We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Taj Mahal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ideal for Taj Mahal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for the Taj Mahal and offers very well equiped and spacious rooms. The rooms are arranged in blocks and you can end up a long way from Reception and facilities. We had to move room as we could not get hot water, this seems to be an ongoing problem. Beware if charging laptops etc this hotel suffers from a lot of power outages. I would advise you check your aircon / heating and hot water before unpacking your case. Rajastan Restaraunt was ok but a bit over priced, the cafe upstairs offers reasonably good food. On the whole a good hotel.

Room Tip: Check everything works in your room before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel and its services.

We regret that during current times the power condition in a city is in a deplorable condition. Backup provision with us is in adequate to offer hot water and heating at the same time through generators. To add to our woes Agra has not been as cold since, last 60 years.

We thank you for your visit & hope you will recommend us to others.

Wishing you the best of 2013.

Thanks and Warm Regards,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    296
    155
    78
    67
See reviews for
316
298
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Good-

Location: Ok. It is located on the same road where all luxury hotels are located. It is not very far from the Taj Mahal.

General Décor: The rooms and the common areas are nicely done.

Food: The taste is very good and they serve decent portion sizes.

Service: They are very efficient, cooperative and polite.

Room: clean and spacious rooms with good furniture. Nice feel to the rooms.

The Bad-
Towels were not clean. Need better laundry service. Not what we would expect from a luxury hotel. I gave this feedback to them in writing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your candid feedback on our hotel and its services.

We regret that the laundry services and quality was not to your expectations. My team is working on improving this aspect at its soonest.

We thank you for your visit & hope you will recommend us to others.

Wishing you the best of 2013.

Thanks and Warm Regards,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel is rather far from the city (fort, Taj Mahal and staion) at the very end of a long road with hotels. Then again, the city itself isn't really that much to see - so there's not really that much advantage to being in the centre of town anyway.

Every year in Agra, the winter is on the cool side with fog a regular feature often throughout the day as well as the night. Most good hotels in cities with a cold climate realise that guests like their rooms to be warm and ensure the heating systems and hot water in the rooms work properly.

Yes, the lobby looks fancy. Yes, the gardens are large. Checkin said we were being upgraded to a larger room. Alas a long walk to the room in the open air when it's cold, walking into a building that was cold indoors, and having a cold room with only stone floor, no carpets or rugs, no working heating and no hot water is a serious downgrade in my eyes.

After an hour of repeatedly chasing reception, maintenance managed to bring an electric heater and fix the plumbing downstairs to allows us to have a hot shower. It seemed extraordinary that the maintenance people considered it very normal to bring electric heaters to bedrooms in winter - if this is the case why did it need so much chasing to ask for room heating in the first place ?

Once we were a bit warmer and cleaned up, we ventured back to the main area and began to form a different view. The woman at the travel desk is knowledgable and helpful - very useful for arranging a long distance car + driver to Delhi (the train was fully booked). The staff in the various restaurants are kind and very helpful, and the food in the Indian restaurant in the hotel is strongly recommended - far better experience than a similiar place in Jaipur. The staff at reception though seem to be useless muppets who are very good at posing in their gold uniforms but it's very difficult to understand what the reception staff actually manage to do - seems like they just want to just want to walk up and down a fashion show admiring themselves !

Would I go back here ? Maybe in summer I might give it another go, but I think in winter I would look to book somewhere else instead.

Room Tip: If going in winter (e.g. November to February), ask for a room with good heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for such a detailed feedback on our hotel and its services.

Regarding the cold indoors, rooms and hot water related issues, we regret that during current times the power condition in a city is in a deplorable condition. Backup provision with us is in adequate to offer hot water and heating at the same time through generators. To add to our woes Agra has not been as cold since, last 60 years.

We thank you for your visit & hope you will recommend us to others.

Wishing you the best of 2013.

Thanks and Warm Regards,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!! From the outside the hotel looks fabulous, the courtyard looks amazing - however when we walked into the rooms, they were a total let down!

The rooms were damp, horrible smell in room, phones in the rooms didnt work, the bath was overflowing, cold showers, the sauna didnt work. Food was average - nothing special!!

For the money that we paid for a 5* hotel, this was more like a 2*!! Definately not value for money!
There were many people complaining at reception on the day we left. Thankfully we were only staying there for one night. Even the reception staff were useless! Trying to charge us 900 rupees for a bottle of water that was 500 rupees - what a rip off. They didnt even have the courtesy to apologise for their mistake. Staff need a lesson in customer service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your candid feedback and we fully empathize with you and your discomfort. However, things related to electric heating and hot water went beyond our control and we regret that during current times the power condition in a city is in a deplorable condition. Backup provision with us is in adequate to offer hot water and heating at the same time through generators.

Although the entire team tried its best, we regret that we failed to make you comfortable and satisfy your basic needs. We hope to have your forgiveness during the stay and request you to give us another chance in the near future through a repeat stay or recommend it to atleast one more person.

You may like to write me directly for any future booking on gm@wyndhamgrandagra.com.

Wishing you the best of 2013.

Thanks and Warm Regards,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our Delhi-Agra-Jaipur trip. The hotel was new, clean and the staff were friendly but this is definitely not a 5 star. The courtyards are really nice and staying here is a good break from the chaos of the outside. The breakfast was average but the staff were really friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing your stay at Wyndham Grand Agra and we are equally disappointed that despite all our attends we were unable to provide you the expected level of services.

We are a young hotel, and not perfect. Therefore we depend considerably on our customers to give us their candid feedback in order to consistently improve.

Thank you for pointing out the couple of service flaws, correction of which will be expedited without delay through training and SOP’s.

Wishing you the best of 2013.

Thanks and Warm Regards,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Wyndham Grand is a nice property and it is fairly new in Agra. The hotel's landscaping and interiors are nice as they havent followed the route of Utilitarian Design. However the quality of the product if you look in detail is not 5 star luxury. The rooms are not particularly luxurious but they are clean and provide you the comfort you need for a 1 night stay. The beds and the duvets could have been better quality. Having said that I would still recommend this hotel for couples and families. The breakfast spread is really good however I was a little frustrated to have been charged Rs 270 for a bottle of water as there was no water at the breakfast. Hope the hotel is maintained well in the long run.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback. Based on your feedback drinking water is now been offered on every table as a practise during breakfast. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Please do recommend our hotel to friends and family and look forward to welcome you back at Wyndham Grand, Agra.

Best wishes,

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed @ the Wyndham for three nights during our Christmas 2012 trip in one of the "chamber" rooms - it has a little living area & dining table in addition to the sleeping area.

There was NO hot water in the bathroom. First two days it was lukewarm at best, the third day I had to have a cold water shower. This delayed our sight seeing trips, waiting for the water to warm up (as helpfully advised by the staff!) and on the last day I didn't dare give the kids a bath in case they fell ill thanks to the cold water.

The room heating didn't seem to have any effect at all. However, the additional electric fireplace helped us keep warm.

The room was spacious and clean and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast buffet excellent. The staff - polite. But what's the point of a luxurious looking hotel if the basic amenities are missing?

While I was checking out two different foreigners were making their dissatisfaction known to the staff.

One complained he was cold all the time (I guess his room didn't have the additional fireplace). Another lady was asked by the staff for her feedback and she replied that she didn't think they wanted her feedback as she was extremely dissatisfied. Interestingly, I, as an Indian, was not asked for any feedback at all.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the cold showers are are up to living here - room 260 - view over the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Wyndham Grand, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing your stay at Wyndham Grand Agra and we are equally disappointed that despite all our attends we were unable to provide you and your family adequate heating and hot water.

It is unfortunate that this particular winter has been a most severe in the last 60 years of in Uttar Pradesh. To add to our woes, the local power supplies have been hit very badly in the area the hotel is located in.

You not being given a feedback form during check out were an accident and not a deliberate attempt to prevent you from letting us know your experience. However, corrective action has been taken to ensure everyone is given an opportunity to express their experience during their stay or at check out.

We are a young hotel, and not perfect. Therefore we depend considerably on our customers to give us their candid feedback in order to consistently improve.

Please accept my gratitude for staying with us and an apology that your stay was marred by the hot water and room temperature issue.

With Best Wishes

Dhiren Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.