We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Cliff to your Saves list
King's Cliff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This review is only for the restaurant and not for the hotel. We visited in May for lunch as part of day trip from Coonoor where we were staying to Ooty. Have stayed here before and this is a nice old Colonial bungalow. Food was great, tried all Indian selection and the taste was great. It seemed quite popular as the place was full, not sure if people were staying or had just dropped in for a meal like us. The food took really long to come but that is still ok as you can laze around in a lovely place and enjoy the view. The washroom was in a dreadful state though and overall cleanliness of the place seemed suspect..... Not sure if that's because they were so rushed, but need to work on that urgently!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    81
    20
    14
    11
See reviews for
87
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed one night at Kings Cliff, 3 nights at Sherlock and one night at Destiny. Their properties are amazingly beautiful with an excellent view. Food is very good at all 3 properties but would rate Kings Cliff's platter the best, followed by Destiny and then Sherlock. Even though mine was a last minute booking, Anoop at Littleearth did an excellent job and made my family vacation a memorable one. I drove all the way from Mumbai and still remember the freshness of the Bandipur and Madhumalai forests, and the sights of elephants and deers are still fresh on my mind. All in all, i will highly recommend Littlearth group to make your holidays a special one. Special thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Never got a chance to stay in this beautiful property but had many a times enjoyed the culinary skills of the chef. Soups, continental and desserts - my choice here, Indian food, the best you get in Ooty. Very cozy and apt ambiance. Perfect for a fire place dinner.

Room Tip: Travel between October and March, Ooty is best, avoid seasons, might be a bit cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Kotagiri via Ooty this March to getaway from the unusually hot Bangalore weather. We had heard a lot about King’s Cliff and particularly the food here.

When we arrived, a typical colonial mansion greeted us with its long driveway which gave way to a beautiful lawn. It really did feel like we were back in the British era – gabled roof, the garden with its cast iron furniture where probably the British once drank their cup of sweet English tea!

My wife particularly loves the old world charm and managed to find out that the mansion was originally a rest-house for British soldiers known as the Kings Cliffe Manor in the 1920s. A witness to this fact is the original tariff card where a room was a mere 7-8 p for a night.

The rooms, furniture do look a little tired after surviving all these years. The hotel should probably try and restore them a little, although without losing the old world charm. The mansion has a huge living hall where they play music and guests are allowed to socialize.

The restaurant, has many rooms with different kind of seating. I never expected such a fancy menu. It had South-east Asian, Continental and Indian cuisine on the offer. Breakfast was served in the adjacent glass house and could get a little hot in summers.

Rooms here are named after Shakespeare works like Othello, Macbeth, Hamlet etc. The room offered luxuries such as working fireplaces (although we didn’t need one in summer), flat-screen TV, intercom and tea/coffee maker. We were booked into Othello which was a spacious room and had a sit-out with splendid views.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

King's Cliff hotel in Ooty is located on Havelock road. This little road leads you to a place that will take you back in time. The picturesque hills and the verdant foliage is breath taking. It has a beautiful old world charm.

The rooms are named after Shakespares great works . They are all made of wood and are comfortable and cozy. The tag line of the hotel is bed, breakfast and fireplace.

The food is impeccable continental. You should trynot miss the steaks and brownie with icecream, just bliss.

If you are lucky yiu will spot bison and wild boar ramp walking for you in the middle if the hill.

The service too is wonderful. You cannot miss the simple smile of Mr. Shekhar, the one man army for all maintenace and setting up of the fireplaces. He is very coutious ans serves with a smile.

The place is a lovely getaway for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great salads, great soup, amazing vintage ambience and laid back old Ooty charm...
Washroom are sad.
The food service is fast and accurate. Indian food in the restaurant is not the greatest but starters are good for a try. Desserts are nice. Apple pie is fresh and highly recommended!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Kings cliff is an overated hotel we heard alot abt it from frnds who keep going to ooty very often the place was v unclean especially the crockery . Rooms too were very badly kept walls were chipping no hot water 24 hrs while nowadays every hotel gives this facility . Too many flies around the breakfast counter infact we found an insect in our fried rice too .We were v dissappointed coz it was much below our expectations they really need to renovate the place though its a heritage property but still cn b well kept like sherlock as it belings to the same group

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.