We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taj Resorts to your Saves list
Hotel Taj Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Shilp Gram, Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose the Taj Resort specifically for the location and it did not disappoint. Walking distance from the East Gate, we could see the Taj Mahal from the roof where there is a decent pool as well as places to sit and relax or eat. The hotel was peaceful, staff were helpful, and the area felt cleaner than the main street near the South Gate. The room was decent (after we asked to be moved from the almost window-less basement room that was first offered) with everything you could need.

There are a few places with better views of the Taj for dinner, namely Hotel Saniya Palace where the backpackers congregate, which has a sweet roof top restaurant with a front on, unobscured view. However the facilities at the Taj Resort are much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room upstairs - they tried to tell us the basement was the 'ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts, Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you liked the spacious rooms, breakfast, and rooftop restaurant in the hotel. Your comments are important for us to encourage the staff to provide better services to the guest. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon .Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    327
    172
    37
    42
See reviews for
161
297
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great rooms, wonderful hospitality, awesome food are just few words for the property. Swimming pool experience was like a cherry on the top. All this made my parents' 25th anniversary a memorable and joyous event.

Room Tip: "Paisa Vasool" experience ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel location can't be better than this one. it's right next to Taj and the traffic is strictly restricted on this road making the hotel a quiet and peacefull place to stay. You can buy entry tickets (to Taj) in he hotel itself and like us take a horse cart to the Taj. Food quality is good and the hotel staff is very fiendly. Rooms are clean though the bathroom is too small, maybe for the kids only. The price was surprisingly very low.

Room Tip: Don't take -1 or ground floor rooms. Take rooms on a higher floor with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you liked the location of the hotel. The hotel is situated walking distance of Taj Mahal with many other options within a radius of 3 kilometers from the hotel. Your feedback gives us valuable insights into what are important for our guests. It is very encouraging to know that all of these factors met with your expectations and contributed to your positive experience.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to once again extend our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to Agra.

Thank you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed in the Taj Resorts on my trip to visit the Taj Mahal. The hotel is very well located within walking distance from the Taj Mahal, which comes handy as the best time to visit it is during sun rise (Less people, beautiful colors). Room was very comfortable equipped with a great bed, nice shower, Cable TV and mini bar and offered a nice escape form the heat outside.
The central AC was too weak to my liking and i think there was a family of pigeons living inside, which was funny :)
The restaurant in the lobby was expensive but tasty. And the pool on the top floor has a really good service.
My favorite part of the whole place was the door man that salutes you when you come in and out of the main door. Thank you Sir ;)

Room Tip: When in India, always haggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are happy to know you like the service, food, pool, location and doorman. Your feedback is very important for us to improve. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visited Agra just a couple weeks back and it was trip advisor review which helped me decide my stay. So it's my duty to do my part.
Hotel Taj Resorts is a very good place to stay. The location is wonderful, very close to the Taj. The staff is great. All at an affordable price, that's the best part. I would just request them to provide some local flavours in the breakfast menu ( it's complimentary) .
I hope they maintain the standards.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

this hotel is about 700 meters from Taj Mahal entrance. Its location is its USP. Extremely quiet and very chilly in mornings. About 5 mins walk to the ticket counter in the opposite direction to Taj Mahal. Good service except for a funny restaurant manager who wanted guests to pick up their breakfast coupons from the front office desk (about 20 feet away) and then walk back to the restaurant with the coupon ! all the guests unanimously wondered. hotel is worth the budget. a definite recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 9AM and were pleased to find that a room was ready for my friend and I to already check in too which was appreciated.

We had a room on the 1st floor which was fine, nice bed, mini bar with free water, and decent shower. I have to echo other people's comments on here that new towels might be needed as they are looking a bit tired and sad. Wifi needs to be improved- even though the wifi box was just outside our room we seemed unable to pick up any signal whatsoever. Some English channels on the TV would also be appreciated!

We ventured up to the pool one afternoon which was nice, but did find that the staff at the restaurant were doing a lot of staring which made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

Food was fine, the daal was good, but I found the breakfast lacked a lot of inspiration and needed a bit more variety!

Best part of course is the location of the hotel; go out the hotel, ignore the rickshaws, turn right and just keep walking and you reach there in about 10 minutes. Lovely.

Staff members hankering after tips for showing me my room and not even bringing my luggage (another member of staff), or for bringing a hair driver to the room, is not appreciated- please set up a system where you have tips at the front desk so tips are split evenly between all staff!

After checking out and leaving our luggage, we went to Agra Fort and came back, exhausted and sweaty. One of the staff, I think he might have been the manager, offered us a room to quickly rest before our train and have a wash- no charge. Very much appreciated, and very kind; he also helped me check that my ticket onwards to Jaipur was no longer waitlisted. I can only hope that the remaining staff start to follow him more by example; I found the staff generally were not very friendly and smiles were not returned.

Overall, pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are happy to know you like the service, food, pool, location and doorman. Your feedback is very important for us to improve. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Address: Near Shilp Gram, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taj Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.