We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specialty Indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peshawri

Peshawri
Tajganj | ITC Mughal, Agra 282001, India
(91)(562) 4021700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 170 Restaurants in Agra
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York, NY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Specialty Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Northwest Indian frontier food. Specialty menu, so be aware - e.g., no rice, small menu. Very small, reservations essential.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food inflated prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is the same food as Bukhara and it's just as expensive. Everything was delicious, but seriously $100 bucks for some Kebabs and Tandoori Chicken. Come on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“NORTHWEST COOKING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were staying at the Oberoi Amarvilas but made the trek over to the ITC Mughal for dinner at Peshawri. We had spent the day touring the Taj Mahal and wandering the streets and alleys of Taj Ganj. We were ready for a quiet dinner.

Our taxi driver dropped us at the ITC an hour before our 7:00PM reservation at Peshawri. After enjoying a martini in the ITC’s Maikhana bar, domestic gin of course, we headed down to Peshawri. As we descended the stairs into the restaurant, I suddenly had the feeling that the restaurant might not be open. The place was unusually silent given the comings and goings of tourists in the ITC’s grand lobby. Presently, the maître d’ appeared. I had made reservations some weeks before via the ITC’s website, but the staff seemed surprised when I mentioned this. No matter, there was only one other occupied table. It looked like we were certain to get our quiet dinner.

We were shown to a table with a bench seat and small stool along the wall. The white faux-stone walls reflected harsh fluorescent lighting, but the spot was comfortable nonetheless. Our waiter appeared and presented us with menus painted on a slab of wood. We ordered mutton and rice, which was duly noted by the waiter. “You must have dal. We are famous for our dal.” We agreed and were then told “I will bring bread too”. OK.

The other table cleared out and we had the place to ourselves. Our mutton, dal, rice and bread arrived and we tucked in. I’ve been to Peshawar and our dinner was a nice facsimile of what you’ll find there. Not bad.

Peshawri is a chain and it feels like it. It’s a decent formula, but lacks a soul. If you’re staying at the ITC, it’s worth a try. If you’re making a special trip for dinner at Peshawri, I wouldn’t.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive with average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

On the second night visited this restaurant as it was highly recommended on trip advisor. The food was average and as other reviews noted the seating was awkward and uncomfortable. Not sure why they don't just change the seating to respond to that criticism. We ordered two entrees, 3 naan, 1 order of daahl, and 3 cokes. The final bill was 9500 rupees. This was for four people and there was not alot of food. We compared this to pinch of spice which was more food, better meal, ordered more items and was half the price. We also ate at dasaprakash which was 1/4 of the price. My rating is solely based on the value for money and hence we found it to be poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best place to savor Indian cuisine away from Home ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place just like ITC Bukhara, New Delhi serves the authentic Indian cuisine. The Dal Peshawari (Black Lentils) and Naan are to die for, kebabs and tikka's were equally gastronomic. Seating however is a bit uncomfortable and prices are steep like any other 5 star but the luxe experience and good service ITC offers you makes up for it. Will definitely return for an occasional splurge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peshawri also viewed

Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Peshawri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peshawri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.