We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic with just like your hometown and dream home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 hotels in Ooty
pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic with just like your hometown and dream home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Excellent hotel... far from main ooty centre rush.. located on hill .. nice vicinity of nautre with lot of cottages homes

Do book cottages!!!! REally enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    165
    103
    29
    38
See reviews for
167
158
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

i and a friend made an impromptu decision to drive to ooty and hence didn't have any prior hotel reservation, we got the hotel lakeview no at the back of a bus on the way to ooty and made the booking about 1-2 hrs prior to arriving. Fortunately a couple of cottages were available.
The best part of the hotel as it's name suggests is that its placed next to the ooty main lake and thus provides of excellent scenic pleasures. Their are 100+ cottages with various upgrades available and they provide for comfortable and pleasant stay. The basic amenities of fireplace and common room with dinning table provide adequate comfort to deal with chilly ooty nights!
the room service and food is decent with veg food having a slight upper hand when compared with non veg.
Overall a comfortable place to stay in ooty that too at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

It is good place to stay whoever loves calm location and cottage type stay. But front office guys take more time to admit. Rooms are clean and food is also ok. But we need to wait more time. Also room's interior could have constructed well.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I went there with my wife for our honeymoon trip.

The room quality was average. You can tolerate that, not so bad. But when it comes to food then better you should seek some other option. Never order anything from the North Indian food menu. Its very costly and not value for money. Again if you want to go outsomewhere to eat then its too far from this hotel.

The location is good. Its name is Lakeview but alas !! you can't see the lake unless you walk atleast half a kilometer from the hotel. But still its a good site surrounded by hills.

If you want your wif should not scold at you then avoid this place. You can enjoy with friends but not your partner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Individual cottages offer good privacy. Affordable room service rates. In short a nice play to stay in ooty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

A nice place to stay with family. The cottages were good but looked a bit old. The hotel is located in the outskirts of the city, so everytime you need to go to the main city, you need to hire a taxi or an auto..
The hotel restaurant is really good and the food was very tasty.
There is no view of the lake from the cottages unlike its name suggests as the trees have grown up and it very much depends on the cottage you check in..
Overall, it was good and we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghaziabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

the trip was really fantastic i was there for a week . when i was going there i felt nothing special but when i reached there my feeling was just unbelievable. after reaching my hotel room and i looked outside window my eyes was just stunned after watching the view outside the hotel that was wonderful. i just want to say that if u r going ooty than HOTEL LAKEVIEW is the place where u should stay. near this hotel there is a wonderful lake where u would like to stay whole day.

  • Liked — dinning
  • Disliked — shooping
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.