We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very DISAPPOINTING hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Cliff to your Saves list
King's Cliff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
TARRAGONA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very DISAPPOINTING hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Me and my wife stayed at the “Ooty King’s Cliff hotel” in september 2010 just for 1 night but it was enough to have a very bad experience.
The hotel is situated on the top of the mountain so apparently is a very charm and nice place but it has a very big problem which is not a properly-equipped hotel to take low temperatures.
In fact there was not heating in the room neither electrical not gas except one small fireplace wich only took one hour.
As the temperature in the room was like the one it was outside we decided to find a solution and we explained the problem to the recepcionists, they told us that the only thing they could do it was give us more firewood (not for free) and if we wanted to have a heater we also had to pay for it.
Despite we were not agree about paying for a service that should be included we finally did it, but the heater was too small and it was not powerful enough to heat the room so we had to use three blankets to sleep.
The day after when we check out we said to the recepcionists that we were very frightened during the night but they didn’t want to understand our complaint and we never received an apology from them.
Also, breakfast in theory started at 8 A.M. but at this time there was nothing prepared, we had to wait more than 15 minutes to order what we wanted and almost 15 minutes more to get them (the most curious thing is that we were alone in the breakfast room, there were nobody else but three o four waiters).
Because of that delay our taxi that was waiting for us at 8:30 it had to wait 30 minutes more.
Disappointing hotel, specially bad service and very unpleasant staff.
Definitely a non recomended hotel.
We attach some pictures about the bad condition of our room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    82
    20
    14
    11
See reviews for
88
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This hotel takes you back to the old British lifestyle...Lovely place for a quiet,relaxing holiday.Get a book and just relax outside if the weather is good or sit by the fireplace under a blanket and enjoy your book!!!Nothing like a little peace and quiet to get your spirits up again.Really relaxed and enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at King's Cliff for 4 days in August and what can I say. It was a simply delightful experience. It is a beautiful hotel and very well maintained both inside and out. The gardens are absolutely divine. It reminded me of old British manors that I used to see in Agatha Christie movies. The food was delicious and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. They even babysat our kids while we ate.
The rooms were spotless and I loved the fireplace . We had tons of wood delivered and were warm and cozy inspite of the monsoon season.
I love Ooty and have been there many times before. Definitely take the time to visit the Botanical Gardens, Bee Museum and the Wildlife Conservation areas . I will definitely visit King's Cliff again . I had a really lovely holiday there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

It was my first visit to two of the Littlearth Group ventures (King's Cliff and Destiny). To put my views down in just a few short words, "I am really impressed ".
Let me now elaborate a bit:-
- As a soldier, I was amazed about the attention and time given to every detail, both at King's Cliff and Destiny.

-The staff at King's Cliff are well trained, polite, courteous and ever-smiling. Never did I notice any member of the staff, either at the Reception, or the "Earl's Secret"??/ Glass House, or the house keeping staff with a furrow/ wrinkle on their face, whatever any Guest's demands! This applies equally to Destiny.

-Mr Deepak has good control over the staff.

-At Destiny, I was amazed at the logistic back up needed each day but ensured with no hiccups!
- I am sure with the Spa and the Golf Greens and other upcoming additions, your guests will even enjoy more.
I wish you, all the very best
--
Brig A.N.Suryanarayanan
http://surya-musings.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

this was my first trip to ooty with my wife and children i got very bad experience from this hotel there is notthing to pay rs3800+ for a room in this hotel ,a small room they are hihlighting fire which is major headache room is full with smoke due to fire and very bad breakfast ,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

..on top of which there was no internet service for the 3 days we were there despite it being advertised as having internet service. The head of housekeeping, an elderly gentleman, was the only person who went out of his way to try and make us comfortable in our huge room. There was a fireplace but little wood and when we asked for more, again we got a small bundle which kept the room warm for about an hour. We ended up getting 3 blankets and hot water bottles trying to keep warm. Hot water is only available from 6 - 10 in the morning and evenings. The food though was very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed in this hotel early september and we really enjoyed our time here. Elegantly done up rooms, excellent service and food made it a very memorable holiday. Hope to be back with extended family soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.