We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   No. 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

it was beautiful place to stay. its away from the market and it's chaos. the view is awesome. the activity room had good options for the kids. the MC got us playing games and we enjoyed a lot. the food is good but could be better. overall very warm welcome and stay at the resort. the staff was very courteous.

Room Tip: ask for valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    39
    16
    15
See reviews for
99
66
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been a member of sterling for almost 2 decades now and have visited around 5 of thier properties across the country. By far and most convincingly, Ooty Elk hill was the worst experience ever. Not sure is it the local management, the time of our visit, the property or was it the change in overall management. Leaking faucets, dents on walls, broken door knobs and worst customer service. Just one person at the reception during peak hour of checkin (12pm) does not speak volumes of seriousness & customer service. I understand they were in midst of renovation, but providing third class rooms and even worse support is not what epitomises Sterling. Hope the management does something about this or take a leaf out of thier Kodai-By the lake's staff services. Our family of 6 faced every single problem possible from check in to check out. The local Ops Manager probably needs to work in a roadside hotel with his attitude and language. Agreed it was the peak season but aren't you guys trained and supposed to be competent enough to handle the rush?

Room Tip: Ask for the valley facing rooms and the one in the main building which houses the front office. Anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having paid a decent price for the Hotel Booking almost a month in advance, I expected a wonderful experience with this Resort of Sterling on Elk Hill. But, I was surprised to see the way I was treated. First of all I had booked a Jr. Suite (Lowest Grade Room available with them) but when I had checked in I was told that I am being offered an upgraded room i.e. Deluxe Room.

When I checked in I find the Wash Basin totally choked up and the water doesn't drain out. Even the door latch of the Wash Room jammed and couldn't be used. After contacting the concerned person, we had to wait for half n hour for a plumber to come. Since we had already planned a sight seeing we just handed over the room keys to him to sort out both the things before our return.

On our return we saw there is no water in the taps, again a wait for half an hour to get the water started. After a sigh of relief that we shouldn't have any other problem further... we start using the wash basin and to our surprise the drainage water from the wash basin is now leaking from the drainage pipes and within 5 mins it running all over the floor in the room.

When asked for another room, we are told that there are no room vacant. After more then 2 hours of fight with the person in charge we get a room adjacent to our room. We move in to that room to first see it every thing here is alright but not very surprisingly we find the Wash Basin full of stains and an improper Door Lock to the main entrance of the room.

After a lot of fight with the authority we are told that we may be shifted to a better room next morning. Through out our conversation with the authority since the start we are told Mr. Shridhar (The Manager in-charge) would call/meet us and hear out our concerns. But Mr. Shridhar has no sense of responsibility to even call us(forget meeting us in person).

It was only Mr. Phillips who heard us out, showed us some concern and arranged a decent room the next afternoon.

All in All, This premises doesn't seem to be managed well. (Even the lifts stop working abruptly and need to be restarted).

Specially during Crisis there is no person who takes responsibility and quick action.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days. Awesome experience. The food was good but a bit spicy. We were a group of 100 cyclists and it was fun staying in this hotel.The rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in elkhill for 3 nights,it was awSm stay rooms were well maintained clean and the view from the room was jusy outstanding and all the staffs are very good and special thanks to Mr.gosh and team they treated us as like a family member. Wonderfull hospitality,they are ready to help with a pleasing smile.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayanad District, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is our secound vist to ooty in the last six months and this time again they gave us elk hill
Their was lot of changes lobby was looking good with known smiling faces in the reception although we asked for a vally facing but we didnt get as the resort was running full.
Food was good rooms were clean although corridors were little dusty due to the rennovation work happening in the rooms

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is our second trip to ooty and This time we got booking in Elk Hill although we wanted Fernhill,so we were little worried but as soon as we reached Elkhill all this worries were changed into surprise the location of the resort was just out of the world, lobby had a old English authentic look, smiling staff,neat and clean room food was excellent and in short we njoyed our stay and rate Elkhill 5 out of 5

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: No. 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.