We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cottages but bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lakeview to your Saves list
Hotel Lakeview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice cottages but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here during our last visit to Ooty in September 2013, while we quite liked the cottages (well situated facing a lake, well maintained)
But there was really no distinguishing factor between the superior cottages/ deluxe...except in pricing.
Food was horrible, room service is poor ( by the time food reaches your cottage it is cold)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    224
    126
    37
    46
See reviews for
229
197
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Pros:

Excellent Location
Our room had got the view of lake and garden area in front
Room had fire place for which to light up we have to pay a decent 100rs for a bunch of log
Good response from the hotel staff to our calls
Hot water geyser though slow but effective
Just 1km walk to boathouse
worth the money

Cons:

We had booked for a suite cottage but when we reached there they offered me an upgradation for some 250rs extra to the executive cottage with lake view and all. later i came to know that they had overbooked on that day.

Bad, Pathetic, horrible food at restaurant. breakfast only buffet @ restaurant, if ordered to room, it would take min 45 min, so we skipped breakfast at that place

The guy who came up to light up the fireplace spoke some language, we couldn't understand a bit

Rooms, simple and nothing much to boast of

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location was nice but a bit away from the bus stand (2km). If you have a car it's convenient or else its a long walk since local transport is not that frequent.
Room service is something they have to improve as you have to repeatedly call them to get anything you need.
Rooms were nice and clean.
Do not make the mistake of ordering food as it is really bad. Its overpriced and not worth it. Local cuisine in town is much better and reasonable. Tea or coffee however is decent and can be ordered.

Room Tip: I think the suites are much better than the villas as they have the same facilities and a very simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The overall experience is average. The rooms are cold, a small heater (charged for) which the hotel provides is in adequate. The room service menu is limited if you plan on staying for a few days. I got my finger cut from a nail which was sticking out of one of the chairs. The nail had varnish on it like the chair, which means the nail has been sticking out for a long time now. At the breakfast buffet (Charged separately) the utensils were mostly wet, when we wiped them with tissues we found that there was still some residue of food on them. The staff was more than helpfull & curtious, I give them 5 stars for it.

Room Tip: ask for the cottages with the fire place, the fire is a welcome comfort from the coldness in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good hotel and well priced. Rooms are nice and clean. Food is good. Located just at the end of the main lake in Ooty, around 2 kms from Ooty bus stand. Location is very scenic, bit on the top of the hill. View from the cottage is very good. Even the tours and travel service is good and reasonably prices. The card swipe machine in the hotel sometimes work and sometimes don't, so better take out cash before reaching the hotel. The resort becomes very beautiful with all the lights on during evening hours. The resort is pretty big with many cottages, so no problem with availability even in peak season.

Room Tip: All cottages are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is nice. It is located beside the Ooty lake. But only a few rooms are lake facing. Rooms are comfortable. The bed is a bit smaller in size, though. Location is good. Staff is good and room service is very fast and great. Hot water was running 24*7. The bed should be a bit bigger in size. All the rooms should have some heating mechanism as it was very cold during the night in Ooty in October. The location is good, center of the city. There are many places nearby that one can visit. Doodabetta peak is nearby. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with fireplace if you are going during winter as it is chilling in Ooty during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed in hotel lakeview, ooty on 11.10.13 to 13.10.13. The resort is really wonderful.
The service of the restuarant . house keeping , travel desk, reception & reservation is really amazing. Lake is just near to hotel. We went a walk during the evening time .Wow ! what a greenish place. The hotel is situated in a nice location. The price is very reasonabal comparing to other hotel. We have booked our stay in hotel website. No confusion, no tension. Our kids enjoyed the stay. There is big lawn where kids can play without any disturbance. If we need a relaxation just book the cottages in hotel lakeview.

Room Tip: all the cottages are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.