We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lakeview to your Saves list
Hotel Lakeview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

1. Please don't go by the looks, its an average resort. even the suite had some issues
2. Room service staff is super rude, specially the guy who takes order however, restaurant staff is very friendly
3. Hotel is around 4 kms outside Ooty
4. Overall, I got 50% discount on the deal and hence, its was a good buy for 3600 for two nights

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to clarify a few details regarding Hotel Lakeview, Ooty.

We are a budget hotel and charges budget rates only. Sir’s impression that Sir got a 50% discount is not correct. Please find our published tariff on: http://www.hotellakeview.com/tariff.htm , to give Sir an idea of our actual rates.

Kindly also note that the Room Service staff that spoke to Sir rudely has been removed from duty and does not work with us anymore.

Hotel Lakeview, Ooty is located on the western boundary of the Ooty Lake. The hotel boundary is also the official boundary of the Ooty Lake. I am attaching a copy of the Google maps link showing the exact location of the Hotel.

https://maps.google.co.in/maps?expflags=enable_star_based_justifications:true&ie=UTF8&cid=5028294114493502742&q=Hotel+Lakeview&iwloc=A&gl=IN&hl=en

The hotel is located 2 kms from the City Center and 1.5 Kms from the Ooty Railway station and bus stand.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression of our resort.

Sincerely Yours,

Sabitha,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    222
    126
    37
    46
See reviews for
226
197
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited Ooty on 31st Dec for the New Year night stayed at Lakeview hotel. I had visited this hotel in earlier and had enjoyed the stay that time. So revisited the place again and loved it. It has been maintained very well, courteous staff and prompt service. Nice view of the valley and lake from the cottages.

I would love to visit the place again and I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the Villa if you are travelling with children as they get play area in front of the cottage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is said to be built on 8 acres of space and well the same can be seen. Parking space has been provided in front of cottages and plenty of open space for kids to enjoy. As I have kids and wanted open space for them to move around, this hotel did not disappoint me. The location is also nice, next to Ooty lake. Only the villas faces the lake, however the lake is walking distance from the hotel. If anybody is visiting in winter, then they should opt of room with fireplace (which is available from suite onward) . It was nice experience and comfortable sitting in front of fire and enjoying the evening time. They charge Rs 120 for the woods which will be sufficient for at least 1-1:30 hours. Also the room service has improved. As I have read some review that they take time for the room service but during my visit I got prompt delivery (within 20-30 min). But one piece of advice, if you are ordering for dinner then place the order by 8:30 PM else lots of items in the menu will not be available after that. If you have a car, there is a man who cleans the car for Rs 80. Overall a good experiance

Room Tip: Ask for them to give room that has been newly renovated. Also a room with fire place is advantage i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Lake view this dec (21-24), Its clearly value for money hotel, Good cottages, nice location and clean rooms, and 24hr hot water + a fire place also.
Only negative is you need to pay for the room heater if you need one.



Room Tip: You dont need to get wood from the hotel for the fireplace, just go to any wood depot and buy 10kg o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stay was good. Hotel is located at scenic location . Rooms were clean . Hotel is located near the lake and we get good view from hotel. Its one of the renowned hotel in ooty.

Overall value for money . I recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Here is my edited review which I hope now satisfies your criteria.


Subject: Hotel Lakeview
Location: Ooty, Tamil Nadu, India, Asia
Title: Very disappointed
ID#: 187686752

My client and I had booked for two nights, but decided within an hour of arrival that we would stay only one night and look for other accommodation in Ooty.

Service is poor. It took three requests to get towels brought to the room. Although promised, toilet tissue was not provided. The electricity was not on at sunset, and it took them three requests and half an hour wait for them to turn the generator on.

Their publicity claims to offer a magnificent view of the lake. Well, you can perhaps get a tiny glimpse of the water, but it is by no means a "magnificent view". Mostly the view is the row of cottages in front of you.

They also claim that the property is beside a lake. Untrue. It is not beside the lake. It is 10 to 15 minutes walk to the lake.

We had only one meal in the restaurant there, which was one meal too many. My friend, who is an accomplished chef, said that her soup was dreadful.

I would not recommend this property at all. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay in Ooty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

You had made a booking only for one night and never for two nights with our hotel; and the booking was made through Expedia. Kindly refer your Expedia reservation ID: 378702035, booked on Oct 19th 2013 at 11:37 am.

At the time of departure to our shock Sir demanded a travel agents commission for your room, stating that, you had made a booking straight through the hotel and being a travel agent yourself, you were entitled for a commission. The hotel could not honour your request because we had received your reservation through another travel agent (Expedia).

Further enquiry also brought to our notice that, after your had made your request for extra towels, you were not available in your room anymore and the room was locked. We have a hotel policy that we do not enter guest rooms without the prior permission of the staying guest. Only if the room keys are handed over at the reception will a hotel staff enter the room – a copy of the guest-briefing sheet which was handed over to you on your arrival mentions this.

Furthermore, on the day of your stay there was no power shut down by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board at Ooty. Hotel Lakeview, has a full back up generator and switches on automatically the moment there is a power breakdown.

Please also note, the hotel is spread over 8 Acres of sprawling terrace slopes facing the lake from its western side. The hotel boundary is also the official boundary of the Ooty Lake. It is true that all 123 cottages do not face the lake. We have both valley facing and lake facing cottages. I am attaching a copy of the Google maps link showing the exact location of the Hotel, incase you still have a doubt. We would appreciate your opinion on the location of the hotel, once Sir visits the Google map link.

https://maps.google.co.in/maps?expflags=enable_star_based_justifications:true&ie=UTF8&cid=5028294114493502742&q=Hotel+Lakeview&iwloc=A&gl=IN&hl=en

The comment that Sir has put up can only be considered to be one put out in vengeance against our hotel, just to tarnish our image just because we did not accede to your obnoxious demand of paying you a travel agents commission, to which Sir is not entitled at all. Any travel agent entitled to a TAC does not even have to ask us at all. Being the largest hotel property in Ooty, we deal with over 2500 travel agents across the world.

This being the situation, it is only appropriate that Sir withdraws your review on “Trip Advisor”.

We look forward to serving you sometime in the future.

Thanks & Regards,

Sabitha
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.