We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for a budget stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darshan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Darshan to your Saves list
Hotel Darshan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Lake Boat House | The Nilgiris, South India, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for a budget stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I opted to stay in Hotel Darshan looking at the reviews in Trip advisor and would like to say I am not at all disappointed. I did an online booking of Mini Suite Rooms from the Hotel Darshan website and since their check in time was 12 noon I planned accordingly and as such did not face any problem in allotment of rooms. The hotel is located very near to OOTY bus stand yet in a very serene and quite location. After having lunch or dinner you can easily have nice stroll around the hotel area .It’s not at all congested. The best part of the hotel is its view of OOTY lake and the surrounding hills which is common from all rooms. However if you stay in higher floor rooms as expected view will be a little better.
We stayed in a mini suite room which is really cozy and comfortable for a couple. That’s the only room provided with a bath tub and accessories. The toilets were clean and suitably maintained.
The daily trips arranged in group from hotel travel desk is very cheap and quite good for an overall trip of OOTY and surrounding areas like COONOR.
The in house restaurant is a good veg restaurant with moderate pricing. I have seen previous reviews of very slow service but I didn’t experience any such thing.
The hotel staffs are polite and always very smiling. In my experience they render you a good service as long as you ask for the typical services, but a little out of the way question like renting a bike or direction to a place they get confused. But considering the price you are paying to stay in this nice place, you cannot be so fussy.
There was only one thing which I did not like is their attitude once I cleared all the payments.
Our bus was at 11.15 am and I cleared all the dues at 10 am and told them that we will just take a stroll nearby and come and vacate the room at 10.45. But the lady named Gita wanted us to vacate the room since we have received the bill. She directed us to keep our luggage in the reception. After a little argument and intervention from another gentleman, she accepted.
Also the day when we were leaving for the Ooty bus stand it was an auto strike in OOTy. But the hotel authority did not even think of informing us about that in the reception, when we were checking out. When we realized that while waiting in the auto stand, it was almost 11 am and we had to catch a city bus to reach the bust stand. However since the ooty bus stand is so near to the hotel it was not much of an inconvenience.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and stay in Hotel Darshan and would definitely recommend it to all other fellow travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    164
    61
    16
    23
See reviews for
144
181
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I went to this hotel last weekend. Based on the recommendation of trip advisor, i booked room for 2 days. there was another couple from blore who also came 2 this hotel based on trip advisor reommendation.
I reached early there around 6.30,where as checkin time was 12pm.
for which they charged half day price. Service is good. Luckyly i got 5th floor, so the view was really good in morning n evening. we didnt find any prob in going by stairs 2 5th floor, but it may b prob for elderly ppl, as this hotel doesnot have lift. I just had one complain,when i handed over the key at reception, while going out. i expect the hotel ppl 2 clean the room, which was not the case. I told them also, they said they might have forgotten. Apart from that there was no issues. Food was excellent(Fully veg restu).Aslo the staffs were very friendly. I took the group tours from the hotel only.prices were very decent 150 bucks per head. Hot water is available 24/7,which is very good. Deluex room r good. Over all my stay was very good. i would definalty recommend my fellow travellers to stay in this place.

Room Tip: Take room above 2 or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

One word describes it all. VFM! I had been there with my friends in Jan. Pretty neat rooms, although slower service, tasty veg food, and a lovely view!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Very Large Comfy Room With Good View Of The Lake Shame there is So Much rubbish Around The Lake.The Best Vegetarian Meal We Had On Our Southern Indian Tour.
And The Manager Ghillie Is such A Nice Helpful Man

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is a simple hotel where you would get decent food and OK rooms. The view is really nice.. However, when I saw the overall review on tripadvisor, I expected something out of the world which is not the case.. This is not a star rated hotel. If you are very particular about facilities,amenities, this is not the hotel for you. But, if you are willing to ignore minor things and don't want to spend too much, then this is probably a good choice.

The location of the hotel is great. It is approx 2-2.5 KM from the main market with good accessibility and it is in front of the Ooty lake. I found the staff there overall courteous and didn't face much trouble with the room service either.

There is no lift to the hotel. So, if you have elderly people in the family, it is really difficult to go to upper floor rooms from where the view is better.

Few minor things for some very particular fellow travelers,
The chairs in the restaurant are covered with not so clean red cloth
The carpet in the room has some wear and rears
The white dishes in the restaurant are not so white :-)
There is no locker in the super deluxe rooms as well.
No ceiling fan,no heater even in super deluxe rooms.(You probably don't need fan in ooty,but absense makes you notice. :-) )

So, if you are not nit-picky and looking for a simple hotel, Darshan is for you.

Room Tip: Any rooms above 3rd,4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We booked super deluxe rooms through online, but there was nothing super in the deluxe room we had to wait for half an hour for our rooms as they were just cleaning it.

Pros

1. Nice View from the hotel.

2. Decent place, calm and quiet with security in each floors

3. Bathroom is clean and neat with 24hrs hot/cold running water

4. Very near to Lake.

Cons
1. Restaurant in hotel is very expensive and dish served is very less.

2. No shops are eateries nearby the hotel

3, Furniture was old and dingy

4. Nothing special in the Super deluxe room

The Food in the Restaurant was very expensive and the quantity of food was very less we got half plate Veg noodles Rs 95 + taxes, We arranged for an cab with the hotel for sight seeing the driver was always mum and did not even care for telling us where we were headed, he stopped at shopping places where he can get commission for bringing customers so we missed many nice places where we can shop So overall Average experience only there are many choices when it comes to OOTY

Room Tip: Rooms above II floor is ok but do check two or three rooms before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This Hotel is very good.. Value for money.. Nice Clean Rooms... from the balcony you get excellent view of lake.. They have a swing in the balcony from where you can enjoy lake view and your pleasant mornings..Not far from the city also so easily accessible..
We had north Indian food in the hotel and it was finger licking good.. Room Service is also pretty quick..
Overall my stay at this hotel was good.. Would surely come back to this place...
Thanks Hotel Darshan Team..

Room Tip: Super Deluxe room with good lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan

Address: near Lake Boat House | The Nilgiris, South India, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin Greenary escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Darshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.