We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taj Resorts to your Saves list
Hotel Taj Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Shilp Gram, Taj Mahal (Estern Gate), Agra 282001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE PICKUP
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this well presented hotel in walking distance to the Taj. Our deluxe room was very clean and spacious. Service good and attentive.
Buffet Breakfast was good, however dinner was less than average (to put it nicely) and the view from the roof top did not make up for it...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    381
    196
    50
    46
See reviews for
192
345
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went to Agra on April 2013. i sent the e-mail to book this room and request extra bed but when i arrived to hotel , they didn't prepare extra bed for me. It didn't matter. Service is standard same as another hotel. Dinner was too slow , no people there on there roof top but i had to wait for long time. Advantage is only you can see Taj from this hotel. Finally i asked them for pay by credit card but i couldn't pay because credit card swipe didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay here! This hotel is well worth the price you pay for it. We had nice view room which was amazing. The view is just stunning. Our room was beautifully decorated. We were in India on our honeymoon and the hotel gave us a bottle of wine to congratulate. That was a lovely gesture. The hotel grounds are really fantastic - looks beautiful.

Enjoyed the breakfast; great variety. Only downside was that there was a bit of a wait to be seated for breakfast.

Service was great all around; from restaurant to staff. Loved our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The plus point of the hotel is it is very near to Taj Mahal eastern gate(700 Meters). The hotel is an average clean hotel with good room interior design. The breakfast is just fine. I like the roof top restaurant which has Taj Mahal view. Do not go dinner very late because the restaurant lights are very dim and of course it is not comfortable to have dinner with low lights. Do not book room under hotel restaurant. The sound from restaurant woke me up few times so i put on ear plugs for the rest of night. The WiFi coverage is not good enough. The main reason I choose this hotel because of the location only. Actually, you do need tour guide for Taj Mahal visit as the info from internet is more than enough. You can buy your ticket at nearby ticket office which is about 150 Meters from hotel. Please request temporary socks which is disposable when buying tickets under foreigner passports. if not mistaken it is cost you Rs700 (July 2013). You have to temporary socks when you are entering main dome only and dispose it once you come out from main dome of Taj Mahal. Just go around the taj mahal and get pararomic view of Yamuna reiver behind Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A perfectly priced hotel in such an awesome location. The botique hotel is so clean. Ample parking, away from the hustle bustle of Agra. Beautiful views of the Taj from the Terrace which also hosts a very clean pool. Tickets can be bought directly at the hotel. Walk about 10 minutes from the hotel on a non-traffic road and you will be rewarded with a gorgeous view of Taj. The room service,the free breakfast, the ever smiling staff and the budget prices makes this a perfect place. This is the place I am staying everytime I go to Agra. The only gripe - I was given a twin bed, when I had specfically requested for a King size. They however made up for their mistake, by offering a late check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you liked the location of the hotel. Your feedback gives us valuable insights into what are important for our guests. It is very encouraging to know that all of these factors met with your expectations and contributed to your positive experience.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to once again extend our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to Agra.

Thank you,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The good:
Great location, very good breakfast, some staff (dining room and housekeeping) are very nice.

The bad:
We did not book a room. When we arrived the price was DOUBLE the price on hotels.com. When i said thank you and showed signs of going away the price dropped in half.
We asked for a rickshaw for a short ride. The clerk at the reception said it was 300 rupees with the hotels driver. when the car came we asked the driver and he said 700 (the usual Agra trick).
Next day someone pickpocketed me and stole the room key. They charged us 500 rupees for a new key! And did not give us a new key so for the next day every time we came in the room we needed someone to open the door.
no hot water in the shower in the evening, towls are hard and old and so are the bed sheets. WIFI works only sometimes. the pool was dirty and birds were drinking from it - only when we came there they sent someone to clean it.
in conclusion - it is overpriced. For this price in India you could get a much better hotel and a different attitude..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begusarai, Bihar, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A hotel within a walking distance of the Taj ,I enjoyed the splendid services on offer here.The pool and the excellent food served made my stay extremely memorable.However the best part was the fact that one could enjoy the shrill brilliance of the grandness, that Taj is ,from the rooftop restaurant in the moonlight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and are very proud that our guests share their pleasurable experiences with others. We are happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations of service. I will share your comments with the rest of my team. Thank you for staying with us . We hope that will stay with us for future visits!

Thank you,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Address: Near Shilp Gram, Taj Mahal (Estern Gate), Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taj Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.