We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located, nice hotel but service just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj East Gate Road | Near Shilpgram, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well-located, nice hotel but service just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with our family of 4 (includes 2 girls, 10 and 5). We had reserved a Twin room but were shown a King, had to push to get a Twin. Main restaurant limited options for kids and pizza oven was out, dinner buffet didn't open until 7:30pm. Nice pool, well-appointed rooms, property just 1km from East gate of the Taj Mahal but nothing else nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul J, General Manager at Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. Thank you for choosing Radisson as your preferred destination.

The concerns highlighted have been duly noted and will certainly be addressed. Your feedback is appreciated and taken more seriously, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests.

I sincerely hope that you would treat this as one odd incident that you have experienced.

Reassuring you of best services at Radisson Hotels.

Sincerely

Rahul Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    621
    181
    52
    47
See reviews for
564
596
84
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Being an avid traveler and having stayed at almost every property Radisson (and many others) offers in India and outside, I'll have to rate this as perhaps my best "experience"!! You won't find anything extravagant about Radisson Agra, nothing you haven't witnessed before but the sheer hospitality and warmth with which the staff (from the durbaans to the housekeeping to the room service to the Managers to Nawaabs, yes there was a Nawaab!) treats you is bound to stay with you for a long time (at least till you find another experience to compare it with).
I stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days and was impressed by the cosy room, supremely comfortable bed (a highlight I must say!), chic bathroom and shower, prompt room service (including housekeeping) and friendly staff. The dinner at Dawat-e-Nawab is a must try for every 'Awadhi' food lover or anyone who needs a taste of the Mughal delicacies and cuisine.
A tad expensive, yes, the breakfast and in-room dining menu could do with more variety and a flexible price range.
Since it's super close to the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort (which one must visit), I'd love to see the hotel do something special for the couples staying there (a romantic candle-light by the pool or a couple's spa)!
On an unrelated note, for anyone visiting Agra, a visit to the Agra Fort must be a must and the view of the Taj Mahal from the Fort is mesmerizing...
I look forward to spending another weekend at Radisson, Agra!!!

Room Tip: Any Deluxe Room would do for two adults!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul J, General Manager at Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. Thank you for choosing Radisson as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who keep giving us the positive feedback which definitely gives our team members the thrust to perform even better.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Agra.

Sincerely

Rahul Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went to Agra with my family in the month of december and stayed at radisson agra. The best thing about the hotel is its location which is very near to Tajmahal. The rooms are not that big .You can see the Taj from your room. The hotel is too americanized in the sense that it gives you the feeling not indian. Can not comment about the food as i did not have my food in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel has everything you can expect from a western hotel. Great service, fine rooms, wifi, spa, swimming pool, etc. We were very happy with all the facilities and the staff. The spa was extraordinary.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul J, General Manager at Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. Thank you for choosing Radisson as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who keep giving us the positive feedback which definitely gives our team members the thrust to perform even better.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Agra.

Sincerely

Rahul Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the Taj East Gate in Agra, we were met by a boy at the door with a confused look on his face. He seemed to be the bellboy, so I motioned to my bags and he kind of shrugged and without a word pulled them inside the door. While he was doing so, I noticed he was wearing a small red badge that I'd see on most of the staff that said, "I'm new here, and I'm trying". That phrase sort of typified our stay at this hotel. It is nice enough, and new, but the staff leaves a lot to be desired.

Accommodations: Everything is very new (one staff member said the hotel is less than a year old) and appears to have been constructed with high-quality. The quibble here is that seemingly no attempt was given at presenting any local charm. The aesthetic is very modern and contemporary with the only acknowledgment of its geography being some available Indian cuisine and souvenirs in the shop. . If you just dropped me off in the hotel, I might think I was in Chicago. With a hotel so close to the Taj Mahal... you'd think they would have at least given a nod to the local culture.

Family-wise: There is a large room for children to play which is a nice touch for those traveling as a family. Bizarrely, when we went there a large group of hotel staff (in full uniform) where having a dance party in the room (I'm being serious). They all shyly slipped away when we entered with our children, but it was quite awkward and we felt like we were interrupting staff happy-hour.

*Please watch your bills in this hotel*. The manager kindly upgraded our room without charge (after some confusion in checking in) which was a very nice touch. However, one example of receipt-roulette was a room-service breakfast where we ordered black coffee and were charged for "Cafe Latte"s each at a rate equal to a bacon omelette. When I objected both to the rate and to the fact that a latte is a different thing than the instant coffee they gave, I was hassled by three levels of middle-management before the room service manager finally admitted that in their system they just had all coffee products under the "Latte" label and were fine with charging the extreme rate for it. He removed the charge because I complained, but it still is silly that a hotel trying to cater to tourists would have such a clunky food service payment system. Lastly, when checking out, the man showed me the bill and then ran my credit card for a charge 25% more! When I pointed out the discrepancy, he did not apologize but just said "oh [--]" and disappeared for several minutes while trying to correct the mistake.

Location: I will say the location for this is excellent. Easily within walking distance to the Taj East Gate.

Bottomline: Stay here for easy access to the Taj in a characterless, service-hampered, but comfortable and new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here only for a night so guess I cant really comment on the Staff and Service. But the ambience was amazing! Rooms are amazing, well furnished with a nice soft cosy and spacious bed!

We had to check out early since we was visiting the Taj and going off straight to Delhi. I liked the fact that they had an express breakfast option which allows you to parcel yourself a breakfast that you could have on the move. Although we were late for this the lady at the reception graciously responded to my request for a packed meal.

The Taj of course is just a short drive away from the Hotel which makes it even great!

All in all a short stay but loved it and would have liked to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul J, General Manager at Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. Thank you for choosing Radisson as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who keep giving us the positive feedback which definitely gives our team members the thrust to perform even better.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Agra.

Sincerely

Rahul Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean and a good value, situated just over a kilometer from the Taj Mahal east gate ... And within walking distance of the ticket booth. The food is good and wait staff friendly but slow to attend with morning coffee. The warts are, pool closes earlier than posted, they called our room every afternoon pushing their new restaurant, waking us up from our siesta, the free internet is not very stable and our requests for help on that were responded to quickly but ineffectively

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul J, General Manager at Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. Thank you for choosing Radisson as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heartwarming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who keep giving us the positive feedback which definitely gives our team members the thrust to perform even better.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Agra.

Sincerely

Rahul Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate

Address: Taj East Gate Road | Near Shilpgram, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agra has had an elaborate history of heartfelt hospitality. To give the perfect blend of modern feel and old generosity, Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road is dedicated to its Brand. It is one of the world’s foremost complete service hotel companies owned by Carlson Hotels across the world. Radisson Hotels are devoted to bring advanced, superlative service along with product excellence enveloped in authentic warmth for all the travellers. Marvellously structured with chic & contemporary design, Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road is replete with all the grand services. Located in the heart of the business and leisure precincts, within walking distance to the Taj Mahal of 01 Km, it is perfect amalgamation of young and fresh elements in every bit of it.With contemporary architecture, warm hospitality and its convenient location, the hotel is sure to please both business and leisure traveller. It offers 141 well appointed rooms & suites. It understands the leisure of fine dining and to satiate the travellers, it has 6 F&B outlets including Latitude- The 24 hours coffee Shop, Liquid Lounge-The Bar, Tea lounge, Pool Side Bar, 24 hours in room dining, Club Lounge Services and recently launched Nawabi Cuisine Specialty Restaurant- Daawat-E-Nawab. Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road also creates outstanding, unique events of relaxed elegance, style and perfection. Its meeting rooms provide more than 5,500 square feet of space ideal for corporate business meetings, board meetings, social events or private dinners for up to 500 guests along with 32000 Sq. ft. Clear Space with beautiful Landscape and separate entry and exit. A choice of contemporary or heritage styled rooms along with our new five-star meeting facilities makes the Radisson Hotel Agra Taj East Gate Road one of the leading hotels in Agra.It also has all the other facilities required for any traveller like Alive-The Spa, Alive-The Salon, Alive-The Health Club, Let’s Play-The Kids’ Room and Swimming Pool where one can connect with himself. Experience revival through rest, relaxation and rejuvenation like never before at Radisson Hotel Agra, Taj East Gate Road. It offers Courtesy transfer to Taj mahal on request and other concierge services like Travel Desk, Boutiques, Business Centre, Valet Service, Parking, Laundry, and Doctor on call & Foreign exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.