We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic experience..!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dayal Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dayal Lodge to your Saves list
Dayal Lodge
25 - New Agra | Dayalbagh Road, Agra 282005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Delhi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pathetic experience..!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our first time stay at this Lodge. I went there after seeing such good reviews . But the trauma started when we checked in there. We went on 22 June 2012, a time when temperature was around 44.0 c. Room provided to us had a so called AC which was merely working on a blower not on compressor. I have visited with my parents who are elderly and needed rest after a long journey. When the non functional AC was reported to the reception we had its owner Amol Dhir visiting our room. As per him AC was working fine and inspite of our request he refused to change our room even though rooms were non occupied. I was taken a back by his arrogance. He even threatened us by telling he is a known individual in that area. I had no option at that time as I had my parents with him but to spend that night in that cheap lodge. We were forced to deal with that pathetic condition in such a terrible hot weather. Even Room which we booked was the Top paid room which had cockroaches roaming freely. Even food which we ordered was horrible and tasteless and a complete waste of money. When I told Mr. Amol Dhir that this experience will be shared by me then his response was " Your review won't matter much to me ".. Well hope this experience helps you in taking a better decision.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It's our first time visit to India and our first intention was to visit the Taj at Agra. Needless to say that we were fascinated by the beauty of the Taj. Anyway, during our 3 days, 2 night staying at Dayal Lodge, we got decent service from the authority. They tried their best to serve the visitors specially the foreigners like us. We choose the Lodge for two reasons: it's affordable and more closer to the Agra Fort and the Taj. So, we could roam around the Taj without any tension. The food quality wasn't up to the mark. I recommend the room at the south corner will be the best. Overall, Dayal Lodge will help you in a convenient way to explore Agra within a limited budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dayal Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for such a candid review. Since Feb '12 we have improved a lot on the food we serve, from qualified chef to decent servers. Hope you have a finger lickin' Indian food next time you stay with us. Keep spreading the word. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed during my official trip for seven days, food was so deliciously mom-like that for the first time I didn't mind staying in a hotel for so long. Big kudos to the proprietor for being kind enough to enable wifi in my laptop for almost no charge. Such gestures win guests.

Room Tip: I preferred staying in a superior room, the room in the corner was calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmolDhir, Owner at Dayal Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thanks for your review sir. We look forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

An home away from home. I came to visit agra for 10 days and chose this place based on couple of recommendations....things I liked......helpfel owner, knowledgeable staff, affordable prices....will surely recommend it....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Have stayed at dayal lodge twice, and would be staying there again very soon
Nothing very great about the lodge, ya i agree with the earlier review that the service is good
Overall a decent and clean place to stay if you are putting up in this part of the city

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a great little guest house located in uptown about 20 minutes from Agra Fort, about 30 minutes from the Taj, and less than 5 minutes away from the Rathasoami Ashram. The rooms are clean and the two single beds in the room we stayed in were comfortable. There was also a TV with cable, a large bathroom with a marble sink, and an efficient AC unit.

What really sets Dayal Lodge apart is the service. The proprietress, Mumta, is one of the nicest ladies I've met on any continent. Upon checking in she gave us her cell number, and when I needed water, extra blankets and pillows, etc, she immediately provided them. She takes a genuine interest in her guests and can give good advice about seeing the sites in Agra. Most impressive of all, when my partner and I were lost in an auto-rickshaw she literally ran out to the street and found us. She then gave us some clothing we had left behind in our room, flagged another auto to take us to the train station, and called later to make sure we had made our train. More money might get you obsequious hordes of peons, but the best service in Agra only costs 750 rupees a night.

  • Liked — The great level of service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dayal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayal Lodge

Address: 25 - New Agra | Dayalbagh Road, Agra 282005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Dayal Lodge was established in the early 60s. Occupying a site near Dayalbagh that reflects Mother Nature's kindness to Agra – the city of Taj Mahal and Capital of Mogul Emperors. Expansion and renovation over the years have maintained the 'Dayal Lodge' in its place as one of the top budget lodges in the region." Featuring 16 well furnished rooms equipped with all modern basic amenities, guest services include our full-service 24 hr. made-to-order kitchen, activity and tour liaising, in-house laundry facilities, local airport/railway station transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dayal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.