We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-existant Hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Retreat to your Saves list
The Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282 001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Jaipur
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Non-existant Hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staying at a place like The Retreat makes you wonder what they mean when they say ‘hospitality industry’. If it means providing you with an affectedly-done up, vitrified(to the point of being sterilised)-tiled, shiny-fauceted stopover which constantly reminds you of how much of a tab you’re running up staying at the place, then the Retreat fits the bill.
But if being made to feel welcome is even part of the ‘hospitality’ package, the Retreat fails miserably.
I had planned a trip to Agra hoping to catch a glimpse of the Taj Mahal on a full moon night. Some five days beforehand, I’d called up the hotel’s (non-existant) travel desk to request them to arrange tickets for the same as I was pretty sure that by the time I reached Agra, the tickets would be sold out. They refused outright and hung up. I was pretty ticked off at this because later when I was leaving the Taj and people who HAD managed to score tickets began showing up for the night viewing, three out of the five people I asked said that their hotel had arranged for tickets, albeit for a small fee. The check-in desk is invariably manned by surly, uninvolved characters whose demeanour almost immediately makes you feel unwanted. They will not offer any suggestions whatsoever about where you can go eat or sightsee. Do not expect any help with parking, and be fully prepared to be woken up at some inane hour for the keys to your car so they can move it about - we were woken up at 630AM. I asked for a firm pillow but they didn’t have any. The amount of effort they seemed to put into not putting in any effort was baffling.
I guess their buffet breakfast was quite satisfactory, but really I don’t know what else to say. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone unless they have no other choice, for the simple reason that people who come on vacation have worked very hard for the money they’re spending, and deserve a certain bare minimum amount of hospitality and geniality. This place offers none. Yes it looks swanky enough on first glance, but that really isn’t what stays with you. The bad mood you’re in, and the sense of being shortchanged when you’re paying and checking out is what does.
Stay here if no other option is available in the price range, but if you do, thicken your skin and lower the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    92
    30
    16
See reviews for
109
127
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed one night in the hotel. The room was fairly clean (the only thing was re-used toiletries bottles with black dirt all over the cap). The elevators didn't work for us, so we carried our luggages down which wasn't bad considering we were only on 2nd floor.

When we asked the concierge for restaurant recommendations he refused and told us to go to their own restaurants. We had to keep prying him and then eventually he made the recommendation but it was really unexpected.

All in all, just a fair hotel, not the best but not the worst in our stays. Really close to Taj Mahal but really in a dirty location so if you don't have a driver hired it'd be hard to get out of the hotel to find food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This may be the right hotel one should book in Agra. Stayed there one night. The room is clean, the shower is modern even if hot water had some issues at the beginning of my stay. The view is not sexy but who could expect Manhattan skyscrapers? This is Agra ;) complete continental and Indian breakfast with eggs a la carte prepared in front of you
Go there eyes closed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is quite new. The rooms were good and there were good facilities such as TV and tea-making stuff. The hotel had a pool but it was rather overshadowed by building work next door. There was a large restaurant that served good breakfasts and OK meals. Goodish location fairly close to the East gate of the Taj Mahal.
The staff were able to arrange other services such as taxis and day trips but seemed to charge a lot for these.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited alongwith family and parents end Oct12 and was very happy with the room/hotel decor, ambience & service levels. It is surely value for money and another USP is its just 10mts from the East Gate of Taj Mahal. Its almost 5 star facility at a very affordable cost. The staff was courteous and food was nice too. Buffet breakfast spread was fine. I would definitely repeat staying in this hotel during my next visit to Agra and recommend to all my friends/contacts. The only improvement could be additional choices in menu ..

Subhendu

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a fantastic experience.

The rooms are big and roomy, nice LCD TV's with Tata Sky, extremely clean, wooden flooring, lot of plug points, clean bathrooms, great upholstery, and great service.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, too.

Just 5 mins away from the Taj was another plus point.

I had read that the road on which it is situated isn't too clean, and not much to do closeby. But when you are in Agra on a sight seeing trip, you really don't want to move out after you are back at the hotel.

Strongly recommended !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked 3 rooms for 3 families in this hotel in October 2012. This hotel is located off a narrow lane near the East gate. If you are coming from Delhi, you have to cross entire TajGunj to get here. There are no views from the windows and it is best to keep the drapes drwan. The property is relatively new, rooms are spacious and pretty decent.

We arrived at 4 PM and checked out their restaurant. However, post the lunch hour which ends at 3 PM, the 24/7 options were very limited. Hence we went out for food. Breakfast too did not have many options. Poori and Dosas were not served fresh and we had to remind 3 times to serve water on the table.

Most staff members were pleasant and nice barring one odd who was rude. One of our friends asked for juice in the breakfast since they were only serving Frooti and this waiter rudely told her that this is the only juice.

We may stay here again but only if the rate is more reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.