. From the brass capped legs of the tables to the tasteful decor' - well kept, clean and very posh. There was always someone there to help and I am not just saying that. There was someone to suggest us a brilliant chocolate dessert at midnight and serve us beyond the closing time of the restaurant, someone to ask for our preference of morning tea the moment we sat down in the over crowded breakfast hall, someone to promptly get us a spare spoon when my brother knocked his off at the dinner table! Two things truly stood out, the ability of the staff to handle the pressure of a sold out hotel and yet be so pleasing at all times and the non-discrimination policy, something you would not expect from such a "English" hotel always brimming with out-bound gusts, and this will make me go back again and again! Thanks again folks! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sharma

Thank you for taking some of your precious time out for posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Staff throughout the hotel is highly motivated with your positive feedback.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back with us.

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Agra for us (and I suspect many other visitors) is not so much a destination in itself but more of an unfortunate neccesity for those wishing to visit the Taj Mahal.

With that in mind, if you are looking for an acceptable 5 star property for a night or so, the ITC Mughal is a good choice.

The ITC Mughal is one of the older properties in Agra. There is nothing particularly outstanding about the property, and nothing really bad about it either. I would not however deem it worthy of Starwoods ''Luxury Collection'' status.

The Taj Mahal east gate perimeter is no more than a 10 minute drive. I arranged a car through the hotel which waited for us at the Taj Mahal parking area (+- 560 INR roundtrip with waiting time).

The Mughal Chamber room was fine. The biggest problem we had was the bathroom which had a perforated shower curtain! A shower curtain with holes! What an absurd design. Firstly, I hate shower curtains, secondly, the shower curtain is totally ineffective. A baffling design indeed.

Furthermore, Agra can get really cold in December/January and having tiled floors instead of carpets in the room makes the room very cold. The a/c unit was also useless at warming the room. We did not bother to complain as we were checking out at 4am and thought it was not worth the hassle.

In-room dining options were great. Extensive menu and the dishes we ordered were excellent.

Noteworthy perhaps is that it did appear as if the hotel almost offered an airline like array of options (The ''First Class'' like check in for suite guests looked very impressive). I suspect that room-type choice, how you booked and whether you are booked on a tour package may lead to vastly different experiences.

If you are not looking to splurge on the Oberoi Amarvillas (which I think is overkill on a city like Agra), then the ITC is a perfectly good choice for an Agra stopover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

At the outset, I would like to take this opportunity to thank-you for
choosing to stay at ITC Mughal – A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

I have taken cognizance of your concern with regard to your overall
experience and without meaning to offer any excuses, sincerely apologize
for the dissonance faced. It is indeed our responsibility to ensure that
all our guests get the best service and attention and it is disappointing
to know that your experience was to the contrary. Please be assured that
necessary administrative action has been initiated by incorporating
measures to prevent reoccurrence of the same in future.

We sincerely hope that you will treat this as a one off incident and
provide us with another opportunity to restore your confidence in ITC
Mughal.

Assuring you our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of
welcoming you back to ITC Mughal, where we will make every effort to ensure
that you have a pleasant stay.

Sincerely yours,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager

ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel
Taj Ganj, Agra - 282001
Uttar Pradesh, India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the ITC Mughal while in India with my family. The experience at the hotel was in line with what one would expect from an upscale hotel in an otherwise hectic environment such as Agra. The hotel is within 10 minutes of the Taj and is set back to allow for some peace and quiet but the hotel itself is somewhat ordinary. I felt as though the rooms could definitely use an upgrade. We had a wonderful meal at Peshwari and the breakfast was quiet good. The best part of our stay was the Spa and gym. I have rarely seen such an impressive gym at any hotel and the Spa experience was terrific. I believe the hotel is a good value and quiet honestly you really don't want to spend more than one night in Agra. See the Taj, see the Fort and then head out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out some of your precious time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to know that the service provided to you were appreciated and also that we could make your stay a memorable and wonderful experience.

Staff throughout the hotel especially at Peshawri & Spa are highly motivated with your positive feedback.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ITC Mughal!

Regards,

Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Mughal, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Mughal, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Agra
#4 Spa Hotel in Agra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#4 Business Hotel in Agra
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Mughal, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ITC Mughal, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Mughal, Agra Hotel Agra
Itc Mughal Hotel Agra
Sheraton Agra
Agra Itc Mughal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Mughal, Agra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.