We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and beautiful property but lack service standard and professionalism” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Gurgaon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Huge and beautiful property but lack service standard and professionalism”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The property is huge with a grand pool and big gardens. Have 3-4 dining options and a disc. We stayed at a standard double room
However, for the price they charge for everything (equivalent to 5 star hotels in Agra), the services provided are sub-standard. The hotel is not managed by international Wyndham chain, they have just given their brand name.
Check in and reception area and the property
Starting from check in to check out, we had to wait for everything. While waiting for check in, I asked for drinking water, we had to remind 2-3 times before we were served water that too after 20 minutes
The washrooms in the reception area are dingy and the faucet was leaking and the toilet paper was all wet because of that
The pool is grand and awesome. We enjoyed our time at the pool
The gardens have fountains and lots of flowers. It is a pretty site especially in evening
The room
The room is spacious; however it is not well maintained.. TV had very limited channel options and they served only 1 lt water (extra 500ml bottle is charged at Rs 140 per bottle, which in my experience is quite expensive as I have stayed in many good properties)
Bathroom fittings were leaking. Bathtub was also not very clean and they did not provide any dental and vanity kit.
Restaurants
All the restaurants are super expensive. One vegetarian Indian curry costs around Rs 700-800/-
So you have no choice but to eat at the buffet restaurant at Zaika. We had our lunch there ( Rs 3000 including tax for 2 ppl). I don’t mind spending money for good food. But food was really far below expectations. There was no taste (it was not even made bland for international taste buds) it was generally spicy but did not taste good
Also, the standard was not good. Our glasses smelled of eggs. The non- vegetarian soup was labelled as vegetarian. (BTW, we were the only 2 people in the restaurant at that time so it was not because of high footfall).Though, after mentioning about the soup and the smell in glasses, the mistakes were corrected, but no one apologized. It looked like that this is a regular happening at the restaurant.
Staff
The staff was eager to help but lacked professionalism. They were trying to do whatever they thought was right. But I have to say that they lacked training

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We have already shared your feedback with the team and assure you of exceeding your expectations whenever we get the chance to serve you again. Apologies for letting you down in certain aspects.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    296
    154
    78
    66
See reviews for
316
296
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

O.K. the hotel looks amazing and is probably the second or third best hotel in Agra (that I saw at least) but the hotel is just average. I had a room that had an inner courtyard - it looks amazing the room is huge and well appointed - nice soaps - big flat screen tv with lots of English as well as other language channels - Huge Pool Area and the grounds are well manicured. But that's where it all stops.

The staff all seem to be following a script - and say yes to everything even though they can't do it. Example can I have breakfast at 06:30 the response was yes - but when I went to have breakfast the dining room was closed (by the way they do have one of the better breakfast and dinner buffets that I experienced in all of India). Also I asked for more towels well a couple hours and 3 phone calls later they showed up.

All in all a nice hotel - very clean - but the staff could be a bit nicer the travel desk a bit more accommodating and last thing they need a better business lounge (could not use the printer) and a dedicated kids area (place was overrun with screaming children when I was there)

Book it if its on sale - don;t pay full price and if you want an amazing experience there are a few luxury hotels down the street with better service.

Room Tip: ask for a inner courtyard room on an upper floor - do not stay in the main hotel as can be very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We have already shared your feedback with the team and assure you of exceeding your expectations whenever we get the chance to serve you again. Apologies for letting you down in certain aspects.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for a night (last weekend of Mar'14) in Jodhabai , the hotel location is excellent and is surely GRAND in terms of space and looks. Surely gives a feeling of staying in a big resort.
But one thing that is noticeable is the fact that the Water Fountain is not working ( not sure why) which was kind of a let down for us. Pool area is the nicest part of the hotel to spend some quality time. The breakfast is aawesomeeee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

An Excellent Hotel and a beautiful property, the Hotel is designed around Mughal architecture with a center Garden and small palace complex housing 8 rooms each with their own secluded gardens for added privacy. You feel like you are truly staying at a Mughal palace. The rooms are spacious, and the service is good. The Pool is one of the biggest and best in Agra. The children's play area is very well planned. The staff attends to your needs all the time. Tried their best to make you feel comfortable. We reached Agra early in the morning and were given a room at 9:00 and rather than the regular chekin time of 2:00 pm. we really appreciate the extra effort the staff goes to accomodate us.
But being a Star rated property there were issues that should not be there. Like the towels at the Pool were smelling of Spa oils and the attendant agreed that they borrowed the towels from the Spa.
The food at the Buffet was average though the spread was fairly good and covered 5 different cuisines.
Particularly the quality of the bread was below average we had better Rotis and Naans at the road side Restaurants.
I felt sad for this as the Hotel has the potential to be one of the best in Agra yet these small issues make the guest feel that they are not staying at a star rated Hotel. I hope the management take the criticism positively and try to work and improve.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor facing the Garden have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We will definitely work on improving upon our negatives.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Wyndham grand is grand in every aspect. The grounds are spectacular. The public areas pleasant and relaxing. The rooms are beautifully decorated , and the few rooms around the inner yard concept, really helps to feel in an intimate environment. The stuff is very helpful although sometime they misfire. The food I'd great but priced in a 7 star level.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We will definitely work on improving upon our negatives.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Apart from the location, the hotel is very beautifully made and gives you a very resort like feeling. The room, bathroom, outside, everything was very good.

The hotel staff and food esp the breakfast is also great!!

The experience of staying at Wyndham Grand was fab!! wonder why its at No 8 and not higher

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our room was okay but the whole complex needs updating. Waiters/waitresses were very welcoming and food okay but not brilliant. Enjoyed having a swim in the pool at the end of the day ! Pool was clean and although the whole place is tired it has a certain charm!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.