We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore, India
1 review
“An average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had stayed in this hotel with my cousins for a couple of days. The rooms were pretty good with fast room service. I was totally disappointed with their complimentary breakfast. The variety of food was bad. The food from the A' la carte was also bad. It is located at a very prime location with an easy access to railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    181
    107
    31
    41
See reviews for
182
168
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very bad experience.
1. Tap water was yellowish in color with offensive smell
. 2. In this season they supposed to provide the room heaters but they didn't. If you ask for a heater then there will be extra charges of 375/- with tax.
3. No room kettles even in Suite room.
4. Only one blanket is given and because of very low temp you can not adjust with it. If you ask for extra they will give you after 1 hr.
5. They provide room service but every time waiter ask for tip.
6. The rooms are just okay, not very clean, stinking 7. The beds were also bad. This is the first and last time I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed 2D/2N and we felt great. The place is calm, quiet and safe as well. Its really good for families. Ample parking space available. Tour package can be booked from their dedicated travel desk. Recommended to couples, families..

Room Tip: Ask for a new renovated cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was a nice resort, we stayed 2 days here from 2nd july 2014 to 4th july 2014, its a nice place for honeymooner's and for those looking some romantic retreat, and also highly recommended for families.
However on the downside, the tarrif is steep for a resort like this, also the basic aminity like fireplace which is required almost 10 months a year if you dont have a heater, is available on chargeable basis and that too very steep at about 150/- an hour, which didnt go well with us and may either not go well with most of the guests,restaurant food is average and service is not at all professional

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was our family trip to Ooty and I think it is the best place to stay there. everything in the hotel was near perfect, be it rooms, view from the room and hotel landscape was awesome.
Serivce was a issue in the hotel and food quality was average too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked 2 cottages during June 2014 for 3 days. This hotel is located near the Ooty lake and close to city center which makes your movement quite comfortable. we saw many hotels during our trip of Ooty and i think it is one of the best place to stay in Ooty. We booked the Deluxe cottages. The cottages are nice and clean but the garden in front of it is not so exciting. We found that garden near other expensive cottages are more well maintained with flowers and chairs. The restaurant is also well maintained and you can have your meal there. We heard that there are not so good places to eat in Ooty so we mostly stuck to the Hotel restaurant for dinner. The breakfast was not complimentary with Deluxe cottages which was disappointing to us. It is also pretty expensive so we used to do breakfast outside.

My suggestion to the hotel manager would be to provide equal services for all kind of cottages. The place is great to stay and enjoy your vacations but small issues like this do disappoints travelers.

Room Tip: Check properly for details before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had my greatest time of life, my honeymoon here in the hotel. The staying, location, food, stuff, ambience all are just perfect. It is not within the city but by the city which gives you the best feelings. Both lake and hills are visible from room which makes your morning too refreshing.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages for staying....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.