We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nahar's Residency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nahar's Residency Hotel to your Saves list
Nahar's Residency Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Main Bazaar, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Hotel staff at front desk spoke English well and were able to find my online reservation immediately. The room was tight but efficient, and for a single room even included a couch to sit and watch TV in front of. There was even a balcony to look out onto Main Bazaar Rd. It wasn't anything more than a place to stand, but it was functional and the locks worked. I felt very safe. I did not eat there, but there was a place for chaat downstairs. A little noisy when the shops are open, but they closed down in time to be able to sleep the night through without interruption. The weather was cool even in April so I don't know if the AC was on or if it was just cool outside. There were a lot of mirrors around the bed and the wall behind the bed was padded, so if that helps you, use it to your advantage. It was comfortable for me to sit in bed and read.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
24
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Hotel nahar is centrally located on the charring cross road. Its very near to botanical gardens and located in the centre of the place. The restaurant on the side of the hotel i.e Sidewalk is amazing and the food is very delicious. We spent a night there before moving to lake view as we arrived one day early from the booking at lake view hotel. Its worth staying there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

i had gone two day trip ooty and booked for two days the staff are rude hot water limeted bathroom was stinking water taps whear leaking very noisy place the price of room very high compering to other hotel and i checked out one day itself

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I was here at this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days but will never forget the stay. The hotel is a best place if you want to relax and enjoy the climate. The hotel staff is good and their service is excellent. You get all the help from the hotel manager for any tourist destination you want to visit. Regarding the room it is best lit with lights that create a romantic atmosphere. I personnally feel if you are going to Ooty for honeymoon, then this is the best hotel to stay in.

One more convenience is the room booking. I booked my ticket sitting at my residence through email. You need to send one day rent in advance to book the same which can be done throough online transfer. Overall if i visit ooty again i would recommend this hotel only.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomnJerry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We had checked out the hotel online. liked the rooms and the price.
sent a dd to book the room.

Best: room service, ambience. the hotel is in the middle of a market, hence accessibilty was not a problem.
Rooms were well maintained.
Heater: available, after our trip to doddabetta peak, the kid was feeling very cold....hence the heater was useful. they charged us 400 rupees per night for the heater......
Food: very good quality, the regular stuff is well cooked and served.
we booked sight seeing tours through the concierge service.
Overall a fantastic hotel, value for money yet elegant.
Something unique about the hotel: the management staff were in ties and jackets.....always

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

One of my cousins suggested me this hotel as he had stayed there 2-3 times. It is a good hotel with nice clean rooms and very good service.They also sent a car to pick us from Coimbatore airport. The hotel is at walkable distance from market.I stayed at this hotel for 3 days and it was a very good experience. The hotel manager also helped me in booking a hotel room in Mysore.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Value for Money
Close to the market
Good Staff

Only problem is that you have to wait for 20 minutes after requesting for hot water in bath, as they have a central system

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nahar's Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Residency Hotel

Address: 100, Main Bazaar, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nahar's Residency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nahar's Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Residency Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nahar's Residency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.