We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to spend your vacations in Ooty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darshan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Darshan to your Saves list
Hotel Darshan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Lake Boat House | The Nilgiris, South India, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Place to spend your vacations in Ooty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I zeroed on this hotel after reading lots of reviews. I am happy to say that I dont regret my decision. I booked 2 rooms for my relatives last week. I called up hotel. Mr Rathore was very supportive. I asked for late check in as my relatives were supposed to reach at 11 in the night. Not only he guided me well for the route but also he offered to keep some food for them. I was impressed by the concern he showed.

Next morning when I called my relatives, they were more than happy with the room quality, hotel location, and awesome view from the room. I have traveled Ooty atleast 5 times and always had a issue for finding a good place to eat. Darshan had a good restaurant. It was little expensive but the food quality was good.

I would recommend this budget hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms. Absence of lift may be an issue but higher floor gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    165
    61
    16
    23
See reviews for
145
181
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

It is the place to stay at when you go to ooty!perfect location,hospitable staff,a nice veg restaurant attached and really good rooms that arent too heavy on the pocket:-D Had a great time there..We even extended our stay by a day..Planning to visit again..soon.:-D

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here for two days during my trip to Ooty. The hotel was recommended to me by a friend who had been here earlier. The hotel is well-managed and has a courteous staff. The lake view is one of the best features of the hotel. It is conveniently located 2 kms from the bus station and 1 km from the railway station. The location is quite lively, with crowds of people visiting the lake during the day, at the same time the hotel has a calm feeling and doesn't feel too busy. The in house restaurant is a nice place, the food is good and moderately priced. The service was good and the place is well-maintained. All in all it was a pleasant stay at the hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

trip was good and hotel service was also good. except cleanliness . lots of flies in rooms and outside cos of of that couldntt open door and keep open for long time. this hotel is really good for its location.. seervice and restaurant food also good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very Nice Hotel with Nicer View in front !!!

This Hotel is located just opposite to the Ooty Lake. We stayed in deluxe non AC room (AC not reqd. in ooty). Rooms are very specious, clean and well maintained with all basic amenities like Sofa, LCD TV, attached bathroom, toilet kits and all. The Bed was big enough 3 adults.

Best part was the big balcony in front of the Room, which is common for all other 3 rooms on the same floor. You can have great view of Ooty Lake and cascading lash green hills surrounding lake from the balcony.

Note: Please do not go for Room Service food, it's not good.
Don't think, just go for it.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Really very worst service.
I am sure that the hotel management itself make some fake comment in this page, I saw these reviews and went there but i faced a very worst service . Really it is 1 km away from railway station. room sevirce is very very very worst. The food prices are very costly.

Room Tip: IF you want a good room dont select this hotel really i faced a bad experience, not even serving a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Darshan last November...we checked in late at night...when i woke up in the morning to my surprise the hotel is fight in front of the famous Ooty lake..that was one of the major attraction of Ooty...I took a 2 bedroom service apartment which was good for up to 5 people...Ooty is a must see if you are visiting India and if you love hill station...food is good everywhere but less expensive..good for muslims as its halal everywhere...places to see liek Tea garden, suside point, Konoor etc...The best part of my journey was the drive From Mysore to Ooty...specially 36 hairpin bends....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan

Address: near Lake Boat House | The Nilgiris, South India, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin Greenary escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Darshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.