We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a wonderful city !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmstay to your Saves list
Palmstay
23, HIG, Taj Nagri, Phase 1 | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 161 Agra B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in a wonderful city !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

After reading lots and lots of reviews about the hotels in Agra, we were worried to find a clean and comfortable places within our budget, and finally we came across Palmstay. And we were really lucky to have spotted this one!
My wife and I stayed at Palmstay for a night. And we really wish we could stay longer!
We arrived in Agra at 3pm, and Varun dropped us to the ticket counter in his car, as we were running late. Taj is around 2 kms from Palmstay. The TDI mall is very close to this place.
Next day Varun's mom packed breakfast for us, since we had to leave by 5.30 am to catch a train.

All in all a great place to stay at and I would definitely stay here if I am in Agra again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Where do I begin ? I stayed with my husband in November and most places were sold out so called palmstay from the taxi and quickly booked a room. Arrived at 8 in the night and since their small kitchen was closed we ordered pizza which quickly came in a few minutes. Had a good chat with the young couple who run this place and we were flooded with suggestions on what to do and what not to do on not only agra but also our further destinations in rajasthan.

The couple who run this place are not your usual homestay or indian hosts. They are a very modern and well to do family who do this only because I think they have a large house in a perfect location. The owners not even bothered when we checked in & filled out paperwork and we hinted to pay on arrival and he just shrugged us and said to pay later at checkout. He told he is in the shoe business and works for companies in london and told us about his visits and an insight into the shoe fashion industry.

We made good friends and felt they were our mates more than our hosts. The rooms are basic and very very clean. Its got everything one would need. Shower needed a fix and it was fixed when we came back from the taj. super fast.

We are staying back in a few weeks. See you soon and look forward to a tikka & beer night as promised.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

After spending 3 nights in Mumbai we were so happy when we got to Agra and found Palmstay. Varun and his family made us feel right at home, they even took time out to help us organise our trip around Rajasthan. We can't thank them enough for the home cooked meals, clean room, hot showers, wifi and most of all the help and advice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We booked this place a month back as we had friends who had stayed with them some time back and were all praises about them. They were not wrong. not only did they move / change our bookings last minute but were also happy to cut short our 3 days original booking to 1 day without penalising or charging us. Who does that these days ? We were messed up with our plans and could only squeeze a day for agra instead of 3 days. Even though there rooms probably went wasted varun did not blink an eye.

Its more of a service apartment. The owners stay on the ground floor and guests on the first floor where there is a cosy sitting area where travelers work on laptops and chat up. A mini kitchen serves breakfast. Rooms have wifi and satellite television. Hot water is plenty.

A truly fantastic place for the price - £ 20 for a double with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have visited Agra last week with a my family of 8-stayed in Palm Stay for 3 days(10--12th Nov).Let me speak about the property is exactly as shown in the website,in fact much much better,there are no hidden cost for anything- and all credit goes to Mr.Varun absolute honest person.Right from check in till check out he and his whole family is very generous and helpful,always ready to help us.

He suggested us from where to start the day so that we can cover most of the places.
11th NOV was our Anniversary again varun came into picture and taken me to best available hotel around Agra.

The rooms are basic but neatness & cleanse are top of the range with very good ambiance-during our stay we never feel for a second that we are strangers to Varun family vice versa.The most important thing is that he booked my rooms without any advanced-really shocked at the same time feel great about his genuineness..Full marks to him & his families hard work,to provide high level of personalized service during our stay.

God Bless VARUN,we will be back very soon.

Thanks,
Mirza Yameen Baig

its a other city

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I spent only one night there but was quite happy about it. The rooms / house are clean and functional, not very into detail though but for one night is just fine. Breakfast is made in front of you with lovely potato bread etc.

Location is not that great, you have to walk to the main street, which is ok and get a taxi but wouldnt walk around there during night - lots of construction going on with people living on the street around, seemed to me a little conspicuous. But felt safe inside the house with the guardian and double locks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This place was an easy place to like. They made it feel like home as soon as we got there, told us what was on the menu, and showed us to our nice comfortable rooms. There were no formalities, no awkwardness. Just pure home auro. This was a perfect beginning to our india trip

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmstay

Address: 23, HIG, Taj Nagri, Phase 1 | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Palmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.