We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is the best?????????????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel to your Saves list
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Candolim
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If this is the best?????????????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If this is the best hotel in Ooty, then I seriously suggest you avoid the town.

We stayed here in December 2012 as part of a tour of Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Kerala. This place had reviews such as best hotel in Ooty, and promised good accommodation, Central Heating, 24 hour Hot water, etc. We opted for a "Superior room" in the garden extension (as recommended by a review).

Despite booking and paying for the room on the internet, all we got was a load of abuse from the front desk staff, complaining that we had not paid enough. There was no apologies or friendliness and it was as though it was our fault that the internet advertised rate was too low.

Having arrived in the early afternoon it took until 8pm to get hot water and the room reasonably warm, having forked out a further Rs300 to get an electric heater. Service was poor throughout, no bar and a pretty shoddy looking kitchen.

A serious disappointment and would recommend anyone else to avoid this place completely. I hope (for everyone else's sake that there are better places to stay in Ooty.

The only plus point for the Nilgiris is it's location which is great.

The town
Ooty closes down at 10pm, and after that nothing is open, so late night people (like myself) beware! We also visited three bars and could not get a cold beer anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    23
    10
    17
See reviews for
53
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dunno where to start and where to end. I had worst experience in this hotel. For he amount they charge it is negative value for money. There are far far better hotels in Ooty who do not ask that extra and raise your expectation. It is a LODGE calling themselves hotel. I stayed here as I got good food in their restaurants as non staying guest.

1) Worst / No room view (Blinded by a wall)
2) Waiters expect tips for every small thing they do.
3) Pure Veg In Room dining (although they have a good non veg restaurant)
4)Even from the selected Menu nothing available for room service. I ordered Hot and Sour soup + Dosa @9:15 pm and after 15 mins they say not available. Finally we settled for worst tasting Sweet Corn Soup.
5) Here comes one more they have a sunset to Sunrise menu i.e Late night food menu. I called at 1:30 am for Pav Bhaji and I get a response that only Tea / Coffee available. I don't understand if they do not intend to serve why write and commit.
6) Here comes Sleep quality - Early morning you hear cars sound which are parked in parking and dragging of Gas Cylinders. It is so so frustrating I slept at 2:00 am with all that food disappointment and on a hill-station, I am woken up early morning because of al these sounds.

Only and only one good thing i.e location of property. If you want to stay near city this is very well located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol. UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived after an overnight train ordeal and taxi ride from Chennai via Metupalyam. Booked in. Staff helpful and polite. Room seemed fine except for rock hard bed so I needed my portable comfort (Gelert super compact self-inflating mattress). Unpacked and just as we'd got everything nicely orgainsed loud bangs started from the roof directly above our heads. Maintenance work in progress. Totally unacceptable. A stereotypical taste of India ensued. "Oh yes Madam" I will tell him to stop." Half an hour later we were still being hammered into headache zone. I call reception again. "Five minutes Madam. It will stop". Another half hour later I flounce down to reception. "We move room for you madam, nicer room". I refuse to move after installing ourselves and insist that the racket must stop. "How long you stay madam?" When I reply two days the banging ceases and does not recur for the duration of our visit. Apart from that the place is OK, Its not brilliant but its not expensive either. WiFi only in reception area. Restaurant OK....but staff attitude re the banging leaves a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Make sure there's no repair work going on before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuticorin, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Is right in the middle of Ooty town.
So advantages are: many, many shopping and food choices within walking distance. Disadvantage is that it is crowded, noisy and no view of the famed nigiris mountains.

Ambiance is good. They maintain the property well.
It is clean.
I took the standard budget room for an overnight stay.
I was very satisfied.

Bed quality was a bit bad, I suppose that in the costlier rooms they will be good.

Toilet is clean.

Food is excellent!
It is pure-vegetarian, and the south-indian food like iddlis, dosas, etc were first-class!

The service was excellent. This was off-season and I was pampered!
Guess during peak-season I may not expect this.

Car-park is large, but during peak-season I have found it to be full.

Security was good, I felt safe with my family.

Excellent value for money, but the published tariff is very high. Make sure you bargain hard.

Conclusion: Will certainly stay here again If I want to walk around for food and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been staying at this property very regularly over the last four years. There are very few good quality (clean, well maintained, with good food) hotels in Ooty, unless you go to the four and five star options. Nahar at Charing Cross (the heart of the city) is a great option.
Modestly priced ( do try for discounts), the location is also a great draw. You can walk around the market or just go in any direction for a walk.
The rooms are clean, very well maintained and the older heritage wings have a class of its own.
Nahar is a boon for vegetarians. It boasts of the best vegetarian restaurant in Ooty. Very high quality, consistent and quick turnaround. Of course, the pricing is like Chennai, being on the expensive side.
Its location ensures that you do not have to keep a car at your disposal all round, which is what you would be doing if you stay in far off places. The disadvantage is that you do not experience Ooty at all when staying in the hotel.
Even if you stay elsewhere, it is very likely that you will turn up at the hotel for a meal or a snack.
The hotel has an interesting restaurant called "Sidewalk" which has some good soups, pastas and pizzas. Surprisingly good quality for a town like Ooty.

Room Tip: check out the rooms- there are four categories, at different prices. The heritage rooms are the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Caveat: We did not stay here. But had lunch and also attended the New Year's eve party on 31st December 2013 for INR 3000/- per couple.

Food was awesome! Only catch is, this is a vegetarian place. Their restaurants are always crowded. We went at 3pm and still had a 15min wait time to get a table. I guess that says a lot about the taste of food.

New year's eve party was simply awesome here. It was indoor and they had a camp fire organized outside the hall for those who wanted to sit infront of that and relax. There were a lot of prizes being given too like the Best kid dancer, Best couple dancer, etc. The owner of Nahar had also come to this place and took part in the festivities along with everyone. This was a good experience.

While there were hotels charging over 3K. This place was definitely worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Actually went to Sidewalk Cafe as I had seen this on Highway on my Plate with Rocky & Mayur, after relishing on the amazing Pizza. realised that I can stay in the same hotel of this hotel group which was Nahar.

Very clean & nice rooms at affordable rates (Do ask the reception for a dicsount & they will give you one)

The Room service is also efficient & timely.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms on 3rd Floor as you get atleast some view of Ooty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Address: 52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nahar hotels has been established in 1978, Renovating and updating the ambiance and amenities to the latest trends has always been our priority. Do visit our Sidewalk cafe which has been featured on Highway on my plate series(on NDTV). Do not miss our Indian speciality restaurant called Chandan and the South Indian coffee shop called the Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.