We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit rundown, but quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   No. 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bonn
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit rundown, but quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best times of the Sterling Elk Hill in Ooty are gone. Even the welcome drink and the music in the lobby can´t hide the fact that the rooms are a bit rundown and the staff is not very attentive. But - at least - the views to Ooty are nice, everything is clean and it was more or less quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    70
    39
    16
    15
See reviews for
104
66
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hospitality of staff was really great.
Service, food and amenities were all very good
Amazing view of ooty hills and valleys from the balcony.
Rooms were very good and clean. Overall experience was good and we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Enjoy the breathtaking view of ooty hills and valleys from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we been there in 2011 august , i am from u.s.a and i visit to india and i want to go with my husband and one more couple with us, and we already very tired from traveling almost 40 hours we been there 10 am in morning and they did not check in us until 3.00 pm it was so cold outside and still we have wait that much long time and when we get the room there is no hotwater in bathroom room was so dirty and they move us to some other room that room was newly renovated but still hot water prob. is same one is going to in shower the other person has to be wait at least 45 mint. that's unbelievable and reductase they spoil my vacation and resort has only have them own restaurant and it was very expensive and every time when we got the bill for restaurant it all the time wrong they something and something money which we did not order,when we complain about it they don't listen anything so do not spoil your money, vacation and time it so many thing to write but i don't want to it was very bad experience very bad customer service no no on no never go that place......

Room Tip: if you go then check your bill every time they charge you some extra specially restaurant bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We have carefully noted down your concerns regarding the rooms and services and will make sure that this is not repeated in future. We also regret to hear about the inconvenience you faced with check-in and maintenance of rooms. We assure you that we have made a serious note of this and will look into it.

Please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. Your suggestions are always valuable to us.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is hard to find as its located at an extreme hill which is directed by only one small signboad on the highway, Hotel location is excellent with views of tea plantations. hotel is under renovation so very noisy entire day, only after 7 they close work. Overall a very old location/property which only has a few nice renovated rooms but old linen n towels, Food is not bad, breakfast has limited dishes and buffet only in times of full occupancy in hotel. Has lots of staff but hotel lacks in attracting quality crowd.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your views. We are glad that you liked the scenic surroundings of the resort. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on food. Also, we are happy to say that renovations are being done speedily and will be completed soon.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was wonderful experience. We stayed at Sterling Elk Hill, Ooty during Diwali, November 2012. The hotel is on top of hill so one gets a excellent scenic view of Ooty town from the Hotel. The room was nicely taken care of. The disappointment was very slow room service. Transportation is a problem if u don't have a vehicle hired because its aprx. 3 kms far from market area. Overall, great stay and recommended to all. We chose this hotel after reviewing feedback of Tripadvisor. I would not hesitate to return here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was after so many long years that me and my husband had spent some time together out of station. We got the newly renovated rooms on the 2nd floor and the proom was very spacious. Service was geat.We enjoyed the stay :-)))))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

up on arrival at sterling elk hill ooty the hospitality of staff was awesome, i have opted for junior suite room and the room was excellent for couples providing 24 hours hot water ,daily news paper and scenic beauty from room was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: No. 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.