We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ray of Maya Hotel to your Saves list
Ray of Maya Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Purani Mandi, Fatehabad Road 18/159 | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 163 Agra B&B and Inns
Moscow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We expected more from an owner of a certificate of excellence. Good location, just a stone-throw from Taj Mahal. The hotel itself is the building a bitt of the street, all the drivers will take you to initial Maya hotel, then a guy from the hotel will take you across the street to show this new one. Though the hotel seems to be new, the furniture is partially broken and not everything is fully working. Our room was on the first floor and due to isolation absence it was very noisy. Also, we stayed in the middle of december, so it was quite cold in the room and the heater provided did not give enough heat. Wi-Fi was very slow. Nevertheless, the restaurant in Maya hotel across the street was great though a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
97
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

we had room 7 and room 8.
Room 7:
1. Bathroom was totally overdue for repairs: broken slab behind toilet
2. no soap dish inside shower
3. No hooks for clothes
4. soap bar was so little to handle
5. broken unusable trashcan, could not be opened even with hands even though it had the step-on opener
6. outside mirror had no lights so totally useless
7. very poor room service- had to request 3 times before I get my order
8. there was no water bottle when we first entered the room
9. dirty tea carafes- god knows when they were washed first
10. Phone in the room did not work in room 8
11. No electric outlets worked
12. only a few pores of the shower were open, so you can imagine the time to complete bath

I paid 2500 per night per room. Just outside, a much nicer hotel was available with 3 stars rooms for 1500 per night per room.
Street to the hotel in through trash just like rest of Agra which may be alright since the entire Agra is a dump.

Room Tip: May be if you are not of Indian origin, they may treat you with good room and good service, I am sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Ray of Maya Hotel – a hidden gem – as you pick your way over the dusty scrub land you do wonder what you have got yourself into but once inside this modern, clean, friendly place your fears disappear. Our room is fantastic, a good size, extremely clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom is a good size, extremely clean, a hot powerful shower. The staff speak great English and are very friendly and helpful. The free pickup is handy. The hotel owns the restaurant over the road and the food is tasty, hot and a good price. We could not get our laptop on the wifi but I think it was our fault not the hotels. We would recommend this hotel and will come back one February, as it is now December and we could not see our hands in front of our faces let alone the Taj Mahal – so foggy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

OK, you want to tick the box and see the Taj and then get out of Agra by the quickest route possible. While you're there though, the Ray of Maya will provide you with a clean, comfortable room (superb beds), a nice modern bathroom with plenty of hot water and pleasant staff. If you're looking for a fancy reception and restaurant, you won't find it here, but if you want a great room for your buck within spitting distance of the Taj, this will do you just fine.
The friendly chai stall outside makes excellent tea and even milk coffee if you ask them nicely and the Maya restaurant (attached to the Maya hotel - more basic than 'Ray of' )across the road does quite adequate food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our stay was just perfect. Very nice room with western shower (shower is separated from the rest of the bathroom). We had a little balcony with sight of the Taj Mahal. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. And for the first time we could calm down and relaxe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a very pleasant three days here. Starting with free pick up from train station and very helpful guide who arranged a trip to Fatehpur Sikri at a reasonable rate in good air con car. Hotel is modern, rooms clean and bed comfy. Lots of nice cushions in room. Free toiletries. The staff ar e very helpful and it's professionally run. Some may not like the approach to the hotel down a short dirt track but the advantage is that it's set back from the road so very quiet at night. Good food at Hotel Maya across the road (sister hotel). Views of Taj from the roof and easy to walk to Taj hence avoiding rickshaw costs.

Room Tip: A room at the front for taj view. A room at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geertruidenberg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a fantastic place!
We were really surprised to have such a nice experience in touristic Agra.
The rooms in hotel Ray of Maya are very clean, comparable to western standards. Next, the rooms are spacious, nicely designed and comfortable, with a big shower with nice hot water and lots of towels!
The staff of the hotel is friendly and not in a fake way, they really care about your stay!!! When we ordered some hot water for tea and coffee, they also brought us new towels and toilet paper, in case we would need that also. And when we got a room with a toilet without a toilet seat, they changed the room immediately the next morning.
The hotel is located close to the west gate of Taj Mahal and has good laundry service. Be prepared that the free taxi will offer you trips in Agra, but it's not obligatory.

Room Tip: Room 4 is nice for those who like purple and room 7 if you like green :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Address: Purani Mandi, Fatehabad Road 18/159 | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray of Maya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.