We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Agra!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peshawri

Peshawri
Tajganj | ITC Mughal, Agra 282001, India
(91)(562) 4021700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 188 Restaurants in Agra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Agra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you find yourself in the area, DEFINITELY go to Peshawri! Delicious Indian food - naan, paneer, tandoori..... so delicious!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    42
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“delicious but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very much enjoyed this Agra restaurant offering authentic Indian cuisine in an authentic Indian atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and enthusiastic while the ambiance certainly added to the culinary experience. I have to say the prawns stood out as being the most tasty and tender I've ever tried in my life; absolutely delicious. Everything else was good although the leg of lamb was just ok and was a bit on the bland side.

A few deficiencies worth mentioning would be the price tag... OMG ! I didn't really pay attention to this when ordering food and wish I had. Also, the furniture, although chic and culturally trendy was extremely uncomfortable.

Go to this restaurant and enjoy the prawns but be aware of the high prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were brought here by our hosts and enjoyed everything immensely. It was our first real meal in India and despite loving Indian food I was a bit wary, simply because of the unknown...would it be too spicy, overwhelming, etc etc....And it was not either. Fantastic grilled shrimp, chicken (can't speak to the lamb, I don't do lamb, anywhere), the lentils were amazing. And, one of my traveling partners, who said he didn't like Indian learned that he actually loves Indian food! We didn't pay the bill but it was an exceptional meal and worthy of a hefty price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sad and a lot of money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile


While service was friendly, it was also overwhelming. I felt a tremendous pressure to order, eat, and leave (even though the restaurant was empty. (That being said the chefs happily posed for my pictures and seemed lovely). Ambience-wise, it had potential if only they had dimmed the lights! My husband ordered a mojito -sickening sweet so I stuck with wine. We had their signature lentils dish - overwhelmingly creamy, no spice. The lamb kabob was fatty and difficult to eat. Definitely NOT worth the money!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is one of my favourite restaurants...Peshawri kabab, Dal Bukahara, Paneer Khurchan are just amazing dishes. Every time I have been to their restaurant, I have been amazed by the quality of their food. They have a very limited menu, about 10-15 veg and non-veg dishes each and you are expected to eat using you hands. You are supposed to sit on stools....but thats how Peshawri is at all ITC restaurants. A dinner with a couple of drinks would set you back by about 5k, but go their just for the amazing and delectable flavours, that you wont get at many places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peshawri also viewed

Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Peshawri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peshawri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.