We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel, but service can be improved!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lakeview to your Saves list
Hotel Lakeview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel, but service can be improved!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

To be frank, i loved the hotel and would have rated it higher but for the faltering Service...we stayed as a group of friends for a day ( stopover). The adverts on the way to Ooty got us curious to check out the place...

Pros:
Beautiful and scenic property.
Excellent rooms with well maintained bathroom ( impressed with the budget pricing for a well maintained property)
Fire place included
Easy check in & availability of rooms.. (we did not book the place)
Scenic view of lake and lawn as we opted for the executive room
play area for kids

Cons:
Away from the city
Constant follow up for some housekeeping service ( only dampener for us)

In my view an excellent hotel with a budget price tag, improving the room service will do them wonders.

Room Tip: Choose the 1st row of Rooms ( executive)... to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    197
    118
    34
    43
See reviews for
203
181
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pathetic room service, food, cleanliness. We stayed there for 3 days, and all 3 days they didn't clean the room and toilets in spite of informing them and handing over the keys. Its very expensive. If you order for a tea/coffee it will be served after 30-45 mins. We never had such a worst coffee/tea in life time, Food is pathetic, restaurant is not clean and tidy. Very bad place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were able to reach hotel only at 9:50 and dinner timing was upto 10 pm but they refused to take order, we were able to get pulao and biryani after much persuasion, they also served cofee after a lot of begging.
The cottages are at different heights, and difficult for old people to climb up and down. There is no arrangement for old people to go up and down.

People who are weak or handicapped should never stay here.
Cottages are very old and not very clean. Even water was muddy. And there was no explanation for it. They charged Rs 350 per day for heater and anoth
Rs 300 for providing pillow and blanket for a child with us.
Breakfast was good. The idlis were the softest I ever had anywhere before.But service was just horrible. We have to call the waiter for cleaning tables, even after he has cleaned it tables were wet. We forgot to give the keys for room cleaning ad nobody reminded us. After coming back in the evening when I requested whether the rooms can be cleaned up the reply from other side was a terse and arrogant NO.I have never heard such an arrogant reply

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Ooty just by chance and it was not in our original itinerary.

As we did not have any bookings, we went for the search of the hotels.

First attempt we stumbled upon this property, the property is vast, clean, well maintained.

Almost every room of total 123 rooms has access to car right infront of the porch.

the rooms just adequately spaced, with a good front drawing area.

The breafast was good, tasty, buffet style but not complementary.

the charge was really value for the money we paid for. definitely recommended.

Though name suggests lake view, there was no view of lake from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a day and nothing was provided by the hotel not even towels in the bathroom. Rooms were small and it was really a disappointed that LAKE view doesn't have any view of LAKE from any room. Avoid it if you have other option as it doesn't give any value to you money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an excellent resort in Ooty and is really worth for your money.We reached there around 1 PM, the staff at the front desk were really courteous and we got the cottage within 5 mins. Room condition was excellent, well maintained bath rooms. I think this is one of the first big resorts in Ooty, but the condition is still good. Very calm and quite place, an ideal place to relax.

It is a little bit far away from the city, so for those who don't have a car may be a bit difficult in terms of accessibility. But one plus point is TTDC has opened one more boat house nearby with an excellent children play area but less crowded comparing to the main boat house, it is just a 5 minute walk from the resort.

There is a stationary shop with in premise and you can walk in and buy at MRP rate. I didn't have a chance to have food at the restaurant, but when checked the menu looks like a bit over priced.

The checkout was also hassle free, although it was a little bit crowded, I got my bill within 5 mins. Overall it was a pleasant experience and if I visit again I may prefer same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed there for a night with some minimal expectations!! Good location, but pathetic staff, bad food service, and unhelpful staff, although they are trying. The owner apparently is NOT a hotelier, and hence the problem. Dont get fooled by directions of this hotel all over Ooty... it is just to trap you. All rooms need renovation quickly.. Internet is charged at exorbitant rates. A cup of normal tea is over $1 a cup in this tea producing area of the country.

Room Tip: Don't bother about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.